We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
189
20
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
20
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts the river sri lanka trip minute paddle interesting art long flight detached bungalow we loved our stay swimming pool is sri lankan life four nights common areas curry nice pool tuk tuk leo cow
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

I can't rate highly enough how refreshed & relaxed I feel after 6 nights here!!!
The food, the service, the animals & surroundings are just magical. And the masseuse is wonderful!!! Thank you all so much

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Annie2095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This is an excellent place; comfortable and welcoming, set in lovely surroundings. The bungalows are large and very comfortable, the hosts are excellent and cook all the meals themselves. There is a lovely pool, and a river runs through the site; you can borrow canoes if you want, and bicycles too.
We loved it, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Measaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of an organised 2 week tour of Sri Lanka. The hosts originally from Belgium were very welcoming. Dinner (Sri Lankan curry) is from a fixed menu (while we were there it was 1800 rupees incl 3 courses and tea/coffee) and is excellent, but unfortunately has limited options for veggies. The European breakfast was equally good. Accommodation in detached bungalows is very clean and has a comfortable large bed with mosquito nets - which is useful as the bathroom roof is partial open and the location very close to the river means there's a lot of mosquitoes in the area. This was one of the few places we stayed with reliable hot water, powerful shower, bright room lighting and aircon that was not too noisy to use at night. We did have large red ants in the bathroom area when we first arrived, but these weren't an issue, and were sorted the following morning by the room cleaning staff. There's a nice decking area with seating outside each bungalow overlooking the river. We used their free bikes to cycle up to the beach road running north from the lodge. We had to head inland at first and a bit of the route was on the main road which was a little busy, but the back roads were quiet and, if the beautiful houses are anything to go by, the area we cycled through appears very affluent in parts. The bikes were old, gears and brakes somewhat questionable, but the roads were flat so they got us around just fine. If you want to eat elsewhere then options appear to be very limited in the immediate area, Negombo is a 20-30 minute tuk-tuk ride (we paid 400 rupees each way). Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone wanting to unwind in a natural setting, but still close enough to civilisation. We did notice noise from the aircraft flying over from Colombo airport in the early morning and evening, but the hosts said this was unusual and was due to the current works going on at the airport requiring different flight paths owing to the compressed time window that flights can come in and out.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AMJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We started our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka with a 3 night stay at Ging Oya. It was close to the Negombo area, yet quiet with great habitat for birds. We enjoyed using the canoe or kayaks and the pool. The neighborhood was interesting for walking. The grounds were beautiful with clever art all around. We had all of our dinners (not included in daily rate), at the lodge, and they were tasty. One evening the dinner was a little slow appearing, but that was minor. The setting for the outdoor dining was really pleasant, with lovely music playing in the background. Breakfasts were included and were also good. The hosts were charming and helpful, and the room was beautiful, with a really nice partly open-air bathroom. Sleeping was comfortable with a good mattress and air conditioner. We appreciated having an in-room refrigerator and coffee maker, since we wake up really early. There were good birds to watch on the grounds and especially when on the river. It was helpful to have a large table full of resource books, such as bird guides, butterfly, mammals, and all sorts of Sri Lanka tour books. The hosts set up a tour to the Yapahuwa ruins and also set up our transfer to and from the lodge. First by taxi from our airport hotel, and then return to Negombo by tuk tuk. Looking back on our trip, this was the perfect way to unwind from the super long flight and to prepare for touring the country.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank birderPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

A beautiful place with western luxery. The owners are making your stay worthwhile. They cook the meals and these are delicious!

Rooms are comfortable and the decoration is fantastic.
Nice swimmingpool, small boats and a map for a nice strawl in the environment. You can also take the bicycle.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Cynthia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews