We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
195
38
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
38
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room drake devonshire ping pong games room my husband and i glass box attention to detail overlooking the lake oysters photo booth unique experience board games lobby area high expectations can't wait to go back get away great shower
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

My husband and I just returned from a night at the Drake Dev. for my birthday. We had a great time!

Some things we liked:
-Room 203 was larger than we expected from pictures. The view was stunning and the bathroom and shower were wonderful. Bed was comfortable and lots of pillows to choose from in the room.
-Delicious, bottomless complimentary coffee in the morning which we enjoyed looking over the lake in the front Pyramid (?) Room.
-Warm, cozy and romantic atmosphere for drinks and dinner
-We also enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant and it was lovely in the day light!
-Staff were kind, quick and accommodating when we requested ice, information about local places to visit etc.
-Turn down service was a nice touch, especially the yummy (although toonie sized) chocolate chip cookies

A little disappointing:
-It would be nice if breakfast was complimentary, especially since it is rather expensive to stay. Perhaps even a cocktail credit?
-Not the fault of the Drake at all, but two places we were recommended to go to were closed for tastings. Give places a call before you go! We did not expect this on a Saturday

We hope to return in the fall for a get away!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank allysonv2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We enjoyed our short time and would return for a longer stay. The amenities onsite were well thought out and fun for a family We enjoyed a wonderful dinner onsite that was lively and child friendly. The grounds had both indoor and outdoor spaces that allowed you to enjoy the property at it's fullest. Muskoka chairs and a small waterfront area was a really nice way to unwind at night. Service was really pleasant and all areas well maintained. Visiting in the summer I will say it was very busy with lots of hustle and bustle. I would love to revisit early fall next time around to see what that time of year would be like.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieMira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

This hotel is probably one of the most overpriced we have ever stayed in, and we have both traveled extensively in over ninety countries. While it is modern (which we like) and clean, the rooms are small, (we had a balcony room with a view), providing only one comfortable chair and one desk chair. So not comfortable for us to sit together and have a cosy chat. Moreover the comfortable chair faced directly into the bathroom providing a beautiful view of the toilet while trying to relax. The room did not provide tea or coffee making facilities although the hotel will bring tea or coffee to your room at any time: not so appealing to request at 3 am when you wake up wanting a snack or a 'cuppa'. After paying $350 a night we really did expect breakfast to be included but this was not to be. Virtually everything on the breakfast room service menu was overpriced. Coffee was available in the 'lounge' on the main floor at all a times, but not tea.

The service was underwhelming: officious but not warm or welcoming. Only when we gave some honest feedback in response to their inquiry about how we enjoyed our stay (not much) did the service suddenly become concerned and supportive. We would not stay here again by choice.

Room tip: A number of rooms are on the main floor. These will be noisy. Second floor rooms are more private
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beverleyc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We recently had our family meet us at Drake on the Lake. We had a fabulous stay and amazing meals. Everyone was thrilled and the staff went above and beyond to do everything they could to make our stay special. It was fantastic.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JenniferTN2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

This was a hotel and restaurant stop on returning to Toronto from Ottawa. It appears the major restaurant in the village, but it was disappointing on a number of counts. The car parking is limited. The check in was underwhelming, with no help offered with baggage. The decor in the room was quirky, but a little too much. The major disappointment was the restaurant , where locals seem attracted in large numbers, as well as passers through. The noise was overbearing and we were unable to find a quiet table. The setting had limited appeal and the meals were fairly ordinary, including breakfast. Service was patchy. We left feeling that our overnight stay was significantly overpriced.

3  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews