We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely suite- bad time to visit”
Review of Bay Wind Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Wind Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Cheticamp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2016

My husband and I decided to head to Cape Breton for our honey moon as his family lives there. Unfortunately, it was late October, so while our stay in Cheticamp was nice, nothing was open, including the restaurant attached to the suite. We ended up eating Co-op chicken and watching described video tv since we couldn't figure out the remote. The suite itself was beautiful and cozy and had a great view- but we were the only people in the whole building, which was a little creepy. I would stay there again but I would definitely make sure it was not on the off season. We also ended up in the wrong suite, but it saved us money and it was a cold rainy evening so we didn't mind at all!
Overall- very pretty and sweet place to stay, just check that you're there during tourist season!

Room Tip: waterside views in some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2016

We enjoyed being on the water although it was a bit pricey. We were charged $214 although their website shows less expensive rates. The bed was only full size and not the most comfortable. It was raining and we had a leak in our bathroom ceiling. Called front desk. All that was done was put the trashcan under the leak and no discount was even offered on the room.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lainey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Arrived at 3:30 pm, all locked up, phone number on door. Fortunately someone saw us at the door. It was made clear to us that it was the end of the season, effectively closed, no restaurant, no-one on the premises except us. We were given the keys, explained where to find the room. Climbed the steep exterior stairs to the room. A wonderful view bout found that the room had not been touched since the previous occupants. Managed to catch the helpful lady and then the management arrived and told us to return in one hour.
Getting ready for bed we found that the bed linen had not been changed. The bed linen was crumpled and it either had not been taken off or the launder sheets were extremely badly cleaned. We slept on top of the bed. Fortunately the towels appeared to be clean and fresh.
A very uncomfortable night. Couldn't wait to leave.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We request the Bayview Suite..upstairs with a view of Cheticamp Island. The decor is simple and plain but very clean. The decor is a bit dated but it is close to the Trail and a nice restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed in the lighthouse suite with accessibility to the boardwalk. We were very happy with the two room suite. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Our bathroom shower was dripping however it really wasn't too big of an issue. We ate in the restaurant upstairs for supper and it was excellent with amazing views. Bay wind suites is an excellent location in Cheticamp and very close to the national park. We were very happy with out stay and would recommend bay wind suites.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Brent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheticamp hotels
4.5 km away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
214 reviews
0.7 km away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
223 reviews
1.3 km away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Pilot Whale Chalets
Pilot Whale Chalets
#1 of 9 in Cheticamp
92 reviews
2.5 km away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
151 reviews
1.8 km away
Soleil Chalets
Soleil Chalets
#3 of 9 in Cheticamp
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Wind Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Wind Suites

Address: 15299 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cheticamp
Price Range: RM672 - RM764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Wind Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bay Wind Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing