We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible horror”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden Sands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gladiola Star
Ranked #78 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This place is full catastrophe, staff, food, rooms, bars and etc. Avoid this place if you can, pay some pennies more and take holidays in somewhere else. Varna plus this gladiola is like time machine which drive you 20 years back. Drunk teens, staff who absolutelly dont understand english and etc... No free wifi and if you ask this nobody answer or dont know nothing, coffee there is some brown strange water..

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gladiola Star
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2017

The Gladiola Star is an excellent hotel. It is 4 star and the star go to great lengths to be of service. The daily room make up service was excellent. Rather than just 'leave' fresh towel they went to the trouble to make swans, hearts, bouquets and other shapes out of the towels.

We have now stayed in Golden Sands 6 times and on Albena 4 times since first coming to Bulgaria in 2006. Over those 11 years the Gladiola Star has been the best we have experienced so far. Every year we dread the food (Bulgarians cannot cook) but this year I found the food was excellent. My wife would have given Gladiola Star a 10 out of 10 but found that the food was often dried out and not hot enough, a consequence of being in the 'Bain Marie' style food warmers. I did not feel that was worth criticising so l gave Gladiola Star a definite 10 out of 10.

I stay at a lot of hotels (l travel for 11 months or each year and have been since retiring in 2008). I do not often give hotels high praise but Gladiola Star really did well and really deserved it.

My age is 59 and my expectations of a hotel centre around comfort and convenience so that is my main focus.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room overlooking the beach if you dislike noise. The noise of the 'rage parties...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAPWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

The service at the reception is good,all the staff in the hotel are friendly especially the cleaning team.the pools are great and there's 2 bars near them.the room itself was good and included all what someone might need.its ashame people write bad reviews that aren't accurate.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank maknouneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I was staying there for a week with a group of friends in the middle of june. Honestly it was the most unpleasent hotel we have all ever been to. First of all the cleaning ladies were steraling peoples money,watches,credit cards etc. The staff did not do anything about it. Also we were fined couple of times because our sheets were dirty or the towel was too wet( seems unreal but that is the way it was) and when we said we do not agree to pay they threatend to call the police. And these problems included a lot of more people.In addition the food was not tasty at all. I just want to say that i would NEVER reccomend anyone to choose this hotel unless you want to get robbed.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Kaur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Very poor experience.
Housekeeping didn't do its job well, food was not that good, reception didn't help us with problems regarding stolen credit cards, watches and money and hotel staff was rude at times. Also we had to pay for things we didn't break or destroy (like dirty towels that were said to be full of puke but weren't)
Location is great but other than that I would not recommend.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Liis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Gladiola
Hotel Gladiola
#72 of 110 in Golden Sands
33 reviews
1.5 km away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#32 of 110 in Golden Sands
52 reviews
0.1 km away
Tintyava Hotel
Tintyava Hotel
#98 of 110 in Golden Sands
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Shipka Hotel
Shipka Hotel
#42 of 110 in Golden Sands
191 reviews
0.1 km away
Astera Hotel & Spa
Astera Hotel & Spa
#10 of 110 in Golden Sands
206 reviews
0.3 km away
Bonita Hotel
Bonita Hotel
#47 of 110 in Golden Sands
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gladiola Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gladiola Star

Address: Golden Sands, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Price Range: RM117 - RM306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 185

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing