We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet place to stay”
Review of Ging Oya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waikkal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ging Oya Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Waikkal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

My brother and I stayed at Ging Oya at the end of our travels through Sri Lanka. We wanted somewhere quiet and relaxing before returning home to work, and decided on Ging Oya. The Lodge lived up to our expectations. The setting and quality/love that has been put into the place is excellent. We found Mirijam and Leo great hosts - very welcoming and helpful. The only problem was that I may have put on a few extra kilos from the generous sized evening meals.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nikau-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Great lodges, comfortable and with a rustic style. Marvellous setting and really helpful owners. The dining area is fabulous and the pool a good size. Lots of wildlife and the resident cow is a great character. We stayed here for two days at the start of our holiday and loved it. Some nice walks roundabout and the river to canoe on. Breakfast and dinners were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

This is a very unique and individual place that we enjoyed staying at. Great rooms, loved the kayak down the river and the pool was perfect. The food was lovingly prepared, even if a little on the pricey side.
The one thing though that we encountered a number of times during our 3 day stay was a lack of customer focus. Perhaps the owners were just tired, but in spite of the place being near empty some of our requests were simply turned down as too much effort or poor timing. We also felt that it was rather steep to be charged half a full day rate just for staying in the room until 5pm on the day of departure and using the pool. Although one of the owners was friendly throughout, the other could have done with a bit less grumpiness, the occasional smile and a thank you on departure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank notforsale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingOyaLodge, Owner at Ging Oya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Mr. Notforsale2,
Ging Oya Lodge is categorized, as I’m sure you could not have failed to notice when you wrote your review, as a ‘bed and breakfast’ and not as a hotel.
The main difference between a hotel and a B&B being that in the latter there is less staff to cater for guests, the services provided are more compact and as a result the prices are much lower compared to a hotel.
We did, as we always do, our utmost best to cater for the various culinary dislikes and numerous allergies of your family, while also taking into account the preferences of other guests.
As a B&B operating with limited staff we serve breakfast between 8 and 10 am, snacks are served between 1 and 3 pm and dinner around 7.30 pm. Depending on the occupancy, we might be a bit flexible but I definitely draw the line at preparing snacks while cooking or serving dinner.
We indeed don’t offer the “customer focused service” you require. Multiple star and boutique hotels are fully equipped to cater for your every whim, if you are prepared to pay for it.
Our check out time is 10 am. When guests leave late in the afternoon/evening, we charge, as is customary in the hospitality sector across the world, a full day on ‘room only’ basis. You were charged 60 Euro (for a double plus a triple room) instead of 108 Euro.
Your personal remarks about my husband and I being friendly/not friendly/grumpy/ not grumpy are patronising and unnecessarily hurtful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Ging Oya was a lovely place to begin our holiday in Sri Lanka as it is only 20 mins from the airport. It would be a lovely place to end the vacation for the same reason. The room and pool are wonderful and we particularly enjoyed the cow and dogs roaming around the property. It's also on a lagoon, and kayaking is an option. We ate at the hotel both nights, delicious food.Breakfast also lovely.
The only slight drawback is that the very charming owners don't have enough staff and are clearly struggling a bit. This meant that there was a general feeling of burdening them whenever we made a request and occasionally the fact that they were overworked was reflected in their demeanour. Even when ordering lunch we had to wait quite a long time, as our hosts were otherwise engaged in settling new guests into their rooms and there is no back up staff to help make a sandwich or get a drink. I can empathise and would say it would not put me off staying here again but would suggest that to move from 8 out of 10 to 10 out of ten Ging Oya need to hire a cook to lighten the load.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichTea547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

I can't rate highly enough how refreshed & relaxed I feel after 6 nights here!!!
The food, the service, the animals & surroundings are just magical. And the masseuse is wonderful!!! Thank you all so much

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Annie2095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waikkal hotels
1.1 km away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,303 reviews
2.2 km away
Ranweli Holiday Village
0.8 km away
Suriya Resort
Suriya Resort
#2 of 3 in Waikkal
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Villa Suriyagaha
Villa Suriyagaha
#3 of 3 in Waikkal
82 reviews
3.7 km away
Karunakarala Ayurveda Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ging Oya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ging Oya Lodge

Address: Davindu Mawatha | Kammala North, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Waikkal
Price Range: RM193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Ging River, surrounded by luscious vegetation and resounding with birdsong, Ging Oya Lodge is unique in every way.The Lodge is a family-run guest house where your stay will be a relaxed, peaceful experience in an intimate environment. The rooms are spacious and luxurious bungalows tucked into the lush greenery, each equipped with all modern conveniences. Each hosts its own verandah where you can repose and take in the stunning surroundings.The beach is a short walk or kayak-trip away and is rarely visited by other tourists, allowing you to enjoy the sun and sea in a natural setting. Should the quiet become too much, a trip in a local tuk-tuk will soon have you in the bustling heart of nearby Negombo where you can experience the colourful local markets or simply absorb the atmosphere of the popular tourist beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ging Oya Lodge Sri Lanka/Waikkal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing