We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most charming places on the island!!!”
Review of Ging Oya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waikkal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ging Oya Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Waikkal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have been very fortunate to stay at the Ging Oya Lodge on a number of occasions throughout the years. To put it lightly, it is, by far, one of the most charming and hospitable places.

The architecture is subtle and very well blended with the jungle, the food is excellent, the rooms are comfortable and private, and the hospitality of the management is far above average.

This is a place you need to visit if ever you go to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Any cabin overlooking the river is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank waelsabbagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was traveling for three weeks in Srilanka. And stayed in many different places. And with no doubt I can say that Ging oya lodge was the best. I enjoyed staying here so much. Everything was perfect. The place (by the see, by the canals surounding jungles). Not far from the city and surrounding with friendly local peoples. The owners makes everything perfect to everybady. Especially food which was fresh and always home made (the owner is a great cheff). And they are doing it with a big love. Always smiling and will give you attention. And it gives very good aura for this home. It as so so hard to leave this place. During our 5 days stay there we could use bycicles or canoys. You can stay by the pool or read books, or play table games (everything you find there) :) I would strongly reccomend this place! At least to stay few days before or after the journey in Srilanka. And I relly hope to come back again here. Thanks again.

Room Tip: there is a maybe 7 bongaloos. And they are in a very good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Jurgita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This guesthouse is run by a Belgian couple. It is a very nice place to start your journey in Sri Lanka. The owners are very helpful and friendly. It is located outside of Negombo and is surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden. The breakfast is delicious. It was the best breakfast I had in Sri Lanka. The owner cooks a delicious meal in the evening for you on request. After a few days staying in this guesthouse you feel totally relaxed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Sara_VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Upon arrival we were welcomed by a very disorganized manager. Besides the fact that she acted rude towards our driver (a racist manner which was confirmed the following day by the owners’ behavior towards their staff), the management also did not offer the service to be expected from a 50 euro lodge. What we could not imagine was that it could get even worse.

The day after we arrived in the restaurant we found out that the kitchen was closed (see picture for your reference). The explanation was that, since we were the only guest, they did not want to cook for us. For this reason we had to cycle in the dark without lights dodging vicious dogs with a stick. Luckily a local on a scooter shielded us with his vehicle, allowing us to safely pass through. This was not stated on their website of course and, even if not full occupied, this is the minimum service a lodge, especially at that price range, should offer. In any case, even if we could eat at the lodge, the price for a dinner was 1500 rupees per person (around 10 euro): we travelled for two weeks around Sri Lanka and stayed in several lodges and nowhere the food was that expensive (at the top we paid 500 rupees for a dinner). The owners not only did not sympathize with us over the dogs’ attack, but they also did not believe us.

As the day after we were heading to the airport early in the morning, we asked the lady owner of the lodge if it was possible to have breakfast at 6:30 AM, since we read in the booklet of the lodge that it was possible to arrange breakfast earlier. The lady confirmed they could meet our request. However, since she was much disorganized and did not pay attention to our questions, we asked for confirmation to her husband. He instead told us it was not possible to have breakfast so early. When we faced him with the agreement we had with his wife, he became very aggressive, accused us to put his wife against him, insulted us using very offensive street language and left the discussion without letting us finish. After this episode we were so scared for retaliations that we decided to take our valuables with us if we had to leave our room.

As last note, the lodge is absolutely not as silent as advertised: the music in the restaurant is loud till late night and all rooms are close to the restaurant. We also saw several times a day airplanes flying very low over the lodge.
We travelled in many countries and stayed in many hotels and lodges, but never ever we received this sort of treatment. I really cannot understand how they can have any client.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Vegabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingOyaLodge, Owner at Ging Oya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

We have not responded to this review until now as we felt the extreme nature of Ms Fenna M's accusations made it clear that this is not a review of the Lodge but a personal attack on the owners for reasons unknown (this is further evinced by the fact that Ms Fenna M had also included photos of the managers which included abusive language in the comments and which have now been removed). However our other guests have indicated that they find this review insulting and have urged us to respond.

Ms Fenna M and her partner arrived many hours later than expected without informing us so we had assumed they would not appear. They arrived in the middle of the dinner hour so any perceived disorganisation would have been a result of the manager serving six tables while helping Ms Fenna M and her partner to their room. Ms Fenna M then demanded two vegan dinners which could not be provided without any prior notice (as mentioned on our website). We offered the soup that was part of the set menu for that evening and Ms Fenna M and her partner accepted but then decided they did not want the soup after it had been prepared for them.

Ms Fenna M and her partner were the only guests in the Lodge the next day and ordered a vegan lunch; after this was prepared they changed their minds and decided to go out for lunch. They informed us that they would be going out for dinner to a neighbouring restaurant so the kitchen was closed as there were no other guests to cater for.

Several of our neighbours have dogs but we have never had any complaints from other guests that the dogs are vicious, however as far as we know none of our other guests have brandished sticks at them before.

There are very few places in Sri Lanka that offer a three course dinner for 1500 rupees. Some local shops offer rice meals for under 500 rupees; as far as we know there are no restaurants in the tourist areas of Sri Lanka that provide a three course dinner for 500 rupees.

The managers have lived in Sri Lanka for over 22 years and both speak Singhalese which is how they address the staff as the staff are from the local village and speak little English. As a result we are extremely surprised by the accusations of racism and even more surprised and impressed by Ms Fenna M’s ability to learn sufficient Singhalese in her two week stay in Sri Lanka to be able to follow a conversation in Singhalese and determine that racist things were said.

It is possible to have breakfast before the set time of 8 AM with sufficient prior notice. Ms Fenna M spoke to Myrjam (the lady owner of the Lodge) who confirmed that this would not be a problem. Before Myrjam had a chance to inform her husband Leo of this Ms Fenna M and her partner aggressively accosted him and demanded an early breakfast without informing him that Myrjam had already agreed to this – the reason for this is rather unclear. As it would be Myrjam preparing the breakfast Leo could not immediately confirm as he was not certain whether she would be able to provide breakfast that early the following morning. Events were further confused by the fact that Ms Fenna M and her partner first requested that their breakfast be served before the set time early the next morning and then changed their minds and demanded instead that it be served on the spot (at 8 PM in the evening!!), despite the kitchen being closed. The kitchen was opened and within 15 minutes a custom vegan breakfast was served which Ms Fenna M and her partner appeared to enjoy.

It is unfortunate that they feel they did not receive the ‘services to be expected from a 50 Euro Lodge’ but as Ms Fenna M has not expanded on what her expectations are in her review we cannot respond to this.

Unfortunately any accusations of ‘offensive street language’ being used are blatant lies and we are disappointed that Ms Fenna M would stoop to slandering people using a public medium - again the reason for this is unclear to us.

Considering that every one of their bluntly stated (and occasionally perhaps somewhat unreasonable – breakfast at 8 PM?) demands had been politely and instantly met without any complaint or reciprocal rudeness we are surprised that Ms Fenna M would state that she was in fear of ‘retaliation’! We take this opportunity to clarify that we are not in the habit of revenging ourselves upon our guests’ valuables.

The Lodge is over a kilometer away from the nearest main road as the crow flies. The chalet nearest the restaurant is over thirty meters away; the furthest is over a hundred meters away. As we are within thirty minutes drive of the airport the occasional plane does fly over but the airport is not a busy one and at most there will be two planes a week. There was no music playing in the restaurant as Ms Fenna M and her partner were the only guests that second night. Music is not played loudly at any time as we feel this would disturb the tranquil nature of the Lodge.

We cannot comment on Ms Fenna M’s other travels and other hotels she may have stayed in but this is the first complaint of this nature we have ever received and we feel that our other reviews here speak for themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Ging Oya Lodge is a place you feel at home immediately. Lovely pool and rooms but the best bit is the food. Leo cooking is so good and we will keep returning to this lovely lodge. Stayed last year for 5 nights and loved it, back this year for 2 nights. Went out early both morning which wasn’t a problem to them.
Myiram and Leo were very helpful in recommending a local dentist.

Room Tip: Had room 17 and was in very quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pete_n_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waikkal hotels
1.1 km away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,298 reviews
2.2 km away
Ranweli Holiday Village
0.8 km away
Suriya Resort
Suriya Resort
#2 of 3 in Waikkal
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Villa Suriyagaha
Villa Suriyagaha
#3 of 3 in Waikkal
82 reviews
3.7 km away
Karunakarala Ayurveda Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ging Oya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ging Oya Lodge

Address: Davindu Mawatha | Kammala North, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Waikkal
Price Range: RM192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Ging River, surrounded by luscious vegetation and resounding with birdsong, Ging Oya Lodge is unique in every way.The Lodge is a family-run guest house where your stay will be a relaxed, peaceful experience in an intimate environment. The rooms are spacious and luxurious bungalows tucked into the lush greenery, each equipped with all modern conveniences. Each hosts its own verandah where you can repose and take in the stunning surroundings.The beach is a short walk or kayak-trip away and is rarely visited by other tourists, allowing you to enjoy the sun and sea in a natural setting. Should the quiet become too much, a trip in a local tuk-tuk will soon have you in the bustling heart of nearby Negombo where you can experience the colourful local markets or simply absorb the atmosphere of the popular tourist beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ging Oya Lodge Sri Lanka/Waikkal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing