We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Shamrock Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shamrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed at Shamrock Lodge from June 21-23, 2011 with a group of 10 from the Midland/Penetanguishene area. What an excellent stay it was!
The food was great. We arrived about 3:30 pm on the 21st and had dinner shortly after 6 pm.
The dinner was pork tenderloin, which was the most tender pork I have ever had. Vegetables were included and the bun served before the meal was steaming hot and delicious.
The next night, we had a buffet-style meal, which included barbecued chicken drumsticks, which were really tasty. The chef even told me what spice he used when I asked.
Also, the potato salad was quite good. Not mushy or too creamy, but nice, small potatoes cut in half and with a light dressing.
To top it off, the student waitress friendly and seemed to really enjoy her job there.
The room I had was in a building that looked like a motel in a way. The room was very clean and quite well laid out, with a veranda, accessible through a sliding, glass door.
Also, the hosts (Tim, especially) were very friendly and accommodating.
Went on about a 30-40 minute boat cruise through the lake there and saw all the really nice cottages. Really, some of them were like mansions!
This was a great trip and I highly recommend Shamrock Lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GordonSaulnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

It was great having your group up here in June and I appreciate your comments about the Shamrock Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed the food here as we consider it a very important part of your vacation - and we are very proud of it. We hope to see you next year and thanks again for your kind words. The Bryant family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 272 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

I was lucky enough to be able to stay at the Shamrock Lodge this summer, and would advise anyone to give it a try. The Bryant family that own the lodge are amazing hosts, quite accommodating and extremely friendly. Everything about our stay was fantastic. The view of the lake is beautiful. The rooms and cabins are very clean and welcoming. The meals were all delicious, and the serving staff were exceptional. Despite the cloudy weather, the many amenities kept us quite entertained (ie: indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, horseshoes, shuffleboard, bonfire, various boats available for use, the option of a boat tour around the lake, pool table and ping pong, not to mention that it is right next to a beautiful golf course ... everything that you could possibly want!). Our group of 10 all had only great things to say about our stay, and I can assure you that I will continue to return as often as possible. Thanks to the Bryant family, and all of the wonderful staff for a truly memorable stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChadWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Thanks very much for your excellent comments. We are glad you found us and we look forward to hosting your group again in the future. It is always nice to know how people feel about their stay with us. Muskoka just got voted by the National Geographic as the #1 summer vacation spot. And we are smack in the middle of it. We love what we do and we try very hard to exceed your expectations..Once again thank you very much for your kind review.. The Bryant Family!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We love the informal atmosphere coupled with the great food. the Bryant family make you feel right at home. The trip by boat around the lake is always a highlight. We book each year for our girls' getaway in May and have not been disappointed for the last six years. If you like the old Muskoka cottage atmosphere but with comfortable, up-to-date accommodations then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denisen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

A big Thanks to you all. We love all our repeat Guests who come back year after year. It tells us as owners that we are doing something right. The nice thing about it too is that you come as a guest and leave as a friend. Thanks you my friends. Cheer's, Timmy B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

It was the "Girls Weekend" 6th year staying at the Shamrock. We had an amazing time. It met our expectations in every way. This family run business has everything .... great food, accommodation and as always very attentive staff. We feel just like one of the family. A 5 out of 5 in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShamrockGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I have been coming to this resort for years. It is a family run lodge in the style of days past. It is a few miles in off the main road and the tranquility is wonderful. No blowing horns . . . just song birds in the morning and loons at night. Lots of activities or just putting your feet up to read a book. The home cooking is great but the owners, staff and service are what keeps us coming back every year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oreally7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
4.4 km away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
29.8 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
3.6 km away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 km away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
261 reviews
6.4 km away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
16.6 km away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#28 of 56 in Muskoka District
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range: RM516 - RM715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing