We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Basic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I'd never stayed in a Comfort Inn before, nor did I belong to their Reward Program, but this was a good location for me, with easy access to my client and to places to eat or shop when the work was done. I was traveling light so I didn't mind toting my own luggage to the second floor. For a few additional dollars, there were downstairs rooms available but I prefer the enforced exercise of the stairs.

The bed was comfortable. The amenities were basic but they were there, and there was a fridge in my room for my water. The drapes were heavy enough to shut out light and my room was quiet.

Breakfast was provided each morning, so I had eggs, bacon or sausage and an English muffin with a cup of tea. The there were facilities for making waffles, which might have been tastier but slower and more calories. Staff took our dishes, provided soft butter and generally kept an eye on things. I would not rate this a great breakfast but it filled the bill.

Room Tip: An extra fee for a ground floor room. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kaye007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Inn N, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Kaye007,

Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn New Glasgow for your first stay with Choice Hotels’ Comfort brand! We are happy to learn that it was a good experience and our hotel proved to be a convenient location for your business needs, as well as for your free time at the end of the workday. As you mentioned, we are happy to offer Choice Privileges rewards to all of our guests, and it is a great way to earn points towards free nights with Choice Hotels, or toward gift certificates from numerous participating partners. We hope you made the choice to sign up while you were here!

Thank you for providing a thorough review on Trip Advisor. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again on your next visit to New Glasgow!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Stayed here with my group of 52, enjoyable stay. Good location, can walk to restaurants and shopping mall. Free breakfast was well stocked and adequate. Rooms were clean and nice size. This is a two storey with no elevator so seniors on second floor,can be an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Inn N, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear rick w,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our services and convenient location, and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to let us others know. We hope to have the opportunity welcome you again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night in this hotel.
When entering the room I noticed a strong odour. Reported the smell to front desk.
Night staff person came into the room and offered to spray some deodorant in the room to mask the smell. I declined. Night staff person reduced my hotel rate as compensation.
Upon entering the bathroom, I noticed body hair on the floor, towel and bathtub.

The cleanliness of this hotel is suspect based on my experience. I would advise travellers to look elsewhere for accommodation in the city of New Glasgow.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Inn N, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, as this provides us the opportunity to evaluate our level of service and address any issues that are brought to our attention.

Reading your review is a disappointment to our team and we hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations (as well as our own). We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may provide you with a more enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

This is a nice property but it is showing its age. The room we stayed in had two double beds, I'd guess but they seemed smaller than a double. A queen size bed would have been too long for this room. There was one desk and one chair and I could have used one more chair. The bathroom was ample and the room was clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were most pleasant, especially the woman in the breakfast room. She was very patient and helpful, especially to some of the older folks that needed help. There is no elevator so if you have mobility issue ask for a room on the ground floor. Across the street is a large shopping mall (Walmart, Canadian Tire, Winners, etc). Right next to the motel is a Tim Hortons and a Wendy's. The motel is close to the off ramp of highway 104.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank woodmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Inn N, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear woodmister,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide a review of your experience. We appreciate having your feedback and suggestions about our property and services. We will share your comments with our staff as well, and your kind words are sure to inspire pride and continued incentive to provide excellent service.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the New Glasgow, Nova Scotia Comfort Inn. The front desk was very accommodating in switching our room to the main floor. Breakfast was awesome and we were able to meet some fellow travellers. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TerenceF677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Inn N, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear TerenceF677,

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn New Glasgow, and for providing a review. We hope the rest of your trip was wonderful and hope to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glasgow
0.1 km away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
2 km away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
12.3 km away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
107 reviews
2.4 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - New Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - New Glasgow

Address: 740 Westville Rd, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 2J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > New Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Price Range: RM 411 - RM 642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - New Glasgow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn New Glasgow is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking-all with the same great award-winning hospitality. Comfort Inn New Glasgow is a recipient of Choice Hotel's 2014 Gold Award. Centrally located within Pictou County, it is an ideal location for both business and leisure travellers visiting New Glasgow, Stellarton, Westville, Trenton or Pictou. The Northumberland Ferry to P.E.I. Is just a short drive away. Newly renovated rooms feature flat screen TVs and mini-fridges. Hotel features include free hot breakfast, morning newspaper and free high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn - New Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow Hotel New Glasgow
New Glasgow Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing