We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing

Love this place. So quiet and relaxing with beautiful view. Must try massage. Their hot bath and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
415agnesp
,
Halifax, Canada
via mobile
Amazing experience

I love going to Sensea! It is only about an hour outside of HRM and worth the drive. Easily can... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
G2447BYtiffanyb
via mobile
Read all 229 reviews
  
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
207
14
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
207
14
5
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxing experience salt scrub steam room amazing experience hot tub day pass great spa relaxation massage relaxing afternoon mother daughter flip flops location is beautiful three friends essential oils daily life best friend wonderful staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

I love the steam rooms followed by the salt rub! My skin felt so soft after. The saunas are amazing, if you get a chance make sure to attend an Aufgus. I came home feeling rejuvenated and slept like a baby that night. Will return soon!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank saraceebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENSEA N, Receptionist at Sensea Nordic Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2021

Thanks for your find review! We're so glad you enjoyed the steam rooms and salt scrubs, those are one of our most popular things to do here. And of course you can't miss the Aufguss! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021

My girlfriends and I were so excited to go to the Sensea Nordic Spa, however our experience was absolutely terrible. None of us had ever been there before, but google reviews looked great (we know now that this is because the owner deletes all negative comments and/or gaslights the situation and replies to reviews saying they ‘can’t find this person in the system/so did they even come to their spa?’). Anyway, after taking 20 minutes to check in, the receptionist did not tell us how to navigate the spa services. Did not tell us where to go, or what services were included in a spa pass. When we got into the locker room, it was extremely overcrowded (no COVID signs/regulations/maximum capacity signs posted). My sister could not find her locker because they had given her a men’s locker room number. Upon entering the first spa building, one of the employees scolded us, saying that they had a ‘whisper only’ policy so clients could enjoy a nice relaxing, peaceful stay. So we replied “ok, not a problem. No one told us about this policy upon check in or in any of the confirmation/appointment emails”. Later, we were walking back up the road (completely silent), when the same employee approached us again saying that “someone” had complained about the noise level because we were apparently speaking too loudly down at the cold pools. We were not speaking any louder than anyone else, and in fact found several groups that afternoon speaking quite loudly, but they were not spoken to that we knew of. The last straw came when the employee “tattled on us” to the owner. The owner made it a point to find us and antagonize us about having to be talked to twice about not whispering. One of us in our group told her that we were very upset about being targeted for no reason - we are all professional, reasonable people and were very careful about complying with their noise level policies. We expressed to the owner that we were unable to have a peaceful, relaxing stay because the staff did nothing but try and make us feel unwelcome. The owner said and did absolutely nothing to apologize. We believe we were unfairly targeted either because 1) we were the youngest group at the spa or 2) because we had a person of colour/visible minority in our group (all other clients at the spa were white/Caucasian). Either reason is absolutely unacceptable. We also saw one staff member speak loudly (not quite yelling) across the road to another employee - like, how is that ok?

In terms of COVID protocols, none of us were required to sign a waiver or answer any COVID questions. None of the pools or buildings had any signs posted regarding maximum capacity, except the 2 essential oils sauna rooms.

Also, this facility is not at all equipped for people with mobility issues. Walkways and paths are all loose gravel and have steep hills.

If you purchase a drink, you are obligated to leave a tip, as there is not a ‘no tip’ option when you go to pay with your card. We also saw a staff member come down to one of the pools and totally embarrass another client, telling her they have a one drink per person per hour policy.

Please do not choose this spa unless you plan on being completely silent the entire time. We will definitely never go back again. Do not waste your money. The facilities they have are very nice, but really a spa pass only gets you access to a few pools, a sauna, and some scrubbing salts.

Date of experience: August 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank may012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENSEA N, Front Office Manager at Sensea Nordic Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Melinda, we understand your frustration of being told several times to be quieter, but you seemed to have hard times to understand with your group and it ruined the experience of other guests (to whom we had to apologize) coming to relax - which is the purpose of SENSEA. You can try to make up supposedly other issues at SENSEA in your review, but you have to face the truth Melinda: you have challenges to behave and respect simple policies. Our spa is definitely not for you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021 via mobile

This was my second visit to Sensea and I know it will not be my last. The entire experience from start to finish was incredible. I cannot say enough about how relaxing the entire day was. There were a lot of activities to choose from and when the day is over it is hard to leave. A wonderful day away from normal day pace and you leave rejuvenated. Staff are friendly and the entire spa is clean and organized. The hammams were our favorite. Leaves your skin feeling brand new. Didn't feel crowded, although they were fully booked. I feel like Sensea has the perfect number of guests per day to allow for all visitors to be comfortable and have time to try everything they have to offer. Great getaway and must try for all.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank W6559UXsarahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENSEA N, Front Office Manager at Sensea Nordic Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Hello and thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us. With the new expansions it creates a nice flow to the facility so guests can move more freely with more space! The hammams are one of our favorites as well! The salt scrubs leave your skin feeling so fresh and the wet steam rooms put you in a state of bliss! We hope you can book with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021

I have been visiting Sensea Spa since it first opened and I am continually amazed by the how they are growing and improving this oasis of relaxation.

The owners and all the staff are attentive to your experience.

Having visited other spas in NB and Quebec I can say Sensea is a first class experience. Set next to a lake in a forest the entire environment is relaxing. We should be grateful and proud to have such a high quality Nordic Spa here in NS.

The sauna ritual is a must, and the out door yoga and all the relaxation spaces they have created deepen the experience. Two steam rooms with a salt scrub and several hat and cold pools round out this experience.

Thank you Sensea!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank colintI843XL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENSEA N, Front Office Manager at Sensea Nordic Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Hi! Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the spa and love the beautiful scenery around us! The Hammams are a must when guests visit the spa, they leave you feeling so relaxed and fresh! We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

Even if I try really hard, I can't find anything negative to say about Sensea. The location is beautiful, serene and perfect for the spa. The spa itself has all the right ingredients to trigger those feelings of zen and release of stress, from the layout, the various scents of heated wood from the saunas, the  forest scents and the occadional wafting of essential oils here and there, the soft spa music playing, the trickling of water and all the visual beauty. More importantly the staff were wonderful, friendly, helpful and professional. Last but not least, I've been to other thermal spas and with the gaining in popularity, they always ended up allowing far too many people in which ruined the entire experience with overcrowding. Sensea seems to have a good grip on how many people to take in in a day and avoiding the overcrowding temptation of more clients. Overall, an amazing experience!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank j22tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENSEA N, Front Office Manager at Sensea Nordic Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Hi! We really appreciate this wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you loved the aroma therapy as much as we do and our staff really appreciate the positive feedback. We hope you can come back and enjoy the spa again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews