We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and scenic location makes this a perfect place to stay in Ajijic.”
Review of Casa de la Abuela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de la Abuela
Ranked #9 of 27 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Family owned and operated, Gaby and Beto will take good care of you during your stay. Scenic tropical location with a pool and manicured grounds, this hotel is just up the hill from the main town plaza.

Most rooms have kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzis, too. The rooms are clean and well maintained, and if you need something, just ask!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the street may be noisy with traffic in the morning, but there are no bad locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2017

The hotel is the real deal Mexico. Gaby and her staff were very nice. Loved the old world charm, nice rooms ,great view and wonderful breakfast. Very high on the hill. Our friend who uses a cane had a tough time. It would of been fine but could not get a cab coming back from dinner. They just don't want to deal with a short fare, Won't come back for that reason. US PRICES ON REAL ESTATE AND RENTALS OFFENDS ME, I am Canadian and we are in MEXICO. I only use the currency of the country I am in.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gypsywifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The hotel is on the hill. A little bit of a hike. I enjoyed my stay. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately the pool is cold . Nobody swam in there. The owners and staff are very friendly. Breakfast was good. Made fresh to order .About 10 minutes walk to town square.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This is a family operation with excellent attention to customer service and comfort. The accommodation was a suite with a well-equipped kitchenette. There is a great free breakfast and the owner Gabriella baked a special banana pastel that was outstanding.
She also made an excellent recommendation for a restaurant with live music.

The place was a little noisy, but this is Mexico so I can't complain. The rooms are reasonably priced.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dreamer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Checked in to a warm welcome late on a Thursday night. Long day to get there. Our room was #1 and right near the entrance. Plenty of help with our luggage. Very good room and a very good night's slumber. Sure there are chickens and dogs. After all it's Mexico you know. It was quiet in the AM but coffee was ready around 7:00 AM. Great breakfast with fresh cooked eggs if you wanted them. Downhill walk to the main street and the plaza. Very helpful hosts and a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank P598738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
7.5 km away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
1.2 km away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
408 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
7 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel Villa San Francisco
1.6 km away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Abuela

Address: Calle Galeana # 75, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range: RM232 - RM296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandmother, Teresa, is originally form the State of Michoacán. In 1998 she retired from her business, and moved to the State of Jalisco. She became enamored with the panoramic views and the quality of the people in Ajijic. She soon purchased a beautiful piece of property and began the process of transforming it into the "Casa de la Abuela" B & B. Michoacán is known for artisans that produce precision works of art from various types of wood. Because of this, she decided to decorate each room with the furniture and art work which is typical of her home state. Creating beauty here is a continuing pastime, and each habitation is constantly changing and improving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa de la Abuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing