We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood in Wilmington!”
Review of Catch

Catch
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 703 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef"contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes and his team, explore the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce.Providing the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef Dubbed by NYT's,"Modern Seafood Cuisine" we offer an array Fresh Seafood and Vegetarian and Vegan offerings ,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our "Fire Cracker" Shrimp, NC Oysters on the 1/2 Shell, Seafood Ceviche & Conch Fritters . Larger Plates include our "Angry" Maine Lobster, Prime Steaks, Blackend Mahi Mahi & our Award winning Charleston Crab Cakes, Seared OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Black Grouper. Full ABC Permits.Large selection of boutique Wines by the Glass, Hand crafted Cocktails And over a half a dozen rotating local beer offerings.
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Well designed and presented interior, great service, interesting menu -- look for the specials! -- and delicious food. What's not to like?

My favorite is always the scallops and mussels plate -- perfectly done, generous servings, great sauces and well-presented. My wife's black drum was very tasty. The side breads are always an attraction as well.

An eclectic and reasonably priced wine list tops it all off.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

This was my spouse's and my second visit to Catch. We had a enjoyable experience, but we did notice some blips in the evening. We started by sharing the Dirty Oyster appetizer, 3 oysters each. They were fine but we both noticed, independently, that two of our 3 were overly salted, but the third was not. We were then each served a "chopped" Caesar salad which, we both agreed, was very over salted. We were then concerned that our main courses would suffer the same fate, but fortunately they did not. Interestingly, no salt or pepper dispensers appear on the tables.

I had the Crispy skin Red Drum special, the sales of which Catch is donating to the British Virgin Island community. It was excellent. My spouse had the crab cakes which were also first rate.

Other than the salty beginning, our other complaint/concern involved the bread that arrived in a basket wrapped in a black napkin. The bread was scorched on one side and inedible with cutting off the scorched area. That is unforgiveable and suggests a training or management problem. We noticed that nearby diners' bread was not scorched. Whoever prepared our serving either was not paying attention or didn't care. I placed one of the bread pieces scorched side up on my bread plate at the edge of the table so our server would have to notice it. If she did, she never commented, not even when she picked up the plate while busing our dishes. This would never happen in a top-notch establishment. I suppose we should have complained, but we did not.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MemphisProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanx4dining, Manager at Catch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Just to clarify we toast the bread in a wood grill. The bread does have a light char to it. Not every piece will be charred but we think it gives good contrast flavor. Your server didn't say anything about the bread because its normally prepared this way and didn't look outside the norm.
Secondly we do not salt our oysters on the half shell. The variance in salinity depends on the location of the harvested oyster. We source our oysters from cedar island all the way down to masonboro nc. Each region has a different salt flavor. Lastly our Caesar Salads are never salted. Maybe the Argentinian Parmesan we sprinkle on top. Lastly we want to thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

we all had a great time the food was fantastic and creative great wine list and had it hard figuring out what to eat I have eaten here many times so I would have to say its worth it always good

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shawnhudgens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Chef Keith Rhodes is a superhero. This restaurant is amazing. The Drunken Lobster is by far one of the best meals I have ever had. The location is not what you would expect but the inside is nice. Food is cooked too reset so save some time for relaxation and drinks. The food is superior. Love!!!

Thank Aimee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Outstanding service, delicious food, and a beautiful presentation. We called at the last minute on a Saturday night, and although the restaurant was full they found a place for us just fifteen minutes after we called. Maybe that was just luck, but the dining experience plus that luck makes me want to return soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlsie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catch also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing