We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de la Abuela
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
18
12
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
12
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are cleantown squaregabykitchenetteplazamexico
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Checked in to a warm welcome late on a Thursday night. Long day to get there. Our room was #1 and right near the entrance. Plenty of help with our luggage. Very good room and a very good night's slumber. Sure there are chickens and dogs. After all it's Mexico you know. It was quiet in the AM but coffee was ready around 7:00 AM. Great breakfast with fresh cooked eggs if you wanted them. Downhill walk to the main street and the plaza. Very helpful hosts and a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank P598738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Tomorrow morning we will leave the Casa de la Abuela after spending five wonderful weeks on the property. We will be back for sure again next year. We love the location as it is right next to a the mountains in which there are trails to hike to the top. it is also within walking distance of the Main Plaza and several great restaurants. The owners Gaby and Beto make you feel at home and there is a nice mix of locals and foreign guests at all times. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is wonderful. There is a nice combination of fruits, juices, cereals and yogurt and Gaby will make you any time of eggs or hotcakes you desire. One of the most positive aspects at the property is the abundant plant life and two friendly dogs Junior and Lady who you can not resist playing with. I recommend the hotel most highly if you want a great Mexican experience and a comfortable hotel this is a sure bet.

Room Tip: A Jacuzzi takes a lot of room. If you will not use it choose another room.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I really enjoyed staying here. The owners are very helpful, wonderful people. The grounds and rooms are clean and well kept. And, the walk to anywhere is easy. After reading one review I thought it would be an uphill climb. That is not the case. I found everything about Casa de la Abuela to be charming. It is family owned and loved by those who care for it and the visitors who stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Heehee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Nice Place, with nicely appointed rooms, pleasant staff with an OK, but average breakfast. Fresh fruit was a nice add.

I had reached out directly to them, and after no response for many hours, I finally booked at a cheaper rate than they ultimately offered. The rooms were very nicely decorated. The noise from the street below was noticeable in the evening as well as the early morning, but when you look at the window construction, and the location in Ajijic village, you see why. Very, very steep and long wheelchair ramp, but it's there. Same in accessing the pool.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Aviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Fantastic Holiday staying here and the owners make you feel at home, I love Ajijic and the people and staff here give you the true greatness of Mexico in a very safe enviroment, Friendliness and good food, drinks and music make you want to come back again. Rooms are fantastic and internet and walking distance to town, Great Restaurants near by.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews