We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$211
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Inn(Ocean Isle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winds Resort Beach Club(Ocean Isle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn at Harbour View(Little River)(Great Value!)
US$109
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$144
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Shallotte)
US$130
US$120
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince Resort(North Myrtle Beach)
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
446
55
12
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
446
55
12
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreened porchrocking chairsgrand roomcasseroleeach morningsalt marshshort walk to the beachbird islandbed and breakfastparking passintercoastal waterwaypeace and quietrelaxing weekenda wonderful place to staymyrtle beachlong weekendbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2013

What can I really add to the title? Great staff. Great accommodations. Great breakfasts.

We were there the first weekend in February just as the inn was reopening after a month-long shutdown for renovations. Only three other couples were staying there as it was a beautiful but bitterly cold three days. The staff could not have been more helpful and genuine, the food both Saturday and Sunday mornings went well beyond our expectations, and the room (we stayed in the Bird Island Grand) was beautiful. The screen porch with its swing and rocking chairs provided panoramic views of the salt marsh, the intercoastal waterway, and the new high-span bridge to the mainland. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Best views are from the top floor, but be aware that means two flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for your generous review of your stay with us. We are so glad that after staying at several houses over the years that you decided to give us a try. You can never go wrong with staying in the Bird Island Room it is the most popular room we have. Glad that you enjoyed it and our breakfasts! Please come back and stay any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Don't be fooled that with so few B&B's on the island it would be easy to be #1 - this inn
would deserve the ratings it gets anywhere else too! We just enjoyed a winter stay - our
first - and found everything as advertised and more. Clean, bright, cozy, efficient, quiet and
comfortable. Breakfast and room both great.. but the staff (Susan) is the icing on cake - friendly, helpful and courteous. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank banderse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

We are so pleased that you found everything here as advertised. We want everyone who walks through our doors to feel comfrotable and right at home. We love that you were able to kick back and relax and enjoy everything we have to offer. Thank you for your kind words about the Staff and our efforts, it means a lot to us. Please do come back and visit anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We just completed our second early winter visit to the Sunset Inn, and we were as impressed this time as we were on our initial visit. This cozy inn has all the feel of a bed and breakfast, but allows the space of a regular hotel. Our room was large by hotel standards, and included a private porch with rocking chairs and a double swing. The bathroom (in a Grand Room) had a jacuzzi tub with room for two and a separate shower. And the room itself had all of those elements you would expect from a nice hotel - comfortable bed with extra pillows and blankets, plush robes, flat screen TV, Ipod hookup, small refrigerator and wet bar, coffee maker, hair dryer, and iron.

What really sets the Sunset Inn apart though is the care and attitude of the staff. They seem ready to meet any need you might have, remembered my birthday (and gave us a small bottle of champagne) from our previous year's visit, and provided many friendly tips on places to eat, shop, exercise, etc. Each morning a very nice buffet featuring at least one homemade hot dish and homemade breads or cakes is available in their sunroom. Everything about the Sunset Inn is conducive to a quiet, relaxing break.

We can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: I would recommend the slightly larger Grand Rooms as worth the extra price. They are all on a corner and have a jacuzzi and plush robes available.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

We can not wait to have you come back! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We promise to make each and every visit you have with us just like your first one. See you at the end of the year if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 15th anniversary at the Inn and we had a wonderful time! It was very clean and quiet. The room was so cozy and homey...much better than a regular hotel room. We were very comfortable and the staff was awesome! The casseroles served for breakfast each morning were very tasty! We would love to stay again. Thanks for helping to make our anniversary a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your entire experience with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate such an important day in your lives. We enjoyed meeting you and hope you can come back and celebrate more Anniversaries, Birthdays, or just a good ole getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were supposed to be married on the beach but Hurricane Sandy put paid to that. We were staying at The Sunset Inn and they were our backup. The staff could not have been more welcoming and accommodating to our needs. We were able to use the lovely front porch and the wedding day was saved! Thank you so much to all the staff at The Sunset Inn - highly recommended and will certainly recommend you to any of our friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

We hate that Hurricane Sandy created havoc on your wedding plans, but we were happy to offer the Inn as plan B. It was a pleasure to be a part your special day and the wedding was just lovely on our front porch. You and your family are welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews