We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The Blockade Runner is showing its age (we had some issues with outlets and refrigerators not working, and there were a few cosmetic issues in the room due to water damage) but the service was top notch. Valet parking, complimentary shuttles, amazing free breakfast buffet, and awesome beach attendants. Everyone on staff was friendly and helpful. When we reported issues with our fridge they sent someone up immediately to take care of things.

I was impressed with the comfort of the beds and pillows (much better than most hotels) and the awesome water pressure in the showers.

My group of 13 visited for a bachelorette weekend and this resort was a perfect fit. The adjoining rooms and service would also make for a great return trip with family.

Room Tip: The sound side has cheaper rooms but still a beautiful view of the water.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jascott2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,162)
There are newer reviews for Blockade Runner Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

Pros: Good location, quick and easy walk to the beach, rooms are a good size, hotel is mostly updated. Loungers for rent on the beach are pretty nice.
Cons: The usual clueless resort staff is alive and well here. Nice, but not really understanding how to make money in a service industry. We stayed at the Holiday Inn last year and service personnel busted their butts taking and delivering orders. i guess the kids who work here don't really need the money. Pool is small. Fancy wicker chairs look good, EXTREMELY uncomfortable. Food and drink twice the price of the Holiday Inn. $15 for a frozen drink? Come on. You're losing money - we went out and got our own.
Having to wear a bracelet to prove you are staying at the hotel is fine; having to give your room number and how many are in your party at breakfast is not, nor is having to order juice, coffee, tea instead of just having self service for these. That just feels like nickel and diming.
Had some issues with a woman at the front desk who seemed to be making up billing charges as she went along and was EXTREMELY rude. She also told me that the pocketbook I accidentally left in the bathroom had not been turned into the front desk when an employee who cleans the bathroom had just 30 seconds earlier told me she had walked it down there herself. If I had just gone to the front desk and asked about it, I would have thought my purse was gone for good. And I guess it would have been, since I would not have asked again. So in addition to being rude she's lazy and misinformed (didn't get her name but she has curly strawberry blond hair).
This isn't a terrible place to stay, but it's certainly not a luxury hotel or experience.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank twingles2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derossetgordon, Marketing at Blockade Runner Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear twingles2000,
I would like to first thank you for your review. It helps to know where we can use work, and your review provides us with some important feedback. We are proud to be a family owned and operated resort, serving the Wrightsville Beach Community for over 52 years. We share in your disappointment that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our seasoned staff always strives to provide Resort guests exceptional service. We hope you will give us the chance to provide you with a better experience in the future.
Best regards,
deRosset Gordon
Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

This Classic little historic resort is a great getaway - a quick trip from Raleigh. Clean room. Beach is clean and pretty. Easy walk to ice cream. Not sure why you have to pay to rent beach chairs though as most places include them . Good food . Wonderful breakfast buffet. I want to go again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We have not been to Wrightsville Beach in a number of years and decided to stay at the Blockade Runner due to the fact it had been recently remodeled. Upon arriving and throughout our stay, the staff was extremely personable, friendly and accommodating. The toilet in our bathroom began to run during the third night of our stay, and we were transferred to another room without difficulty or request for the remainder of our stay. The lobby is beautifully decorated, and the rooms are clean with tile flooring that can easily be swept or mopped. We truly enjoyed other amenities such as the complimentary one-hour sailing tour, and my husband and son enrolled for the two-hour kayak tour. 24-hour complimentary valet is available for your vehicle, and the fitness room is open 24 hours as well. The pool is not generally crowded, and there is a poolside bar and restaurant. Our only complaint was that the wifi was spotty such that we couldn't access it continuously from our room and, usually, only from the lobby. Any time we return to Wrightsville Beach, we will be staying at Blockade Runner.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWTSatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Last time we were here, they are busy with renoval. Something was missing in their room. Now they are ok. But couple of things...In my opinion they need to ad some mediterranean food for breakfast( feta cheese, olive oil, olive, tomato, fresh herb etc.) and for bathroom, they need a soap holder near by sink. And for some of their room, there is no power outlet near by beds. But overall experience is satisfied

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Afmutlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.2 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
138 reviews
22.2 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
20.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
4.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: RM521 - RM1,340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing