We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
235
138
46
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
235
138
46
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswake forestold salembaptist hospitalshuttle serviceroom was cleanfree breakfasta great place to stayrefrigerator and microwavethe staff was friendly and helpfuldowntown areaoff the highwayone night staybreakfast barwafflesnice stayfriesbayberry
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, even ordering a cab to the airport for us at 4am. The room was tidy and quite large, but had a balcony that we couldn't get to. The air conditioner was really loud so I turned it off, then the room became very hot as we couldn't open a window. The room was clean when we entered by by the 3rd day, the cleaning wasn't that great. Do not eat here though, my son became ill after eating the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinnerchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Spinnerchild,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. From your feedback, it appears we fell short in several areas such as cleanliness and quality of breakfast. I have shared your comments with our executive team as we are always looking for ways to improve not only our product, but service. Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your business in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

The Hawthorne is a solid hotel that has obviously been renovated at some point and does look dated. The rooms and bathrooms are smaller than most you find these days and that's probably the biggest drawback. Otherwise, the stay was solid for a few days. Good breakfast bar and friendly staff. Just not sure I could stay here longer than a few days due to the smaller room size.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

John C,

Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience. I will be sure to pass along your feedback concerning room space to our corporate team. It's good to hear you enjoyed the breakfast bar and our amazing staff. We hope that when traveling back to the Winston Salem area we will be your choice in hotel accomodations

Thank you for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Stayed 3 nights for a conference and it was awful. The front desk staff were rude and very unhelpful. The catered lunches ran out of food and ice. The water stations in the session rooms ran out constantly. The downstairs rooms smelled like there was mold and mildew. Cigeratte smoke smell was strong in the hallways at times. Several colleagues experienced migraines and severe congestion during their stay likely due to the same mold and mildew we could smell. One colleague could never get a working room key. Do not schedule your conference here! Do not stay here!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank BigDukefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

BigDukefans,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience. Your feedback is extremely important to us, and we are always looking for ways to improve our accommodations and services. From your experience it appears we have a lot of opportunity in various areas ranging from Front Desk Service to Housekeeping Services. I would like to personally speak with you regarding your experience at our property as your feedback is extremely important to us. Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience and ask for Summer Combs the General Manager. I can be reached at 336-777-3000. Thank you again for being our guest, and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

My husband was having surgery at Wake Forest Baptist Hospital, so we spent only one night together there. However, it was a nice place to crash and rest for me. The housekeeping staff were exceptional, the breakfast was good and the reception staff were also helpful. I didn’t use the free transportation to and from the hospital, but I appreciate that it was available.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Margaret W.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We understand when traveling to visit the hospital the last thing you want to worry about is accommodations! It’s great to hear you found our housekeeping, breakfast, and front desk staff exceptional. We wish you and your husband success with his surgery and we hope if traveling back to the Winston Salem area we will be your choice in accommodations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Check in was easy. Hotel - hallways clean. Room 616 was clean, roomy, bed comfortable, mini fridge, microwave, kuerig coffeemaker, large corner desk with chair, table with 2 chairs and a living room chair. Plenty of outlets and USB ports. WiFi works good. Bathroom is a little tight but soft towels. So why the 4 and not 5; the free breakfast; eggs bland, grits blah, coffee weak, fresh fruit was okay. Husband said bacon was good. There were pastries and bread for toast and cereals. And the guy who worked taking care of the buffet was stand offish.
Plenty of parking- hotel located in a quiet area. 3 minute walk to Senor Bravo a very good Mexican restaurant and coffee houses.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JoannefbvtH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

JoannefbvtH,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It's great to hear you experienced a clean comfortable room upon check in. I would like to personally apologize for our for the quality of our breakfast. I will be sure to share your feedback with our food and beverage team along with our attendant who was attending breakfast that morning. We hope that when visiting the area again in the future we will be your home away from home!

Thank you for the continued opportunity to earn your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews