We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star - major wedding venue ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

If you want well maintained rooms with streamline, professional service, you will find this hotel frustrating.

Here's the summary:
+ charming period hotel with lots of history
+ private beach
+ fab views across the sea to central Colombo
- Room felt like and smelt like a damp basement
- no furniture on balcony
- refurbed room ok - quality of finish poor
- unrefurbed rooms really sad and bathroom awful (they will call them 'colonial' but interpret this as 'no update in last 20 years')
- pool is crowded - you need to be up and out for 9am if you want a bed. By 1030 all seat pads are gone (loads of beds left).
- curtains smaller than balcony door so light comes streaming in in the morning
- balcony door "lock" is not secure
- service probably the worst I've had in a "five star" hotel.
- noisy - neighbours, corridors, people outside, trains, crows. You hear it all.
- wifi slow and drops regularly
- leak in reception ceiling which had clearly been there for a long time by the look of the ceiling damage.
- wedding central : this place is really a wedding venue. Several a day.
If you are attending for holidays, bear that in mind.
If you are attending a wedding, just get a tuktuk from Colombo instead!
If you are having a wedding, be prepared for very invasive hotel guests shoving their iPads in your face or parading around your ceremony in their pants (yes, that did happen).
- saw various suites - they varied significantly in terms of quality and outlook. Poor value.

This could be a spectacular hotel if the right team got their hands on it. Sad to visit such a historic, decaying place with a corner cutting refurb.

Stayed: February 2015
5  Thank Kricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 993 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2015

Me and my husband stayed here on a bed and breakfast status after a long flight from the uk for 1 night. Absoulutely brilliant. The room was clean and spacious with a lovely big bed. Very comfortable, just what we needed after an eleven hour flight. The staff were very friendly check in was easy and quick and the breakfast was beautiful. This hotel is a colonial building which is very beautiful and the views are amazing. We were in room 006 and we went straight out of our patio doors straight on to the beach. Thank you to all of the the staff for making our stay very comfortable and for making us feel so welcome .

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

Just amazing. The room we were given was modern, large with a king size bed. The view from our balcony was beautiful. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The breakfast has many options from traditional curries to waffles and continental breakfasts.

For those travelling with young children, the sea (at least when we went) was very rough and probably not ideal for swimming with young children but there is a pool which is probably a better option.

Stayed: February 2015
Thank Jjasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Visited Mount Lavinia hotel for a meal on the last night of our visit to Sri Lanka.
We had been before (last year) and everything was superb, but this time things were terrible.
They 'lost' our booking, then found a table that had just been vacated, still with damp towels on one of the chairs. They removed these, but we had to ask for the cushion to be replaced as it was still wet.
We had the buffet meal, and had only just finished eating (my daughter was still finishing her drink) when other diners arrived and were told to wait by our table as we were about to leave.
Disgraceful service from one of the top hotels in Sri Lanka.
We plan to visit Sri Lanka again next year, but won't bother going to Mount Lavinia...

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulHatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Lovely hotel, Old world charm, a feeling of elegance. Rooms were spacious and we had sea facing with a balcony. Great buffet bkfasts. Each evening the dinner buffet had a theme. The spa was lovely with Balanese women massaging. My only complaint was the flow of wedding parties that came through and crowded you out of the lounge/lobby area at least 3 times a day while they took photos. They say they have 3-4 each day and it is just too many to make it comfortable. One of the best experiences in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blanche62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

Dear Guest we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to many more visits to our property in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
9.8 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.7 km away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
533 reviews
10.7 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.5 km away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
127 reviews
18.4 km away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: No. 100, Hotel Road,, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: RM461 - RM803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing