We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
57
42
32
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
42
32
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssailor barroom wasn't readygreat holidaynight all inclusive stayanimation teamice creamplastic wasteland trainfamily friendly hotelpool areasnack barshower capfor making our holidaypork and chickensoft drinkspark hotelsalad
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, everything was perfect, our room was beautiful with large balcony overlooking the pool, everywhere in the hotel is spotless, cleaners on the go all the time, the staff are very friendly in every department, Sergio, who runs the lobby bar is a really nice man when you get to know, but most importantly he is really good at his job, it was a pleasure to meet him, the food in the resturant is very well presented and plentiful, lots of choice, although some people moaned, but I think if they can`t find anything wrong they make it there job find something, the resturant is very spacious and always a clean free table, a lot of food is cooked freshly in front of you, Beef and Pork was especially tasty, loads of salad, cheese and desserts to choose from. The pool area once again is spotless and a great place to relax, with snack bar offering Pizza, hotdogs, chips etc, kids will love it, not to mention the ice cream. The animation team are all very friendly and energetic, the comedy show they put on was hilarious, well done to all, staff on reception very helpful and friendly, check in took about 2 minute's. The beach is about 15 minute walk away, it is ok going but bit of steep hill coming back, but there is a land train every 30mins to and from hotel, £2pp one way, although taxi drivers will do it same price. We booked holiday with Thomas Cook and from the moment we boarded in Birmingham till the moment we landed at Varna to be met by the wonderful Tiffany everything was stress free, travel time from airport to hotel is about 1hr including drop offs, on the couple of occasions I need to see Tiffany she was always there promptly. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, trust me, you wont go wrong, Thank You to all the staff for making our holiday so pleasurable, will be seeing you again soon, I hope :-)

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking pool area
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at smartline Madara, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Mr.Terence C

Thank you very much for your review and your high score. It is a pleasure to know that you have fully enjoyed your stay at Smartline Madara and our facilities. We would be very happy to have you back as our guest and will do our best to ensure you are having a perfect holiday with us

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Myself, my partner and our 18 month old arrived for a weeks stay at the Smartline Madara on the 5th June 2018. Everything went well at the check in, the staff were being talked to like rubbish by other English visitors, for no legitimate reason, but the staff were very pleasant to us regardless, and despite intially saying our room wasn't ready, within 5 minutes, it was, so we were checked in very quickly.
The hotel itself was clean and tidy, with our room being the same. It was big enough, but with a travel cot and pushchair in there too, it became a bit pokey, i think even for a family of 3 with an under 2, a family room would've been more suitable.
The food was lovely, we enjoyed every meal, the choice was varied, and there was something different every night, from Mousakka, pasta dishes and different meats, to the extensive salad bar, and fruits and puddings. We didn't actually venture into the restaurant once for lunch as the Snack Bar was brilliant, the pizza and fries from there were lovely, and the ice cream cart was great. The only problem with the restaurant was the cleanliness. The high chairs were filthy. i took antibacterial wipes with me every meal-as i have never liked leaving a cafe or restaurant with the amount of mess my son makes-and i am SO glad i did. i don't think they were wiped once through the week, other than by myself and other parents. I even deliberately left some jam on the chair in a fairly obvious place one morning, and it was still there at dinner time, over 8 hours later. It just made you feel really uneasy about the cleanliness of everything else, if they felt okay with leaving a childs high chair in that state. Other than the lack of cleaning, the waiters were brilliant, cleaning your plates quickly and efficiently. I have a major problem with the amount of plastic waste that was being produced at the Sailor Bar though. Every drink was in a plastic cup, and by the time you wanted another one, your previous cup had already been put in the bin. It was just very frustrating, as someone who is normally very good at recycling and reducing waste, by the end of the week i felt very guilty.

The pool area was ok, we used the indoor pool more than the outside, as it was too cold for our son. the actual pool was great. But the flooring was extremely slippery. My son slipped over at least twice whilst walking, not even running, banging his head fairly hard, and did the same in the shower in our room, as the tiles were also slippery there too. Obviously this made the pool area impractical for children, so we were constantly on tenterhooks worrying he would fall again.

There was a child's play area though, which was great, and the rides just outside the restaurant were a hit with our son, as was the play room in the lobby area, though we only used that once, as we all wanted to make the most of the sunshine!

For the money, you can't really expect much more, but as a family of a young child, whilst the facilities were great for children, and geared for younger ones in particular, it definitely wasn't matched by practicality and safety. So i would just be mindful if venturing here in the same scenario that we did.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at smartline Madara, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Stacey A,

Thank You for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to know You enjoyed our Hotel. Kindly be informed that Your comment is taken into consideration and is helping us to improve our service. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon in our improved Smartline Madara Hotel

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

My son went with his girlfriend this past week for 7 nights all inclusive, Lovely hotel, staff very friendly animation team great, they were a bit disappointed with the food on a couple of nights where the chicken was pink, but didn't like to say anything, and the surrounding area hadn't opened for the season properly so it was a little quiet but they had a great time at the hotel

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank conwyNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at smartline Madara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear conwyNorthWales ,

Thank you for staying at Smartline Madaras and for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that the hotel and the staff, made your stay enjoyable. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with our Team to further improve our services where needed. Thank you once again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Last minute booking,All inclusive.
The rooms were basic but very clean with the maids coming in daily,changing towels and cleaning.Not many English there with the food more suited to vegeterians and other european countries.The desserts wre the best part of the meals.
The entertainment was non existent.The bar shut at exactly 11pm,the lights went out with no drinking up time allowed.I think it had only just opened for the season and they hadn't got properly organised.Many good Staff who worked hard and were helpful but one in particular was a real star always willing to help people ,working long hours, nothing to much trouble and having a smile on her face all of the time,her name is ZHANA and she worked in the Sailors Bar and the Dining Room.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at smartline Madara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Thomas L,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. I am delghted that you are enjoyed your time with us.

Best regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We arrived for a 7 night all inclusive stay on the 22/5/2018. Check in was very slow at reception we were in the first 10 people of two 60 seater coaches to drop off. Only one member of staff seemed to speak English. We were allocated a room on the fifth floor, and pointed in the direction of the lift.

The hotel lobby itself has marble floors, and is clean and tidy.

Room - we were to stay a double room. Can not say that our view was fantastic, because it wasn't, we were overlooking the front of the hotel, a small balcony with one chair and table. Outside was a noisy busy main road. The room itself was clean and comfortable it had a safe which is free, a fridge which warmed)our drinks instead of cooling them. The air conditioning needed to be switched on a while before you felt the benefits. Our bathroom was clean with a large shower, plenty of towels. A small TV was situated on the wall.

Food - note the hot food is never hot
Breakfast is served in the main dining room, with a selection, cooked, cereal, yogurts, fruit, pastries, bread ( complete with the hotel toasters, which never seem to work - these do not let you down, this is why breakfast is for 3 hours)
Buffet lunch is at the cafeteria, again there is a variety hot and cold, the hot meals change, there is always a pasta meal, and a vegetarian meal, Various cooked meats on offer. Salads were always fresh and available.
Snacks were also served at the poolside, these were chips, hotdogs and pizza cold snacks were available from inside the “sailers bar”. A help yourself ice-cream cart is also found poolside.
Evening meals, are in the cafeteria and are the same as lunchtime, choices seem to be consistent.
For both lunch and evening meals there is always a selection of cakes, fruit and ice-cream.

Drinks - from 10 am “Sailors bar” these are served in plastic glasses, as they are taken round the pool.

Staff - all the staff work tirelessly to ensure areas are clean. They clean the pool area every night. The staff in the canteen are constantly tidying tables and restocking various foods.

Pools - Outdoor pool was very cold and takes a bit of getting use to. Sun beds and parasol are available. You will be given a voucher for a pool towel which you collect from the lifeguard. There is an indoor pool, but we did not use it.

Beach and shopping - there is a gate past the child’s play area which is a short cut to the shops and down to the beach which is approximately half a mile away. There are supermarkets and little cabin shops. Along the beach are bars and more individual shops.

The hotel has a Spa and a beauty salon, plus a small shop.

Overall - This is a very good hotel. The price of one weeks all inclusive in May was approx £350 per person, which to us is pretty cheap. We thought that the room and meals matched up to that price tag. If you want to go on holiday and relax, not worry about finding somewhere to eat, then this is a possibility for you.
The staff are great, the gardens and grounds are spotless.
I think that the management should look at using glasses in the Sailors Bar after the pool closes, this would help the planet in its cause to reduce plastic waste. An addition of water fountains on each floor would also negate customer from buying throwaway plastic water bottles.
When busy the sun beds do become an issue, those who reserve with a towel not to return to the bed for 4+ hours. I watched 32 beds reserved mostly for 2 ish hours, but 5 beds were not occupied for over half the day. The occupants placed down the towels and walked out the back gate towards the shops and beach, so unfair.

Top marks to Zhanna the young girl who serves drinks and clears tables in the Sailors bar always happy helpful and an assist to the hotel future junior management material.
Lowest marks to Serdjio the miserable guy who serves at the lobby bar, first bar staff I have witnessed applying deodorant to himself in full view of hotel customers,
A smile costs nothing and is essential in your lobby bar!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 66GG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at smartline Madara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear 66GG66,

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking time to write such a wounderful and detailed review.I will be make sure to pass your lovely comments to applicable departments.We belive that will welcome you again.

Kind accept our warmest regards from hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews