We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this Homestay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Home Stay
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love this Homestay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Had a pleasant stay with my family.An excellent value for money.The owner is kind,honest and friendly and speaks good english.Quiet location,5 minutes from the beach.Close to the main road.There is internet,Satellite TV i n the living room,Also we are free to use the kitchen.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kyra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
11
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

My family and I arranged over the Internet to stay here a few nights in July 2011. However on arrival, although we had the online booking details with us, we were told that there was no room and to 'go away and find somewhere else'. When I mentioned that we had reserved 2 rooms with agreed dates and prices, she just shrugged her shoulders and walked away. Tired and dejected, we then had to go searching for alternative accommodation late in the evening. Please be aware if you decide to book online with these people.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portobello010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
priyani09, Owner at Mount Lavinia Home Stay, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
You only asked for availability. You did not confirm the booking.How can you say you had a booking here when you did,nt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Had a very nice good stay in this home stay.Very popular with backpackers looking for cheap accommodation.Very friendly place.Comfortable rooms with your own bathroom. Basic facilities are there..Internet is free WiFi .Location is very good.Close to beach,main road ,restaurants,and eating places. There is a guest kitchen to make a cup of tea or coffee and breakfast. There is a small garden too. I would recommend this place to anyone who is not looking for luxury.

Room Tip: very close to the beach and main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jack1952London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
1.0 km away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
0.3 km away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.9 km away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 km away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue Seas Guest House
Blue Seas Guest House
#3 of 38 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Home Stay

Property: Mount Lavinia Home Stay
Address: 17/7 Off De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price range (per night): RM66 - RM114
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Lavinia Home Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House is situated 33 kilo Meters away from the Colombo International airport. 10 Km away from the Colombo City. 3 minutes walk to the beach 3 minutes walk to the Restaurants, Hotels, Take away outlets, Pubs, Odel, Clothing Store, Super Markets, KFC,Burger King, Places of Worship, Banks, Bus Stop, Taxi Stand, Galle Road, Close to the Railway Station It is situated in a tourist resort and a good residential area. The Rooms are with Ensuite Bathrooms( Hot and cold water) , Ceiling fans,Fan, A/C on request. The Rooms are furnished with two twin beds, table, two chairs, A rack to hang clothes, A cupboard, Fridge There is a Common Pantry, Hot water available in the Pantry. A Dining Room, A Living area, A TV Room (satellite), Internet, WiFi available , a Garden is provided to relax. Inclusive is: electricity, water, Bed Sheets and Towels (once a week.) Air conditioning -Three A/C Rooms Available ( A/C Supplement Rs 1000 per night) Single Rooms Available Internet wifi available in the room on request Free wifi available in the lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Mount Lavinia Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing