We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful getaway spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Carling B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We arrived at Bill and Linda's place Sunday afternoon after a leisurely drive from Peterborough and were delighted with our accommodations. We stayed in the Moyes Suite, which was just perfect with a comfortable bed, large ensuite bathroom, and a wonderful small "outdoor" sitting area. We loved it and it was a great place to celebrate our 25th anniversary (today!). Bill was on his own on Monday morning as Linda had an appointment out of town and this morning Linda served up a delicious goats cheese/pesto/scrambled egg on focaccia bread breakfast. Thank you Bill and Linda (and Ross & Shirley our neighbours for recommending).

Room Tip: Moyes suite was wonderful, especially the small off room sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank worldtravellr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2015

I stayed here this past week with my family from the Netherlands. I used to rent a cottage and had a business in the area for years. I have known Linda for at least 10 years, and Its the first time that I stayed at her B and B. It was just as wonderful as she is, great decor, at home feeling breakfast is delicious, good location to public beach less than a 3 minute walk. Its in town so there is access to restaurants and shops. Thanks again Linda and Bill for a wonderful stay...see you in two weeks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and all are great tough to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Linda And Bill McAuley are the most accommodating hosts I have ever had the pleasure in dealing with. With the very first conversation they are willing to do anything possible to make your stay with them the best vacation ever. The food is absolutely incredible, and if there were an allergy or dislike, they were willing and able to accommodate your every need. The history behind the home is quite a story. I m glad that Bill and Linda were so friendly, they make everyone feel like they are part of their home.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

The place is well located close to the public beach; the room nice, typically overdone 'historic' Ontario. Good bed. But I need some choice and something more than sugar for breakfast! I might like my yogurt plain; I do like my coffee good; and something with healthy protein for my main dish. I might also like some quiet at breakfast but I know that this is sometimes asking too much in BandB's.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Linda and Bill McCauley are more than hosts, more than bed and breakfast owners, they are friends to everyone who sets foot inside their door. Thank you Bill and Linda for being incredible hosts and make everyone feel not just comfortable but as if we were at home.
Thank you

Room Tip: Bed and breakfast with comfortable cleane queen size beds. Must be able to do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
5.5 km away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
336 reviews
7.7 km away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
7.7 km away
Clevelands House
Clevelands House
#2 of 2 in Minett
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Crestwood Inn
Crestwood Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Carling
36 reviews
3.3 km away
No photo provided
Duff's Cottages
#2 of 2 in Port Carling
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12 Bailey Street, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Carling
Price Range: RM409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manse was built in 1912 as a home for the Methodist ministers of Port Carling. Today, it provides tranquil bed and breakfast accommodation. Carefully rendered mahogany and maple woodwork, the fireplace, period collectibles and vintage books are some of the details that maintain the residence’s heritage charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing