We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
190
20
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
20
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts the river lovely swimming pool sri lanka trip before returning home minute paddle interesting art long flight detached bungalow we loved our stay great place to start delicious curries four nights common areas sri lankan life colombo airport curry
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Ging Oya Lodge is the ideal place to begin and end your holidays in Sri Lanka. It is situated close to the airport (airport pickups can be arranged) and has a beautiful serene environment. The owners (Myrjam and Leo) a lovely Belgium couple, have turned it into a little paradise. With the river on one side, beautiful garden with Myrjam’s clay statues, it is a really nice place to recover from traveling. There is a swimming pool, a beach close by and you can go kayaking. On our kayak trip we saw many kingfishers and a water monitor. Myrjam and Leo have been living in Sri Lanka for many years and are happy to tell you about the island and local customs. They made us feel very welcome. The bungalows in which you stay are beautiful. They have a/c, mosquito nets and beautiful comfortable beds. The bungalows are environmental friendly with solarpower and water from the nearby pond. We had some of our best food there, Leo is a great cook! Not only are the rice and curries good, but the Western dishes as well. We spend the beginning of our honeymoon in Ging Oya and keep warm memories.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mvanasseldonk-vandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Discovering this small and sweet and intimate hotel has been a godsend for me. I stayed here at the start of my trip in May and then at the end of the trip in June, only being 30 minutes from the airport makes it a haven after such a long flight, the gardens are exotic and huge, you can wander around with the river along one side and the beautifully situated bungalows on the other.
Well spaced apart you will have complete privacy, with large rooms, outside bathroom, a/c, mosquito nets in 4 poster bed style ensure you will not be caught by those pesky Sri Lankan mozzies!!!
Leo & Myrjam, the owners of this special place, will welcome you, making you feel totally at home. I traveled alone and they make your experience really easy and comfortable.
What can I say? Heaven.

Room tip: There are 5 bungalows, all great!
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank alabamageisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We loved our stay in the independent bungalow styled room set among coconut trees facing the Ging Oya River. The place was peaceful and serene with lots of place for kids to run around. The lodge though away from the city center has local homes as its neighbors. We got to taste the freshest of the Sri Lankan food in our whole trip here.
Since Ging Oya is an eco-friendly lodge, they use water from a local pond and so be prepared for a bath in brackish water and be ready to tackle mosquitoes in common areas. The local beach, which is a 20 minute walk was rarely occupied and so it felt like we were in a private beach. With the airport a 45 minute drive, it was a great location for us to end our trip to Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank djadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed here at the begining of january 2011, Ging Oya is so relaxing and peaceful.Leo is an excellent cook and host and Myrjam is just excellent! We loved staying here and everything about the place.We apologize(Leo&Myrjam)for not writing this review sooner,hopefully we will be able to visit Ging Oya again at the end of the year.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank fruitition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed in this place twice - first when we arrived in Sri Lanka, and second just before we left. It is by far the best accommodation we found in two months of travels through Sri Lanka and Kerala (India). The natural environment is gorgeous, set in a patch of jungle by a tranquil canal, while the buildings are designed with great sensitivity and flair and filled with a magnificent collection of antiques. The hosts are probably the best bit. A Belgian couple who have lived in Sri Lanka for a long time, Myrjam and Leo are friendly, relaxed and incredibly helpful. I was very unwell with a viral infection for a few days and they looked after me impeccably, even organising for me to see their doctor. They can give you great insights into Sri Lankan life and are always around for a chat. Oh, and their food is absolutely delicious. This is a great place to land when you arrive in Sri Lanka - just beware that it sets the bar pretty high, and you will not find many like it elsewhere!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ioanabFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews