We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$89
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Nueva Posada(Ajijic)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Blanca(Ajijic)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$75
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel del Pescador(Ajijic)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Tres Leones(Ajijic)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
18
13
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
13
7
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The hotel is the real deal Mexico. Gaby and her staff were very nice. Loved the old world charm, nice rooms ,great view and wonderful breakfast. Very high on the hill. Our friend who uses a cane had a tough time. It would of been fine but could not get a cab coming back from dinner. They just don't want to deal with a short fare, Won't come back for that reason. US PRICES ON REAL ESTATE AND RENTALS OFFENDS ME, I am Canadian and we are in MEXICO. I only use the currency of the country I am in.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gypsywifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The hotel is on the hill. A little bit of a hike. I enjoyed my stay. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately the pool is cold . Nobody swam in there. The owners and staff are very friendly. Breakfast was good. Made fresh to order .About 10 minutes walk to town square.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This is a family operation with excellent attention to customer service and comfort. The accommodation was a suite with a well-equipped kitchenette. There is a great free breakfast and the owner Gabriella baked a special banana pastel that was outstanding.
She also made an excellent recommendation for a restaurant with live music.

The place was a little noisy, but this is Mexico so I can't complain. The rooms are reasonably priced.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dreamer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Checked in to a warm welcome late on a Thursday night. Long day to get there. Our room was #1 and right near the entrance. Plenty of help with our luggage. Very good room and a very good night's slumber. Sure there are chickens and dogs. After all it's Mexico you know. It was quiet in the AM but coffee was ready around 7:00 AM. Great breakfast with fresh cooked eggs if you wanted them. Downhill walk to the main street and the plaza. Very helpful hosts and a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank P598738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Tomorrow morning we will leave the Casa de la Abuela after spending five wonderful weeks on the property. We will be back for sure again next year. We love the location as it is right next to a the mountains in which there are trails to hike to the top. it is also within walking distance of the Main Plaza and several great restaurants. The owners Gaby and Beto make you feel at home and there is a nice mix of locals and foreign guests at all times. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is wonderful. There is a nice combination of fruits, juices, cereals and yogurt and Gaby will make you any time of eggs or hotcakes you desire. One of the most positive aspects at the property is the abundant plant life and two friendly dogs Junior and Lady who you can not resist playing with. I recommend the hotel most highly if you want a great Mexican experience and a comfortable hotel this is a sure bet.

Room Tip: A Jacuzzi takes a lot of room. If you will not use it choose another room.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews