We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t miss out on a gem”
Review of Ging Oya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waikkal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ging Oya Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Waikkal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Our family (kids 6 & 9) stayed at the start and end of our holiday last winter. We all loved it. Leo and Myrjam are charming and interesting hosts who go out of their way to accommodate you. The location, hospitality and ambience were all spot on. Relaxing, friendly and unpretentious – all you need. We initially stayed as it was convenient for the airport but it’s definitely worth a visit in its own right. Wish we could go this year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

Ging Oya Lodge is the ideal place to begin and end your holidays in Sri Lanka. It is situated close to the airport (airport pickups can be arranged) and has a beautiful serene environment. The owners (Myrjam and Leo) a lovely Belgium couple, have turned it into a little paradise. With the river on one side, beautiful garden with Myrjam’s clay statues, it is a really nice place to recover from traveling. There is a swimming pool, a beach close by and you can go kayaking. On our kayak trip we saw many kingfishers and a water monitor. Myrjam and Leo have been living in Sri Lanka for many years and are happy to tell you about the island and local customs. They made us feel very welcome. The bungalows in which you stay are beautiful. They have a/c, mosquito nets and beautiful comfortable beds. The bungalows are environmental friendly with solarpower and water from the nearby pond. We had some of our best food there, Leo is a great cook! Not only are the rice and curries good, but the Western dishes as well. We spend the beginning of our honeymoon in Ging Oya and keep warm memories.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mvanasseldonk-vandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Discovering this small and sweet and intimate hotel has been a godsend for me. I stayed here at the start of my trip in May and then at the end of the trip in June, only being 30 minutes from the airport makes it a haven after such a long flight, the gardens are exotic and huge, you can wander around with the river along one side and the beautifully situated bungalows on the other.
Well spaced apart you will have complete privacy, with large rooms, outside bathroom, a/c, mosquito nets in 4 poster bed style ensure you will not be caught by those pesky Sri Lankan mozzies!!!
Leo & Myrjam, the owners of this special place, will welcome you, making you feel totally at home. I traveled alone and they make your experience really easy and comfortable.
What can I say? Heaven.

Room Tip: There are 5 bungalows, all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank alabamageisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We loved our stay in the independent bungalow styled room set among coconut trees facing the Ging Oya River. The place was peaceful and serene with lots of place for kids to run around. The lodge though away from the city center has local homes as its neighbors. We got to taste the freshest of the Sri Lankan food in our whole trip here.
Since Ging Oya is an eco-friendly lodge, they use water from a local pond and so be prepared for a bath in brackish water and be ready to tackle mosquitoes in common areas. The local beach, which is a 20 minute walk was rarely occupied and so it felt like we were in a private beach. With the airport a 45 minute drive, it was a great location for us to end our trip to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank djadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed here at the begining of january 2011, Ging Oya is so relaxing and peaceful.Leo is an excellent cook and host and Myrjam is just excellent! We loved staying here and everything about the place.We apologize(Leo&Myrjam)for not writing this review sooner,hopefully we will be able to visit Ging Oya again at the end of the year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank fruitition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waikkal hotels
1.1 km away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,301 reviews
2.2 km away
Ranweli Holiday Village
0.8 km away
Suriya Resort
Suriya Resort
#2 of 3 in Waikkal
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Villa Suriyagaha
Villa Suriyagaha
#3 of 3 in Waikkal
82 reviews
3.7 km away
Karunakarala Ayurveda Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ging Oya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ging Oya Lodge

Address: Davindu Mawatha | Kammala North, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Waikkal
Price Range: RM192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Ging River, surrounded by luscious vegetation and resounding with birdsong, Ging Oya Lodge is unique in every way.The Lodge is a family-run guest house where your stay will be a relaxed, peaceful experience in an intimate environment. The rooms are spacious and luxurious bungalows tucked into the lush greenery, each equipped with all modern conveniences. Each hosts its own verandah where you can repose and take in the stunning surroundings.The beach is a short walk or kayak-trip away and is rarely visited by other tourists, allowing you to enjoy the sun and sea in a natural setting. Should the quiet become too much, a trip in a local tuk-tuk will soon have you in the bustling heart of nearby Negombo where you can experience the colourful local markets or simply absorb the atmosphere of the popular tourist beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ging Oya Lodge Sri Lanka/Waikkal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing