We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“'Average' sums this place up.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Level Contributor
278 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“'Average' sums this place up.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Given the reviews we read on trip advisor we were forewarned what to expect. Our initial feeling was one of relief as the property presents well from the outside. The room appeared clean yet dated but we were satisfied that our choice would meet our needs.

It rarely rains here but it did overnight and we could not sleep from 4 am due to the water pouring through corroded gutters outside our window. This is a two storey property and we were on the ground floor.

While the breakfast was adequate for $14, the officious nature of the staff member on duty over the two mornings made this less that a welcome start to the day.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfsbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeintalManager, Manager at Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for the feedback you provided on your recent visit to the Weintal. It is disappointing that your stay was not as enjoyable as you’d anticipated due to noise of the rain. Our Hotel accommodation units are of an older nature and this has limited our ability to renovate certain areas, such as the roof and gutters, however we are always happy to move guests when possible to a quieter room.
I was also very disappointed to hear that one of our staff members was behaving in an officious nature. This is certainly not behaviour that we condone and it is also not part of the training that we provide. We will investigation your claim, please trust that we will take the necessary steps to ensure this does not occur in the future. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Barossa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    103
    88
    34
    18
See reviews for
44
176
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Weintal is really a place that needs work done. The room we were put in was meant to be a nice spa room. We were expecting a lot for the price we paid, but the place is run down and disappointing. There were about 6 other couples there on the two nights we stayed and they put us in a room next to a couple that snored and in the rooms where the railings were under construction. They should have spread us out a bit. We did not feel comfortable there. Worst place on our trip. As a young married couple, this was not the place to stay. I would recommend to any couple to stay out of the Barossa and drive in for the days they wish to visit. Disappointing for my first and longing trip to the Barossa.

Room Tip: Breakfast was nice, pick a room not next to anyone else and probably further tucked away from the ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJPurkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in August 2011 in a standard room which was neat, tidy, basic yet roomy for a motel room. Noise does travel between the walls and would suggest, if affordable, look at the newer spa studios. We ate in the restaruant on one night - it was a decent portion and satisfying after spending a day travelling and exploring the region. Bikes are available and I would have liked the opportunity to have used these; the bar and bottle shop was handy especially as the motel isn't close to shops or the town centre (perfect for a bike ride or a brisk morning walk). All staff - reception, restaurant, bar and bottleshop were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqstar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I think the only reason you would stay here is if you are over the limit to drive home. On the gourmet weekend we booked and paid to stay here in a spa room for one night. After checking in we found the room to be quite noisy due to other guests and the poor sound insulation of the 70's rooms.
As we didn't drink as much as we thought we might at the gourmet weekend, we waited in the room watching tv for a couple of hours then drove home to our own bed. I wouldn't recommend this for any sort of romantic getaway. Rather, it's an adequate place to crash for the night if you're over the limit to drive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerryH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tanunda hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Just returned after staying a couple of nights during the Barossa Gourmet Weekend. We knew it was motel accomodation and cheaper than most other accomodation options in the area but must agree with some others that the noise between rooms can be quite disturbing and more than we had anticipated. The location is ideal for touring the Barossa however the motel is a fair walk from the main part of Tanunda. Having said that the tavern, bottle shop and restuarant on site were very convienient. Boisterous crowds gathered in the bar in the evening but I guess that was more to do with the crowd from the Gourmet event and not a normal occurence. We ate in the garden restuarant on one night and the meal, wine and service were great. The front desk staff were cheery and helpful when we asked for bottle opener, plate and cutlery to enjoy some cheese and wine in our room. Overall a good stay but next time we will opt to spend a bit more and stay in one of the spa studios.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank The_Travelling_Ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeintalManager, Manager at Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at the Barossa Weintal Hotel/Motel. I'm glad you enjoyed your weekend with us and decided to utilise our onsite bottle shop, tavern and restaurant. I apologies that your sleep was interrupted due to noise in the adjacent rooms. Our motel style accommodation units are an older style and we are somewhat restricted in our ability to soundproof the rooms further, however we are always happy to move guests to a quieter room if and where we can to ensure a comfortable nights’ sleep.
Our recently built studios are a little more expensive compared to our other rooms, however they also offer a spacious large living area, flat screen TV & DVD player, separate bedroom with queen size bed, large bathroom with oval two person spa and own terrace. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are thinking of experiencing our studio accommodation on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
7.1 km away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
4.8 km away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 km away
Barossa Motor Lodge
Barossa Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tanunda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
3.9 km away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 3 in Marananga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.3 km away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel

Property: Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
Address: 235 Murray Street, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Price range (per night): RM325 - RM596
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel offers standard accommodation in 40 rooms and luxury accommodation in our 10 studios. Our Tavern and Garden Restaurants serve food 7 days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We maintain a wide selection of wines, mainly from local wineries. We are located at the heart of the Barossa Valley within walking distance to several wineries and cellar doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Tanunda
Flag Barossa Weintal Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing