We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ranveli Beach Resort(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$25/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clock Inn Dehiwala(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropic Inn Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Villa In Lavinia(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$32
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Lodge Boutique Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$63
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Guest House(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Penthouse Above Sea(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$65
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berjaya Hotel Colombo(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$78
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anarva Mount Lavinia(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
US$56
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,950)
Filter reviews
2,950 results
Traveller rating
1,273
1,014
400
166
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,273
1,014
400
166
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachcolonial hotelseafood covemount laviniagovernor's restaurantsri lankapool terracedirect ocean view roomhigh teaindian oceanlobby managerseafood restaurantold worldoverlooking the seamain restaurantcolonial stylecolonial feel
Filter
Updating list...
1,324 - 1,329 of 2,950 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Me and my husband stayed here on a bed and breakfast status after a long flight from the uk for 1 night. Absoulutely brilliant. The room was clean and spacious with a lovely big bed. Very comfortable, just what we needed after an eleven hour flight. The staff were very friendly check in was easy and quick and the breakfast was beautiful. This hotel is a colonial building which is very beautiful and the views are amazing. We were in room 006 and we went straight out of our patio doors straight on to the beach. Thank you to all of the the staff for making our stay very comfortable and for making us feel so welcome .

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

Just amazing. The room we were given was modern, large with a king size bed. The view from our balcony was beautiful. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The breakfast has many options from traditional curries to waffles and continental breakfasts.

For those travelling with young children, the sea (at least when we went) was very rough and probably not ideal for swimming with young children but there is a pool which is probably a better option.

Stayed: February 2015
Thank Jjasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Visited Mount Lavinia hotel for a meal on the last night of our visit to Sri Lanka.
We had been before (last year) and everything was superb, but this time things were terrible.
They 'lost' our booking, then found a table that had just been vacated, still with damp towels on one of the chairs. They removed these, but we had to ask for the cushion to be replaced as it was still wet.
We had the buffet meal, and had only just finished eating (my daughter was still finishing her drink) when other diners arrived and were told to wait by our table as we were about to leave.
Disgraceful service from one of the top hotels in Sri Lanka.
We plan to visit Sri Lanka again next year, but won't bother going to Mount Lavinia...

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulHatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Lovely hotel, Old world charm, a feeling of elegance. Rooms were spacious and we had sea facing with a balcony. Great buffet bkfasts. Each evening the dinner buffet had a theme. The spa was lovely with Balanese women massaging. My only complaint was the flow of wedding parties that came through and crowded you out of the lounge/lobby area at least 3 times a day while they took photos. They say they have 3-4 each day and it is just too many to make it comfortable. One of the best experiences in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blanche62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

Dear Guest we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to many more visits to our property in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Myself, mum & my baby daughter spent the entire day on 12th Jan.
It was a lovely and relaxing day. Buffet was quite splendid and a good variety, delicious.
Even the room we stayed was very clean and good room service.
We ordered Cappuccino and I should say this is the only hotel that servies such a huge cup of delicious Cappuccino, worth for money .
We enjoyed every bit of our day and staff are extremely friendly and make us feel at home all the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ramona V D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

Dear Guest thank you for choosing to spend the day at our colonial property. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cuisine, services and felt at home during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews