We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Big Fish Lodge(Port Renfrew)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trailhead Resort(Port Renfrew)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Homestead Cabins(Port Renfrew)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
179
50
4
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
50
4
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgravel roadbaconcourse dinnerbotanical beachown wineavatar groveboth nightslocal ingredientsvancouver islandsitting roomamazing viewseach morningbreakfast was amazingset menuprivate deckvisit port
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My colleague and I enjoyed a wonderful break and 2 nights. The cabin and Yurt accomodations were fun, the meals (including the box lunches) excellent, and the hosts always helpful and informative. We'll be back!

Only two very minor issues could be easil;y corrected - the bed side lights are not adequate for reading, and the bathroom mirror lighting is also a bit dim for shaving and/or make up applications.

But that's it! And we had a great time on the trail to "Canada's gnarliest trees," too!

Ed

Room Tip: Go for the Yurts!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thanks Ed! Happy you had a good stay and had a chance to see Avatar Grove. I appreciate your feedback regarding the reading and bathroom light and we will have it changed before we open for our 2013 season. Have a great winter, Jon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

After browsing the web site and checking out the many wonderful reviews, my friend and I decided to stay at the Soule Creek Lodge with the expectation of a 4.5 star rated resort-like atmosphere. Unfortunatly it was an experience that was hopefully not to repeat itself. We booked at the last minute on the Thanksgiving Long weekend, so we werent expecting to get a Yurt, but we did manage to get a room in the Lodge. The room was right directly below the kitchen and we could hear everything going on up above us including conversation, dishwasher noise etc. We contimplated staying because we figured we would be woken up early by the breakfast prep the next morning, (which is what happened). When we did finally decide to stay, we poured our wine and sat out on the patio to enjoy the view. While sipping our wine and taking in the view, we glanced over to our left and noticed a compost bin right next to our patio, full of compost. There was bags of yard waste piled up in the corner next to the compost bin along with wire fencing and other garden rubbish and tools. The landscaping consisted of several dying and suffering plants along a rustic fence line and completly taken over by weeds. To the right of our patio was several neglected herb gardens and several raised strawberry beds that had suffered from severe drought over the summer and hadnt survived. At this point, we were pretty disgusted with our room and patio surroundings, but were feeling obligated to stay because we could hear the chefs preparing our dinner.

When we booked the room, my friend had mentioned that it was her birthday celebration so when we went for dinner the chefs had planned to bring her dessert out with a sparkler on the cake and a birthday song. Which would have been wonderful except for the fact that they couldnt figure out which of the 10 dinner guests was having the birthday and gave her sparkling piece of birthday cake to the couple sitting behind us who were just as surprized as we were to recieve the birthday cake presentation, although they both mentioned that it was niether of their birthdays.........
The food was very well cooked but we did find out later that the trout served was farmed which was a little disappointig because of all the wild seafood availability in the local area. The chef could not tell us which farm the trout came from but assured us the product was Ocean Wise approved.

When looking at the web site we were under the impression that we were close to the beach and we were hoping to wander to the beach when we got there. Although the view was nice and the sunset was stunning, the beach is about a 5 km drive from the resort itself. I believe that the idea of a 4.5 star resort is there, but has not quite reached its goal. There seems to be an element of finness lacking in the landscape and service style of the staff and chefs. I think for the many tourists who go there from outside of the westcoast it would be an experience to remember but for the westcoaster who knows what 4.5 star resorts are all about, it really lacks in character.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

I’m sorry Sonia did not have a better stay with us. It seems she was under the impression we are a 4.5 star resort. We do not claim to be a 4.5 star resort but a family run wilderness lodge, there is no mention of us being a resort on our website or any other listings we have a hand in. The 4.5 stars we have earned with TripAdvisor are the result of 54 guest reviews from almost entirely happy people who have stayed with us as well as a Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor for this accomplishment. As for lacking character we were also recently named as one of the 12 most unique hotels by Where.ca. and exceedingly good reviews in major media publications. I would encourage those reading this to also read other TripAdvisor reviews and visit our website for professional reviews and articles for a more accurate portrayal of our Lodge. I have stayed in several 4.5 star resorts on the island as the least expensive was close to double the $120 they were charged and did not include breakfast.
We have and always will compost here at Soule Creek Lodge. It is behind a six foot fence to the deck as it is tucked back in a nook beside the house where we do have gardening stuff and it was untidy which I did clean up and am planning to further obscure. The “several dying and suffering plants” were victims of Autumn, not neglect or abuse. I cannot take responsibility for the change of seasons. As for the weeds we have 160 acres of natural, native plants and trees as well as wild flowers which, being fall, are no longer in bloom. Every year we try to improve our landscaping and blend into our natural surroundings. The strawberries were grazed on by elk which often come onto the property. We have now started to plant things which they like as it has become a high point for guests to see 800 lbs. animals in our yard.
The mentioned birthday sparkler did reach the correct person and they were surprised because although they did not tell us it was his birthday, the guests employer called, told us, and asked to pay for his dinner. I was never told they were having a birthday celebration on the phone but rather was asked to give them a discount because it was her birthday a week earlier, (I thought she was kidding) and after taking her credit card info and being told that “the places we really wanted to stay were booked”.
The farmed Sooke Trout they said they enjoyed that evening we often serve at this time of year for a few reasons. 1) it is a very tasty and environmentally friendly fresh water product (we never serve farmed salmon). 2) there is no locally available salmon we can legally buy as Port Renfrew’s commercial season ended in August. 3)(if we could) it is Coho Salmon which is not of the same quality as the Sockeye or Chinook we normally serve. 4) most of our guests at this time of year are local and we have found there is “salmon fatigue” among many of them. Between our vegetable supplier (Root Cellar) and other purveyors of fine foods there are more than 30 farms our food comes from.
It is difficult to reconcile the opinions expressed in this review with the other reviews from guests happy to be here. I am happy to take suggestions and constructive criticism as this helps me to become better at serving our guests. We take our guests comfort seriously and strive to help them create good memories and our record shows this well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed in a yurt at Soule Creek Lodge for two nights and ate one dinner, a prix fixe three-course meal served in the lodge made by the owners/chefs.

It took us a little while to fully appreciate this special place, but once we sank in, we did not want to leave. To get here, you will have to drive up a steep 2km dirt road, but the uphill trek brings you to a secluded and tranquil spot. At the top of the road you will find the lodge, which includes guest rooms as well as the dining room, where breakfast and dinner are served. The dining room has the best views on the mountain and offers a nice place to relax for guests staying in the lodge as well.

While eating breakfast or dinner you can gaze out at the fog as it crawls inland along the bay below. Most of the time we were there, the fog was thick, so it was impossible to take in the view directly west. But once the fog lifted, you could see the Olympic Mountains in Washington. The variations in climate warrant a longer stay because you will experience different views and a sense of place.

We found the yurt to be very comfortable, and the breakfasts and our one dinner there were all amazing. We wished we had eaten both dinners here but hesitated to reserve because we planned to take a long hike during our second day. If we can make it back, we will stay longer and eat all meals here.

You will also want to plan to visit Botanical Beach (research low tides first - they need to be pretty low), hike as far as you like on the Juan de Fuca trail (beyond Botanical Beach), and explore the old growth tree groves, like the Avatar Groves, if you are interested and concerned with ancient trees and biodiversity issues. Port Renfrew is also the home of the southern end of the West Coast Trail. We had considered checking out the end of the trail as a day hike, but the host did not think this end of the trail would be good for that.

The hosts are friendly and run a very professional lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twoadventurersfromsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I had expected a view of the harbor from the room which did not happen. We were there near the end of September. The bathroom had no heat and it was just too chilly. If I were staying there, I would ask them to turn the heat up in the room before we arrived. Had they done that, I think the room and bath would have been more comfortable. The included breakfast was excellent, that is a full hot breakfast, eggs to order, sausage, blueberry pancakes or toast, fruit.

Room Tip: Yerts are also available. We sayed in the lodge.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lifeisgood720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouleMan, Owner at Soule Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. I am sorry your stay with us did not match what you imagined. There seemed to be two problems you encountered while staying with us. 1)" The bathroom had no heat." The heaters in all our rooms can be controlled by the guests. Many guests tend to turn them off if they prefer it cooler in the room in the summer months and turning it back on was likely overlooked by our cleaning staff. My apologies. As for the bathroom, you must have been in the Pacific Rim Suite as all the other units have heaters in the bathroom. If asked we would have been happy to provide a small space heater and the issue would have been easily solved. 2) " I had expected a view of the harbor..." . The description for this room says "Southern exposure with views of the Pacific Ocean and Olympic Peninsula." It also looks over the Strait of Juan De Fuca. Harbor or bay views can be seen from just about all other units unless it was foggy in which case it there is little I can do. The vast majority of comments about our views are exceedingly positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had the large Yurt on top of the hill with a porch around it and beautiful views of the bay. The Yurt even ahs a built-in bathroom and wonderful beds. Located at the main house is a Hot Tub with - agin - wonderful views.
Breakfast and Dinner in the main house. Breakfast was good. Dinner had good Quality with fish and fresh vegetables.
The Inn Keepers were busy in preparing Food or something else. Therefore not many chances to talk about the lodge or activities in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mai3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews