We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maryfield House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Queens Hotel(Lerwick)
US$120
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$120
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
19
4
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
4
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong timelobsternew ownershosts were lovelyshort ferryearly morningafter midnightexcellent evening mealgenerous breakfastowners and staffon footfood was amazingharbourstartersnossjamessheep
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

The website states that: "Over the last four decades, through dedication and hard work, we have built up an excellent reputation as a wonderful place to stay among our customers. The convenient location and the peaceful ambience that our hotel offers make it the perfect holiday accommodation".

The present owners have only been there a few months, not decades.

They may be good at what they do, but the website needs to be honest.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank MichaelBShetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Thanks for your review, we had already noticed that the web site agency had put in some information which could be misleading and have rectified this, it has nothing to do with not being truthful.
It is a great shame that you did not contact us directly with your problem and support us as newcomers to Shetland. We have so much support from the Bressay folk and many other people in Shetland that appreciate what we are doing and have gone out of their way to help us get up and running, we are sure you can appreciate that it is not easy. if you have anymore complaints then please talk or at least e-mail the people involved as a review like yours can be very harmful and insulting to the people it concerns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We went to the Maryfield as we had heard that it was under new ownership and the food was good - what an understatement! We always enjoy the short ferry ride across the harbour and the walk up to the hotel, but haven't been here for many years. We shared a starter of scallops, which was beautifully presented and cooked perfectly. For mains my mum had the halibut, which was fresh and lovely and I went for the surf and turf. Well, it could have fed 4! A huge steak, cooked perfectly along with a massive portion of the most beautiful lobster in a creamy, tasty sauce. All served with new potatoes and asparagus. It didn't look like I had eaten much when I was finished, but honestly I was so full! We had a lovely bottle of wine, reasonably priced and served in lovely crystal wine glasses. The owner was so welcoming and looked after us really well, without being intrusive and a really nice touch was when the chef came out to see if everything was ok. I couldn't fault the place, we had a lovely evening and will definitely return next time I am back in Shetland.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank craigdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We booked for dinner, including prebooking the seafood platter (you need to do this 48 hours before). The day before arriving we had heard of a terrible review someone had left and so we were a little worried. We can honestly say there can be no truth in what we had heard as it was unbelievably good! The owners were incredibly welcoming and attentive throughout the evening. We cleaned the plates from the seafood platter and fillet steak - then managed to do the same with the sticky toffee pudding. The new owners have managed, in the short time they have had the Maryfield, to make it the best place to eat in Shetland! We will definitely be back again soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Stayed in Lerwick for 5 days & took a trip on the ferry one evening for a meal at the Maryfield House Hotel. The menu was varied and the food was excellent. Plus points all around. A little background music would help the ambiance of the lounge as we could hear conversations from the adjacent tables.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Finian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Imposing hotel and bar that looks very ordinary from the outside. The food however, is far from ordinary.
They serve a number of tasty and interesting dishes alongside the pub grub favourites.
Stars of the show were the superb pea and asparagus ravioli and the spicy sweet potato and peanut butter soup. Chicken stroganoff was also good.
Very friendly and welcoming landlord and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank 342SteveO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews