We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking with the best tour guide of Port Renfrew”
Review of Big Tree Tours

Big Tree Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a guided day trip to see Port Renfrew's biggest trees, coastal beaches, and incredible wildlife with renowned nature photographer TJ Watt. Visit the Avatar Grove, San Juan Spruce, Red Creek Fir, Sombrio Beach, and more! Transportation included. Seasonal operation.
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We had an amazing experience walking with TJ to the big trees. His knowledge and passion about this area is inspiring. If you like to see the big trees and walk with an experience guide he is definitely the best, there is. I did it with my parents and he could easily adjust the pace in which we are walking to make it enjoyable for us all.

Thank erwin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tidal pools"
in 2 reviews
"tj"
in 8 reviews
"pace"
in 2 reviews
"trees"
in 5 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"forest"
in 3 reviews
"nature"
in 3 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016

During a short visit to South Vancouver Island in September 2016 I was lucky enough to spend a day roaming the local area with an amazing guide named TJ Watt or Big Tree Tours. He took great care to explain the details of the region's environmental ecology, economics, and scientific wonder we were witnessing. The trees and forest, the beach, and the natural fauna are nothing short of amazing, and the story they tell is lovingly shared by Big Tree Tours.

1  Thank C2014C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJ W, Owner at Big Tree Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Thanks C! What a beautiful day in the sun that was. I had a great time chatting with you about the many things our forests have to share as well :) And seeing the whales off Sombrio Beach - a highlight for me! Do say hello if you ever make it back this way ~ TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My husband and I did the Big Tree Tour with TJ at the end of July 2016. First, we would never have found all the places he took us to. He knows the woods so well. Second, if, by chance we had found the right road, when on our own, we might not have persevered to our destination - that would have been such a missed opportunity! Once we were in the midst of the old growth forest, standing beside trees hundred of years old we were in awe. TJ not only took us to see the trees but he also took us to see the wildlife and he helped us to hear what we rarely hear - the quiet of the forest, unmarred by any human sound. Standing still, looking up and just taking it all in was an excellent adventure and one we will treasure forever. Everyone should go and be humbled by the grandeur of nature.

1  Thank mldpaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJ W, Owner at Big Tree Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thanks so much! I had great time with you both as well! And I agree - the peace and tranquility found in ancient forests is so rejuvenating. It just washes life’s stresses away. Happy to have been able to share a those moments with you while exploring some of the best that nature has to offer right here in our own backyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Exploring the wiles of Vancouver Island with Big Tree Tours is a fabulous was to spend a day. We visited Vancouver Island recently (Aug, 2016) looking to get off the beaten path - Big Tree Tours, in the person of TJ Watt was our guide and what an incredible day. Exploring amazing beaches & tide pools with someone as delightful and informed as TJ was a blast but the highlight was visiting the groves of old growth trees that TJ and his colleagues from Ancient Forest Alliance was a major highlight. The giant gnarly cedars were unbelievable, TJ's knowledge of the trees and skills as a professional photographer make this a "must do" activity in my opinion.

2  Thank KevinF707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJ W, Owner at Big Tree Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thanks Kevin! I had such a fun time touring the wilderness of Port Renfrew with you and your wife. Your enthusiasm for life and the world around you made for a truly memorable day! Glad to have made two new friends. I'll be sure to drop you a line if I'm ever in your neck of the woods!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Tree Tours also viewed

Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
 
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Big Tree Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing