We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sleepless nights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed at the Berjaya February 2012.

Having read some of the previous reports I'm not sure if I stayed in the same hotel as them.

Our room was clean and tidy on arrival, It was cleaned well every day we were there. We were there for 4 days. Towels were changed every day and we asked the cleaners to change our sheets after the second day and there was no problems, and as it was very hot and humid whilst there, our air conditioning was very good.

Poolside and Room ervice were a bit slow, most of the time because the waiters we tended to get had very limited English skills, but still better than my Sri Lankan.

Breakfast was quite good, with plenty of choice and eggs cooked to your preference, but once again as at the other hotels we stayed at, it was a struggle to get any hot food.

The one really bad feature, and this is something the hotel can't do anything about is the railway line. If you enjoy trains and hooters at 5:30 in the morning book here. If not avoid like the plague, because the noise doesn't stop until about 11:00 at night.

The beach isn't brilliant but as the hotel had a pool, which was clean, we didn't mind.

Ate once in the evening at the hotel, A la Carte, so didn't have the buffet. The meal was no better and no worse than any of the restaurants that line the beach but that isn't saying much as the one thing that disappointed us on our holiday more than any other, was the quality of the food everywhere.

Overall a decent hotel but let down by the railway line.

Room Tip: Get a room with soundproofing if they do them
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredledd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    153
    113
    50
    60
See reviews for
134
122
49
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

A few point about this hotel:
1) Dirty dirty toilets, worst then the budget hotels
2) No lift, have to walk up to 3rd floor difficult for old people
3) Dirty sheets
4) Long walk to the beach plus have to climb over pedestrian crossing
5) Very poor room service, 2 hours to get hot water
6) Aircond did not work
7) Buffet dinner was a dump
8) No basic stuffs such as kettles, tea, coffee etc
9) Unfriendly and rude front desk staffs

Not worth for the price, too dirty toilets and environments. Just basic bed and bath, not recommended.

Thanks

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Ok, we knew that the hotel is right by the railway tracks. And we knew that it is near Colombo. But we didn't know that it is actually in a city. We thought that this is a beach hotel. Well it's not.
I just can't see why anyone would stay here. If you have come to Colombo, it's too far, if you want enjoy the famous Sri Lankan beach, than Mt. Lavinia is definitely NOT the place to go. The water has more nylon bags then fish, not to mention pants, T-shirts, men's underwear - I am not kidding, all of this is likely to hit you when you swim in th sea.
As for the hotel, the rooms are OK, but the common areas are very run-down. There is a large chinese restaurant just by, with the exhaust wafting right into the hotel, so the pool heavily smells of garlic and onions all the time.
So do yourself a favour and skip this place

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is not a 5 start hotel, but its value for money if you’re travelling on moderate budget, the hotel and the beach is separated from the railway line and you can see the trains passing buy(Hotel property is well covered), they have their own beachside restaurant and the food is OK….

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerRanitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

the hotel which is situated in a narrow lane.the atmosphere is so poor you have to regret after you checked in. A railway line is adjacent to the hotel and you have to cross it to go to beach. The restaurant is smelly with fish curry and the TV in the room does not function. no words can describe the bath room

Room Tip: for gods sake dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalasubramanyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
0.7 km away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,396 reviews
0.3 km away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 km away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.9 km away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.6 km away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Property: Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Address: 36 College Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka (Formerly Berjaya Mount Royal)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price range (per night): RM326 - RM387
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Hotel Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 10km south of Colombo, the largest city of Sri Lanka, also renowned for its ancient ruins and histories. Berjaya Hotel Colombo consists of 90 rooms equipped with contemporary facilities with simple and soothing interior. For business purposes, thriving conferences and meetings are to be held idyllically at its Royal Room and 3 separate meeting rooms. On savouring the convenience Berjaya Hotel Colombo offers, guests may also utilize the amenities provided. From water-splashing in the pool to luxurious sunbath by the beach, the fun goes on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berjaya Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Mount Royal Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing