We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$116
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Expedia.com
US$116
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
FindHotel
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
HIExpress.comUS$116
Hotels.comUS$116
TravelocityUS$116
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
151
74
22
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
151
74
22
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinnamon rolls nice hotel sausage gas station oatmeal biscuits staff was friendly off the highway our room was spacious first morning great stay would definitely stay here again pleasant experience front desk clerk hie mountains ihg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great hotel in the North Carolina mountains. Stayed here on business, the room was clean, modern, and had a fridge and a microwave. Front desk service was great, and the bed was nice and big and soft, and the water pressure in the hotel was great. Would stay here everytime i'm in the area, great experience and one of the best Holiday Inn Expresses that i've ever stayed at.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here overnight and had a wonderful experience. The breakfast was fantastic! Hotel was clean, staff super friendly and courteous, the room clean and orderly, and in good condition. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool area as did the kids and other adult in the hotel. I will definitely repeat the stay if in the area again.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked in for two nights, allocated room 311.

Usual contents of room, the free Wi-Fi worked well but I could not get a T-Mobile signal within the hotel.

Breakfast, very strange. It was scrambled eggs, some sort of gravy, it looked like mushroom sauce and sliced pork. The usual orange juice and brand corn flakes. Cheese omelette and sausage patty also available.

The two nights cost $219, a bit on the high side

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GasFromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mgr_HIXDillsboro, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sylva Western Carolina Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear GasFromSomerset:

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express during your recent visit to our beautiful western North Carolina mountains! And thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We do apologize that we did not make a better impression, as we do strive for excellent service and accommodations for all of our guests, and we regret that we let you down on this occasion.

The gravy you mentioned is a popular item in the southern regions of the US, and is made with pork sausage; many people love to eat this gravy on our soft and buttery biscuits. Another popular breakfast item is our pancake machine, for fresh-made warm pancakes to cover with butter and syrup; and also the delicious warm cinnamon rolls for which HIExpress is famous! But for those who prefer healthier fare, we also have turkey sausage, whole wheat English muffins, yogurt, raison bran cereal, bananas, apples and oranges, all available on the breakfast bar each morning.

We do hope you will give us another chance in the future to really WOW you with our warm, southern hospitality and beautiful updated accommodations. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Except for the fact that the hotel is about a half mile from downtown Dillsboro, it is practically perfect in every way. The lobby is inviting, the night manager greeted us warmly, the room was super clean with updated decor and bathroom features. I was also struck by how nice the whole place smelled, no sign of that stale weird hotel smell. The continental breakfast was substantial, complete with a pancake maker!

Date of stay: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiNelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mgr_HIXDillsboro, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sylva Western Carolina Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear ChiNelly --

Thank you so much for this lovely review! We are always pleased to learn that our hard work is noticed, and having happy guests is our reward. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We found ourselves without kids for a night and decided to go to Cherokee for the night. The first person on expedia booked us for the wrong night after we asked him over 5 times each. The hotel in Cherokee was nice enough to cancel for us, but left us looking for a room. We were about 15 minutes outside of Cherokee which we knew.

We purchase the executive suite. It was nothing more than a hotel room with a couch. I though it had a separate living area with a couch and separate TV. It wasn't. It was literally a standard hotel room with a couch. The pool water was cold, but the indoor pool area was so hot you couldn't breathe. We went outside because we were pouring sweat from the heat. We went outside to sit at the table to figure out there was no way back in except through the front door. The doorway from the pool was locked and no way to reenter. This hotel is in the middle of nothing but mountains. No restaurants or anything.

Our room was okay and comfortable, but not worth the $190 we paid for it.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FrankieHawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mgr_HIXDillsboro, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sylva Western Carolina Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear FrankieHawn:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Dillsboro/Western Carolina, and thank you for taking some time to write a review of our hotel.

We do regret that you were not satisfied with our accommodations, but do assure you that the suite is a larger room than the standard rooms, which do not have a sitting area with sofa. All suites are one-room with partial wall separating the sitting area from the bed area, and include table with chair and a wet bar. The 42" HDTV in the guestroom is movable to view from that sitting area.

Our indoor pool is heated to a proper temperature of 82 degrees in the summer, and the hot tub is 102 degrees; the heat from the water does heat the room, as well, therefore it does get a little steamy. Our patio off the right side of the pool does have a lock that can be opened with the guestroom key; and that is the preferable area for guests to enjoy going in and out of the pool. However, we do have a patio area off the left side of the pool, as well; and that door does not open from the outside. We do regret that you must have walked out to that patio, and found that you could not get back in without walking around to the side of building. Our management and ownership will consider adding a keycard-accessible lock to that poolside door, for future guests to enjoy.

Our hotel is located walking distance to a Subway sandwich shop, and within a few short driving minutes to Dillsboro with several restaurants and nice shops, plus within 5 minutes of Sylva with other dining and shopping options, and 15 minutes to Cherokee, Waynesville, and Franklin. We are also close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Great Smoky Mountains Parkway, and the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad. If you did not get a chance to enjoy all the great activities our beautiful western NC mountains have to offer on this trip, please make plans for the future and we will be happy to welcome you back!

Please enjoy the remainder of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews