We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings
Nearby Hotels
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Cove Motel(Port Hastings)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coastal Inn Antigonish(Antigonish)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hebridean Motel(Port Hood)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Motel and Campground(Antigonish)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fair Isle Motel(Whycocomagh)
US$84
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
0
1
9
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
1
9
11
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We booked the 'suite', which is the room that is shown in the photos. This room is newer then the others, and is attached to the indoor pool. That doesn't mean that its in better shape, but I will get to that in a moment.

We arrived that the motel to see the office was closed and we were redirected to across the highway to checkin. In doing so, we were told that only ice machine and restaurant was at this hotel, and the pool and laundry were at our hotel. So one is to cross the highway to use facilities... That's safe and convenient- NOT!.

After a 15 min checkin process that included the lady finding our reservation for the other hotel, and correctingwhich room she was going to give us, we drove back across and found our 'suite'. Although the room's features are nice to see, the cleanliness of the room and area was awful. Coffee stains on the furniture, floor and furniture was dusty, like no one had stayed in this room for months. The door sill was rotten and loose, there was light fixtures that did not work, the interior doors did not fit the frames, so they were always having to be left open. The wood trim bathroom were rotted. The 'heated' bathroom tiles do not work and an old floor heater had been added to accommodate. the decor of this room was nice, and having a nice bath was relaxing, but that was it. It may sound like i liked to complain, but if this is what the 'suite' was like, I can only imagine what the regular rooms were like that were older than this.

Oh, and the pool was not heated. We understand from other reviews that it has been broken and hasn't been fixed for quite some time.

Internet is VERY slow.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heatherdawnstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Heatherdawnstewart,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay. I do understand that it can be challenging having to cross the highway to access some of the hotel amenities. I have addressed all of your concerns with our maintenance and housekeeping teams and want to assure these items have been corrected.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Definitely not worth the $168 that we paid for this room. Outside veranda was scruffy, although the room itself was clean and tidy. Quite a lot of road noise from the highway and we had a disturbed night due to noisy neighbours going into the room at 1.30am!. Check in was a bit confusing as it was on the opposite side of the highway in the Hearthstone Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm17450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Malcolm17450,
We are sorry to hear you did not have a restful night. We do appreciate your feedback and are currently working on our veranda to make it more cosmetically appealing for our guests. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The hotel looks deserted at first sight. There was a sign on the office door asking guests to check in at the Hearthstone Inn across the street. The room is filthy with mouse at the door step, coffee-maker has unknown brown grits in it, very dirty towels with soiled spots visible, hair everywhere... This booking seriously jeopardized our trust with hotels listed on Hotwire.com. Doesn't Hotwire screen the hotels listed on their website? The name is such a joke. It is definitely the worst place we ever stayed including motels. The listing of this hotel on Hotwire states free breakfast. When inquired about this at check-in and the restaurant in Hearthstone Inn, we were greeted with very nasty attitudes.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Dear Grumpy088,
I would like to apologize for the incorrect information provided to you by Hotwire. I have asked our marketing manager to touch base with them and ensure they are not promoting free breakfast. With respect to your cleanliness concerns, please rest assured that I have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping supervisor to ensure we do not offer this type of experience to another guest.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Where to start? When we arrived the office was closed (it is now used for storage) and a sign instructed us to check in at the motel across the street. While checking in we were told "the phones don't work - but you have cell phones right?". We were then told that the pool is open and clean but the heater is broken....so no swimming obvs. The room was grubby, the TV converter didn't work, the wifi was a slow as dial-up and the bed was uncomfortable. I would like to say something positive but cannot think of one thing.

Room Tip: There is no good room
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Cathi M,
Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. We are currently in the process of renovating the office at Canada's Best Value as well as our guestrooms. We expect to have all of the renovations completed by the first week of August. We are also in the process of installing a new phone system throughout the entire property in conjunction with the renovation. Once again, I do apologize and I hope you will give us another opportunity to change your opinion of the property in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with our basketball team on Feb 26th 2016...the room is completely unexceptable....it was dirty very out dated just overall disgusting. ..paint peeling off walls...bed was broken....floors were dirty ...rusty bathroom....not much for bedding....when my husband and I got into bed it lifted and the front fell on the floor where are heads were suppose to be....we then went to the office to put in our complaint ....and was.offered a.different room but had seen the others and they went much better....we were offered a 15 dollar discount....which was an insult as far as I am concerned. ..I even took pictures to show the front desk how bad the room was....no one was willing to come have a look...finally ended up getting 25 dollars Off the room wich was highly overpriced to begin with 115 + tax this was at very best a 65 dollor room ..we won't be staying again and would advise anyone else the same!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry S, General Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn - Port Hawkesbury/Port Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Charlotte M,
I am terribly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We are currently in the process of renovating all of our guestrooms and I hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future and experience our new product. We appreciate your feedback and value your business.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews