We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$54
US$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$50/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$109
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suriya Resort(Waikkal)
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Green Island Hotel(Waikkal)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Walauwa Hotel(Waikkal)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Lanka Shine(Waikkal)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Beach Rest(Waikkal)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterland(Negombo)
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
US$140
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
185
20
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
20
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hoststhe riversri lanka tripbefore returning homeoutdoor diningminute paddleinteresting artlong flightlovely pooldetached bungalowwe loved our staycomfortable bungalowsswimming pool issri lankan lifefour nightscommon areasgreat place to start
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Great lodges, comfortable and with a rustic style. Marvellous setting and really helpful owners. The dining area is fabulous and the pool a good size. Lots of wildlife and the resident cow is a great character. We stayed here for two days at the start of our holiday and loved it. Some nice walks roundabout and the river to canoe on. Breakfast and dinners were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

This is a very unique and individual place that we enjoyed staying at. Great rooms, loved the kayak down the river and the pool was perfect. The food was lovingly prepared, even if a little on the pricey side.
The one thing though that we encountered a number of times during our 3 day stay was a lack of customer focus. Perhaps the owners were just tired, but in spite of the place being near empty some of our requests were simply turned down as too much effort or poor timing. We also felt that it was rather steep to be charged half a full day rate just for staying in the room until 5pm on the day of departure and using the pool. Although one of the owners was friendly throughout, the other could have done with a bit less grumpiness, the occasional smile and a thank you on departure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank notforsale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingOyaLodge, Owner at Ging Oya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Mr. Notforsale2,
Ging Oya Lodge is categorized, as I’m sure you could not have failed to notice when you wrote your review, as a ‘bed and breakfast’ and not as a hotel.
The main difference between a hotel and a B&B being that in the latter there is less staff to cater for guests, the services provided are more compact and as a result the prices are much lower compared to a hotel.
We did, as we always do, our utmost best to cater for the various culinary dislikes and numerous allergies of your family, while also taking into account the preferences of other guests.
As a B&B operating with limited staff we serve breakfast between 8 and 10 am, snacks are served between 1 and 3 pm and dinner around 7.30 pm. Depending on the occupancy, we might be a bit flexible but I definitely draw the line at preparing snacks while cooking or serving dinner.
We indeed don’t offer the “customer focused service” you require. Multiple star and boutique hotels are fully equipped to cater for your every whim, if you are prepared to pay for it.
Our check out time is 10 am. When guests leave late in the afternoon/evening, we charge, as is customary in the hospitality sector across the world, a full day on ‘room only’ basis. You were charged 60 Euro (for a double plus a triple room) instead of 108 Euro.
Your personal remarks about my husband and I being friendly/not friendly/grumpy/ not grumpy are patronising and unnecessarily hurtful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Ging Oya was a lovely place to begin our holiday in Sri Lanka as it is only 20 mins from the airport. It would be a lovely place to end the vacation for the same reason. The room and pool are wonderful and we particularly enjoyed the cow and dogs roaming around the property. It's also on a lagoon, and kayaking is an option. We ate at the hotel both nights, delicious food.Breakfast also lovely.
The only slight drawback is that the very charming owners don't have enough staff and are clearly struggling a bit. This meant that there was a general feeling of burdening them whenever we made a request and occasionally the fact that they were overworked was reflected in their demeanour. Even when ordering lunch we had to wait quite a long time, as our hosts were otherwise engaged in settling new guests into their rooms and there is no back up staff to help make a sandwich or get a drink. I can empathise and would say it would not put me off staying here again but would suggest that to move from 8 out of 10 to 10 out of ten Ging Oya need to hire a cook to lighten the load.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem lovely
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichTea547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

I can't rate highly enough how refreshed & relaxed I feel after 6 nights here!!!
The food, the service, the animals & surroundings are just magical. And the masseuse is wonderful!!! Thank you all so much

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Annie2095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This is an excellent place; comfortable and welcoming, set in lovely surroundings. The bungalows are large and very comfortable, the hosts are excellent and cook all the meals themselves. There is a lovely pool, and a river runs through the site; you can borrow canoes if you want, and bicycles too.
We loved it, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Measaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews