We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
momg557
Antigonish, Canada

Lovely older home

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Oct 2016
Lovely Victorian home with lots of antiques and collectibles to discover. Beautiful big front veranda. Great breakfast. Very reasonably priced and very accommodating owner. We would definitely stay there again.
Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 568
RM 544
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.5 km from Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 715
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 715
6.6 km from Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 411
9.5 km from Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 744
  • Priceline
10.4 km from Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 bedroom suite with water view
RM 490
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.2 km from Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 631
  • Agoda.com
14.9 km from Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
69.0 km from Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
9.0 km from Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
38.4 km from Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
69.8 km from Wickwire House Bed And Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kentville
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
16
10
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
10
6
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

It's a tight turn into the driveway and there is a candy coloured carriage house and a majestic Victorian home. Bright and cheery flowers adorn the veranda and what an outstanding door. Yes I am an architecture buff- and this home did not let me down.
The hosts are helpful and steared be to some local hidden treasures. The farmers market is full of tasty treats.
After a great sleep in a comfy queen bed surrounded by victorian atifacts we were spoiled with a large english fayre enough to last a good portion of the day.
Kentville is located 1 hour from Halifax/ Mahone Bay/ and Annapolis Royal- perfect positioning
Apple blossom festival is a true country treat- "you all come back now ya hear" and we will

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twincora2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This is the 3rd time we have traveled this way Just love Nova Scotia- the friendly people and welcoming atmosphere- nothing is ever too much trouble.
The Wickwire House is just like stepping into so many of the British and European B and B's. As expected of Victorian Houses- dark Mahogany- lushes wood- and memorabilia indicative of the travels the Victorians did. A good job at portrayal of the period.
The hosts are charming and the caretaker a bit bumptious but so thoughtful.
The breakfast was sumptuous and gigantic- no room for seconds.
We got to sit in the gazebo and watch the world go by.
We were close to vineyards and the Grand Pre UNESCO site., and found Amethysts at the beach on Cape Split
A fabulous nights sleep on a king bed- with the victorian room so charming, just like it should be- not sterile white and minimalistic- but full of interesting eye catchers
Having spent so much time in the UK, this felt like home

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Where to start, found the B & B on the internet and reserved for 3 nights. Arrived to find the owners were traveling on business and the care taker was the only person there. The house has many old / antique items and furniture - almost to many to easy move around. The room was large, tidy but not as clean as I would have liked.

The real problem was the care taker, he talked non stop about him self and his past experiences in the army and with his rescue dog. He was over friendly and the description of his dog did not leave us feeling comfortable as he indicated it did not like men and he would lock it up if he left the grounds. We left to see the area in town and when we returned, once again we could not get away from the care taker. This time he talked about he return from the army and the 'adjustment' problems he had. Scared us and we left - did not stay but had to pay for the night.

Have stayed at many B & B but this one, we will never return to.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank blambert017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2016

A great old house with high ceilings, comfortable beds and all the amenities. Friendly hosts to answer your questions and a full breakfast so you won't leave hungry.
Large property with ample parking. Large veranda to relax on. Easy access to highway and local attractions, restaurants, etc.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank you-r-here59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Arrived on a cold blustery night to lights twinkling on the front lawn and a welcoming porch.
The hosts were welcoming and warm and willing to share stories and information on the local area.
The rooms were massive and very Victorian, and there was coffee/ tea/hot chocolate/ and apple cider in the room for our enjoyment.
Great sleep on the king bed.
There was no rush at breakfast- a full English fare served hot ,right from the stove.
A great midway spot from Yarmouth to Halifax.
Close to wineries, the Bay of Fundy and cape Split

Room tip: There are king and queen beds- the rooms are quiet as the small country town sleeps at night
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greaserocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews