We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Lunch on a Rainy Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maryfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Bressay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We found ourselves at the Maryfield on a rainy Octobers day. We were immediately greeted by its friendly staff. In fact, the lovely lady dragged out the heater so we would be more comfortable - which was wonderful.
Its bar is the perfect place for lunch - my friend had the burger and I had the scampi. Both were excellent value and the side salads that accompanied were delicious.
Our food and the warm welcome brightened our day - and the next time we are in the islands we will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank notwaltermitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

I just stayed at Maryfield for the one night as was working in Lerwick the following day.
On my arrival I was made to feel welcome and my room was really comfortable, which i really appreciated after a long day. Unfortunately I arrived late in evening and did not have my evening meal at hotel, but I did enjoy a very generous breakfast the next morning.
This was a short stay (too short) but I found Maryfield to be a very comfortable friendly place. I hope I get chance to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank MDJ5670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

What a great night for the better halfs birthday
Food was amazing and the rooms excellent,very comfortable beds didn't think I was going to get the wife to leave.
The kids had a great night in there own huge bed with a nice bath before bed.
Nelly and James were excellent hosts

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Had a fabulous week at this hotel while visiting our niece, James and Nelly where so welcoming, it was a lovely home from home. Beautiful room and superb breakfasts. The dinning room with the setting sun over the harbour sets off the fab food. Can’t thank them enough for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Lynnie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

The website states that: "Over the last four decades, through dedication and hard work, we have built up an excellent reputation as a wonderful place to stay among our customers. The convenient location and the peaceful ambience that our hotel offers make it the perfect holiday accommodation".

The present owners have only been there a few months, not decades.

They may be good at what they do, but the website needs to be honest.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank MichaelBShetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Thanks for your review, we had already noticed that the web site agency had put in some information which could be misleading and have rectified this, it has nothing to do with not being truthful.
It is a great shame that you did not contact us directly with your problem and support us as newcomers to Shetland. We have so much support from the Bressay folk and many other people in Shetland that appreciate what we are doing and have gone out of their way to help us get up and running, we are sure you can appreciate that it is not easy. if you have anymore complaints then please talk or at least e-mail the people involved as a review like yours can be very harmful and insulting to the people it concerns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bressay
2 km away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
232 reviews
9 km away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
259 reviews
2.2 km away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
86 reviews
28.8 km away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
338 reviews
29.9 km away
The Moorfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryfield House Hotel

Address: Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Bressay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bressay
Price Range: RM 639 - RM 662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maryfield House Hotel is a family run business looking to establish itself in Shetland as a friendly & welcoming venue for visitors and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maryfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing