We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
82
29
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
29
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblueberry pancakeswater viewwalking distancered shoeoverlooking the rivereggsprivate deckthe ownercape bretonking suiteoverhead fancabot traildining roomacross the bridgethe main housebreakfast was deliciousnova scotia
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

located off the main road , well hidden property , sitting area overlooking the Mabou river.
Comfortable rooms and sitting area, adequate parking, close to the Red Shoe pub.
Breakfast is a above average hot meal. Wi-Fi best reception in the sitting area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tombrady127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The inn is in a great location just on the outskirts of Mabou and with walking distance of the famous Red Shoe pub. Our queen room was spacious enough and the bathroom was nice too. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The highlight was the breakfast which offered a good variety of hot items and the blueberry pancakes were amazing. The only downsides were that the bed was too hard for our liking as we both suffer from arthritis and the rather ancient air conditioning unit on the wall was incredibly noisy. Also, there is some road noise as the building is fairly close to the highway. Despite all that, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent 11 days traveling around Nova Scotia. This inn was definitely a highlight. River views, clean spacious rooms, and very friendly helpful staff. Steve the owner is from Connecticut but chose to move here with his family. Convenient to tiny Mabou. Breakfast was really great. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank vonhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

At first, after being in fine Inns in Lunenburg and Digby, this slightly rough Inn was not impressive. The Inn’s walkway to rooms was scuffed, heating unit in hallway old, had to duck under plum trees to reach the porch, and trees partially blocked the water view. However, as we stayed in the area I came to feel this is Mabou and this portion of the Ceilidh Trail and Cape Breton. This is what I came for, local charm and natural beauty. Breakfast was good, with breakfast room overlooking the river. Inn is set off the road enough to be quiet. We stayed in room #5 located on the ground floor. The room was large, well appointed, with private deck overlooking the river. There are several great things about location: walking distance to Red Shoe Pub and music hall (great fun), short drive to Sunday Mabou farmers’ market (inside community center), on the Ceilidh Trial, near the Cabot Trial, and two nice drives to the coast (west side to beach and right side of river to two nice harbors (one on Coal Mine Road). Thus many pluses for the maybe not perfect, however tranquil and great located Inn. Note: we ate at Mull Café. It was good however the menu at Red Shoe Pub looked better and gives you good chance for seating to listen to some fine music.

Room Tip: #5 ground floor with patio looking river/ habor
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southernpoultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

The Duncreigan Country Inn is well positioned in Mabou, within walking distance of the Red Shoe and near to some nice walks. There's a lovely seating area overlooking the garden. Unfortunately there was no wifi in the room (though we could get it in the lounge area), no tea and coffee making facilities and no fridge (ice availableon the ground floor). Breakfast was a buffet which was all laid out in the dining room but no one to ask if we needed anything or if everything was ok or even a 'good morning'. The food was fine but all very impersonal, though the view from the dining room was beautiful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank YorkielassEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews