We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Shell Island Resort(Wrightsville Beach)(Great Value!)
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach(Wrightsville Beach)(Great Value!)
US$486
US$383
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Summer Sands Suites(Wrightsville Beach)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Gull Motel(Wrightsville Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites(Wrightsville Beach)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,438)
Filter reviews
2,438 results
Traveller rating
1,268
713
280
118
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,268
713
280
118
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bartile floorsbeach chairsbalcony roombreakfast buffetsound sideocean viewgreat beachstaff was very friendlywrightsvillebalconiesvaletaccommodationsconferencecarolina
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 2,438 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Pros: Good location, quick and easy walk to the beach, rooms are a good size, hotel is mostly updated. Loungers for rent on the beach are pretty nice.
Cons: The usual clueless resort staff is alive and well here. Nice, but not really understanding how to make money in a service industry. We stayed at the Holiday Inn last year and service personnel busted their butts taking and delivering orders. i guess the kids who work here don't really need the money. Pool is small. Fancy wicker chairs look good, EXTREMELY uncomfortable. Food and drink twice the price of the Holiday Inn. $15 for a frozen drink? Come on. You're losing money - we went out and got our own.
Having to wear a bracelet to prove you are staying at the hotel is fine; having to give your room number and how many are in your party at breakfast is not, nor is having to order juice, coffee, tea instead of just having self service for these. That just feels like nickel and diming.
Had some issues with a woman at the front desk who seemed to be making up billing charges as she went along and was EXTREMELY rude. She also told me that the pocketbook I accidentally left in the bathroom had not been turned into the front desk when an employee who cleans the bathroom had just 30 seconds earlier told me she had walked it down there herself. If I had just gone to the front desk and asked about it, I would have thought my purse was gone for good. And I guess it would have been, since I would not have asked again. So in addition to being rude she's lazy and misinformed (didn't get her name but she has curly strawberry blond hair).
This isn't a terrible place to stay, but it's certainly not a luxury hotel or experience.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank twingles2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derossetgordon, Marketing at Blockade Runner Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear twingles2000,
I would like to first thank you for your review. It helps to know where we can use work, and your review provides us with some important feedback. We are proud to be a family owned and operated resort, serving the Wrightsville Beach Community for over 52 years. We share in your disappointment that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our seasoned staff always strives to provide Resort guests exceptional service. We hope you will give us the chance to provide you with a better experience in the future.
Best regards,
deRosset Gordon
Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

This Classic little historic resort is a great getaway - a quick trip from Raleigh. Clean room. Beach is clean and pretty. Easy walk to ice cream. Not sure why you have to pay to rent beach chairs though as most places include them . Good food . Wonderful breakfast buffet. I want to go again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We have not been to Wrightsville Beach in a number of years and decided to stay at the Blockade Runner due to the fact it had been recently remodeled. Upon arriving and throughout our stay, the staff was extremely personable, friendly and accommodating. The toilet in our bathroom began to run during the third night of our stay, and we were transferred to another room without difficulty or request for the remainder of our stay. The lobby is beautifully decorated, and the rooms are clean with tile flooring that can easily be swept or mopped. We truly enjoyed other amenities such as the complimentary one-hour sailing tour, and my husband and son enrolled for the two-hour kayak tour. 24-hour complimentary valet is available for your vehicle, and the fitness room is open 24 hours as well. The pool is not generally crowded, and there is a poolside bar and restaurant. Our only complaint was that the wifi was spotty such that we couldn't access it continuously from our room and, usually, only from the lobby. Any time we return to Wrightsville Beach, we will be staying at Blockade Runner.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWTSatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Last time we were here, they are busy with renoval. Something was missing in their room. Now they are ok. But couple of things...In my opinion they need to ad some mediterranean food for breakfast( feta cheese, olive oil, olive, tomato, fresh herb etc.) and for bathroom, they need a soap holder near by sink. And for some of their room, there is no power outlet near by beds. But overall experience is satisfied

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Afmutlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

I didn't really think this was a "resort" before going there. The friendliness of the staff was Disney-like it was so friendly, an that is a tremendous compliment in my opinion. The landscaping was resort like as well, it was done so well. The balcony room was very well appointed and very comfortable. The included breakfast was great. The extra activities seemed fantastic but the weather prevented us from partaking in many. That makes me feel that this "hotel" deserves to call itself a resort. Will definitely return.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank jmag44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews