We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Massena)
US$65
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
116
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesattention to detailomeletteb and bupper canada villageout of this worldsecond to nonesmall towncoffee and teawonderful hostsover the topnext morninga great stayplace to staylook no furtherfruit cupquebec city
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

For 3 nights near the commencement of a month long trip to eastern Canada we were scheduled to stay at Russell Manor in Morrisbug; east of Kingston at the east end of Lake Ontario. This turned out to be one of the best choices of our entire trip.Inside and out this Grand old home exudes character and class both characteristics as well reflected in the hosts Michael and Ron.The spacious room/suites are elegantly furnished and decorated; and very well appointed with lovely modern bathrooms.The in room coffee service is terrific.The hosts are cordial and very helpful with advice when asked,
Ron,s generous breakfasts are of the highest gourmet standard; yet very healthy.
His scones are the best we have ever tasted ( we are very well traveled and used to own and operate a Country Inn).We tried unsuccessfully to get the recipe.
When faced with a family crisis necessitating an early an unscheduled early departure the hosts were very accommodating forgiving our last days stay.
In return at the end of our trip a month later we decided to stay again at Russell Manor and went out of our way to do so.
Our recommendation to stay at this lovely well run establishment is unreserved but note that the town has some limitations in location;available activities and culinary options.All require some travel.but this inconvenience is more than offset by the quality of the stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford the 2 best suites take them Riverview is best.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Our suite was gorgeous ... clean, comfortable, relaxing and rich with history all around. Our hosts, Ron and Michael, were very knowledgeable about the area and they exuded enthusiasm. Food was excellent and beatifully served. Great value.

Room Tip: All the suites/rooms we saw were excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peterlindaNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

This place is just extraordinary, clearly a labour of love for Ron and Michael. It's like the set of the best BBC period drama, with a thousand tiny details, all in Victorian style.
They're super friendly hosts and we sat by their fire chatting about all sorts. You don't get that in a hotel!
And the breakfast.... Beautifully served at a sumptuous dining table on fine bone china crockery, we felt truly pampered. The fruit cocktail wasn't just any old fruit cocktail - it was presented in a sundae glass and flavoured with the perfect amount of fresh mint. I then had LITERALLY the most amazing omelette I've ever eaten in my 63 years. I wouldn't normally rave about an omelette, but this was wonderful. It looked gorgeous, and inside was a creamy vegetable filling. I asked Ron if he was a trained chef. "No, just a keen amateur". Many chefs could learn a thing or two from him.
"Why isn't this place Number 1 B&B in Canada?" I asked.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tnckshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

This house is over the top elaborately decorated. Sitting at a big table for breakfast, I couldn't help but think this is how the 2% live! Ron and Michael have done a phenomenal job turning what use to be a institution for women into a ornate home. Michael's egg and corn omelette was unique and delicious. We booked the Russell Manor because of the Upper Canada Village nearby and we weren't disappointed.

Room Tip: Third floor suite is a hike if you aren't in shape!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Loved this B&B in boring Morrisburg. Our personable hosts were so helpful and the house was immaculate. A lovely breakfast (fruit cup, frittata and excellent scones) was provided. I personally would not want to dust all those items which had been collected but they were fun to admire. The garden was awfully pretty with several seating areas. Our only minor complaint was that we did find the twin beds a bit on the soft side.

Room Tip: The garden room had direct access to the outside so it wasn't necessary to go through the house.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews