We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
6
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Before celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with family and friends, my wife and I slipped away for a few special days together to mark the occasion. We could not have chosen a more magical setting than Sprucehall. Everything about this magnificent Victorian home is stunning, from the elegantly decorated and furnished rooms, to the picturesque grounds with towering century-old spruces. John and Norma, the perfect hosts, warmly welcomed us into their home.

Our bedroom, the Chantry, was invitingly comfortable. Like the rest of the house, everything was spotlessly clean and well appointed. There was a cosy place to sit and enjoy a book, and the en-suite was immaculate.

Our breakfasts were excellent and were enjoyed in an elegant dining room. On the other side of the house is an imposing living room, similarly restored to Victorian splendour. There, one can slip back in time through more than a century.

On returning to the house after our anniversary dinner, a small get-together was in progress on the front veranda. Norma and John invited us to join them and their friends, along with the other guest who had already done so. The enjoyable evening we all spent together was a perfect ending to our special celebration.

When we left our wonderful hosts next day we departed like old friends.

Give yourselves a treat and book into Sprucehall. Your only regret will be that you did not do it sooner.

Room Tip: The delightful Chantry room has a nice view of the beautiful grounds
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We have stayed at Sprucehall on two occasions during visits to Ontario, Canada. Sprucehall is a delightful Century Home, set in amongst tall spruce trees within an acre of beautiful gardens. Tastefully decorated the house has a comfy, homely feel and is immaculately clean. We stayed in the double Canopy room, which had the use of a huge bath/shower room down the hall. Spotlessly clean, with soft fluffy white bath robes. Chocolates and mints in every room, with a bar fridge in the hallway selling snacks, beer and wine, very reasonably priced. Outside there is a lovely old veranda with plenty of traditional seating, ideal for whiling away the time.

The most delicious breakfasts are served around one large table in the dining room, with soft classical music playing in the background.

John and Norma are the best hosts ever. John is more the front man - he will serve breakfasts and is a mine of information. Norma tends to stay more in the background and produces the most amazing food. They are truly a genuinely helpful, welcoming couple.

The house is situated just back from the road, close to the beach and within easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. John and Norma also provide bikes for you to use. Ideal for cycling along the shores of Georgian Bay.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spalds46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We love Sprucehall and stay there every chance we get. The home is gorgeous and beautifully decorated. Norma and John are superb hosts and simply do everything well! Norma's breakfasts are 5 star every time.

We have stayed at many B & Bs here and abroad and Sprucehall tops them all.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pastimeso8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Sprucehall is a lovely historic B & B conveniently located on the main street a short distance from downtown, with a luxurious, gracious feel about it. The soft classical music playing in the background on the main floor is a special touch.

Our room had both fans & air conditioning. There are numerous little extras, such as thick bathrobes, individually wrapped chocolate & mints in each room, & snacks, beer & wine sold at reasonable cost on the honour system from a bar fridge down the hall.

Norma & John are wonderful & thoughtful hosts.

My two friends & I had booked the Canopy Room (double canopy bed) & asked for an extra cot with the intention that two of us would share the double bed. Instead of a cot, Norma very generously gave us the use of an unoccupied 2nd room with twin beds at no additional cost.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious & got our day off to a terrific start.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank sandysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My wife and I spent a truly memorable two night stay at Spruce Hall; Jon and Norma made us feel completely welcome as soon as we arrived. The room we had is very well appointed with a warm cosy feel and homely atmosphere which resonates throughout the whole house. The washroom immaculate in its cleanliness, soft fluffy towels and bathrobe and the bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in!

Port Elgin is a lovely little lake coast place and Spruce Hall is easy to find and very well located in relation to the amenities of the town. The breakfast we were served kept us well fuelled till lunchtime with a lovingly prepared spread of fresh pancakes laced with local maple syrup and the biggest crunchiest apples; and my God the aroma of coffee enticed me to drink cup after cup!

If you are looking for somewhere gorgeous to stay in Port Elgin then look no further; it is also ideal for anyone wishing to visit Southampton too as we did.

Room Tip: Chantry room 1 x Double (where I stayed) Canopy room 1 x Four Poster Quilt room 2 x single or 1 x King
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vwfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews