We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duncreigan Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Mabou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Only stayed the one night but it was just lovely - welcomed and shown to our room which had a lovely little outside space overlooking the river and the church on the other side.
It's in a lovely location and you really feel you're in the country, although it's walking distance to the Red Shoe Pub which is a must if visiting Mabou.
As we'd had quite a long drive we decided to sit on the porch just outside the main house in the sunshine with a glass of wine - it was just idyllic - the peace and quiet ahhhh!
The breakfast was served in a glass fronted dining room taking advantage of the lovely views. Breakfast was amazing - the best blueberry pancakes - can still taste them now - Steve does a great job in the kitchen. Enjoyed a fun breakfast interacting with other guests.
Wouldn't hesitate to book this place.

Room Tip: Room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Our room was huge with a bedroom with king bed and a sitting room. Spectacular view of the little church, walking distance to the famous "Red Shoe", and outstanding breakfast. Wish we had been able to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Room was comfortable, clean and close to the small town of Mabou. Our hosts were very accommodating and knowledgeable about places to eat and see. Breakfast was extremely filling and a good way to start the day. Highly recommend considering the Duncreigan Country Inn if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank zooyLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

located off the main road , well hidden property , sitting area overlooking the Mabou river.
Comfortable rooms and sitting area, adequate parking, close to the Red Shoe pub.
Breakfast is a above average hot meal. Wi-Fi best reception in the sitting area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tombrady127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The inn is in a great location just on the outskirts of Mabou and with walking distance of the famous Red Shoe pub. Our queen room was spacious enough and the bathroom was nice too. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The highlight was the breakfast which offered a good variety of hot items and the blueberry pancakes were amazing. The only downsides were that the bed was too hard for our liking as we both suffer from arthritis and the rather ancient air conditioning unit on the wall was incredibly noisy. Also, there is some road noise as the building is fairly close to the highway. Despite all that, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabou
49.1 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
677 reviews
10.9 km away
Glenora Inn & Distillery
49.9 km away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.8 km away
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
#1 of 1 in Cap Le Moine
82 reviews
11.9 km away
The Fiddle and the Sea, B&B
51.9 km away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duncreigan Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duncreigan Country Inn

Address: Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Price Range: RM 309 - RM 541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Duncreigan Country Hotel Cape Breton Island
Country Inn Cape Breton Island
Cape Breton Island Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing