We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Nearby Hotels
W Punta de Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$352
US$330
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Meson de Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
US$201
HotelsForEveryone
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Iberostar Playa Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$341
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Destino Alamar(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Imanta Resort(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$765
US$742
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$640
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa De Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$745
US$679
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,058)
Filter reviews
2,058 results
Traveller rating
1,820
157
53
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,820
157
53
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea breezeoutdoor showerbutler servicepunta mitaremede spachampagne ritualfour seasonsdeluxe suitemarine safaripersonal butlerthe general managerwalk in closetspg platinumsi senorcasa teresagolf coursefish tacos
Filter
Updating list...
1,620 - 1,625 of 2,058 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My wife and I decided to spend our Thanksgiving Holiday in Puerto Vallarta this year and we chose the St. Regis as one of our destination hotels. We were travelling with a close friend who is also a Starwood Platinum Member so upon checking in, we were provided an ocean view Junior Suite and adjoining King room. Our villa was located just steps from the main house and adult pools and lounging areas (3203 and 3204).

The rooms are well appointed and the typical St Regis quality one would expect from a Category 7 property. The bedding and linens are top quality and so are the bath amenities from the Remede Spa Collection. The outdoor shower rooms are great, taking a shower under the starry skies or in the early morning with the sounds or birds singing. The staff was very friendly and always available and never pushy.

We did choose to eat some of our meals in the hotel; however we were not overly impressed with the food or quality. Breakfast from Room Service was cold and tasteless, overcooked toast and undercooked Eggs Benedict, when I order a hot breakfast I expect it to be HOT! Lunches at the Seaside Café were nothing spectacular either. My wife and I have stayed in more than 20 different St. Regis and Luxury Collection properties around the world and the food was just not on par with what they should be. For a comparison, last Christmas (2010) we chose to stay at the St Regis Bahia Beach Resort in Puerto Rico, a Category 6 property. We will attest that each and every one of the restaurants was outstanding at the Bahia, but it was not so at the Punta Mita. Most guests that we met too ventured out from the property in the evenings to the little town of Punta Mita for dinner at one of the local restaurants. If you are looking for a great place to dine I must suggest Si Senor. I know the name sounds corny, but the food was absolutely delicious and the service was fantastic, trust me on this, less than 1000 pesos for appetizers, drinks, dinner, desert and gratuity for 3 people.

The pool areas are incredible, an adult pool area where it is quiet and relaxing and way over on the other side of the resort is the family pool area, but even there it was quiet and relaxing. The beaches are nothing like those found in the Caribbean, a bit rockier in this area but the water was still refreshing and clear.

If you’re looking for more sandy beaches and you have a rental car, head north up the coast for about 20 minutes to the little village of Sayulita. One of the best surfing spots on the western Mexico coastline. Cute shops and art galleries to spend a few hours at, some great places to eat locally caught (fresh from the Pacific) fish. Rollies is THE spot for breakfast in Sayulita, awesome!

Overall the Punta Mita St. Regis is an outstanding property and is the perfect place to get away from society and the hustle and rush of the city. Keep your eyes open if you choose to stay here, you might just see a celebrity or two, but don’t worry… NO Paparazzi allowed!

Room Tip: There does not seem to be a bad room location anywhere on the property. But... ask for a room on the second floor of the villas, they will be rooms numbered xxx3 or xxx4. Great views of the ocean and the gardens.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPG-DL-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cemberson, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Dear Sir,

Greetings from The St Regis Punta Mita Resort. On behalf of the team I thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your Thanksgiving stay with us and we apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during Breakfast and Private Dining. I have personally addressed these with the Food and Beverage team as we do pride ourselves on delivering exceptional experiences to all our guests however it is evident by your comments that this was not the case regarding food quality. Once again thank you very much for sharing your tips on the rooms and your comments describing our little slice of heaven on earth to our fellow Tripadvisor readers! Very much appreciated!
We hope to see you back again soon!

Yours Sincerely - Carl Emberson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My wife and I just got back from spending 5 nights at this resort. WOW! I can't say enough good things about the St. Regis Punta Mita. Our experience was hands down the most relaxing, amazing experience ever! We loved everything about this resort. I am a platinum star wood member, and the resort upgraded us complimentary to an ocean view room. We also got a really delicious chocolate desert delivered to our room as the platinum amenity. Top 3 things about this resort - - -

1. Staff - Very, very friendly. Attentive to every possible need we had.

2. Facilities - Pools, Restaurants, rooms, beach, and overall layout were amazing. You never had to go far for anything, but felt like you were the only people there at the resort!

3. Restaurants - They only have 3 restaurants on property, but they are all great. Highly recommend at least one night at Carolina restaurant (a little more expensive and formal, but worth it).

Other things at the resort I recommend -----

1. Snorkel Trip to Murietas Islands from St. Regis (arranged by hotel). Tons of fish, and we got lucky and saw some humpback whales up close!

2. St. Regis Car Service from Puerto Vallarta airport. Starts and ends your vacation out great! Driver helped us shop at local grocery store on the way there to get some beer and wine.

3. Participate in the tequila and guacamole classes at the Sea Breeze bar. These are free classes offered every day (they alternate the two classes each day). Very fun!

4. Grouper fish tacos. I had them every day for lunch at the pool. Awesome!

I will definitely be visiting this resort again with my wife!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nube rooms which are over by the golf course. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swiper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is the definition of paradise!! Beautiful property, great both for little kids and for adults.
Perfect weather, georgeous sunsets, 3 large pools, fantastic staff, beautiful new rooms, killer bathrooms, beautiful outdoor spa. Very easy to watch little ones; great kids pool and lots of staff and activities for them. And great for adults only. We did both. It just doesn't get any better! This property seriously rivals the Four Seasons Punta Mita!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathe1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Spectacular!! We go to Puerto Vallarta every year for thanksgiving, and this year we thought we would add a little side trip to Punta Mita. From the point of arrival we knew we were in for an experience. We were met the entrance with a cool cloth and escorted to a lounge area, and offered a choice of margaritas, or iced tea, easy choice since it was after 12 and it’s always cocktail hour somewhere in the world. Our room was not quite ready and would be about 45 minutes, so we took the map we were given and opted for a stroll through the grounds. After our walk and making dinner reservations the restaurant call and we were picked up there and escorted to our suite. The Suite itself had all the appointments that one would expect of a first class hotel. Large living space, king bed and huge bath complete with outdoor shower, and of course a wonderful terrace to enjoy the view. Our butler was very attentive, and no request was too much. Our coffee and news arrived every morning at the scheduled time, and he always had a smile.
Three pools to choose from, we opted for the adult pool which is on 2 levels; we found a great spot on the upper level that was a bit more private. Pool service was exceptional and the staff very accommodating
In room dinning was great, arrived as scheduled, and was set up on the terrace, complete with candles. I definitely suggest this. Dinner at the sea breeze twice. The first night was rather disappointing, after being told how good the pasta was we wanted to try it, however neither of us a big on sea food, and all the pasta choices contained fish. Our waiter seemed a bit lost; he was pleasant enough but really lacked training and knowledge of the menu. We ended up ordering a couple of Pizzas; we could have easily split one after the salads. As we left the manager suggested that we request a Bolognese that could be done with several hours notice, so we opted to try again. We are so glad we did. The pasta was perhaps the best I’ve had outside of Rome. Our waiter the second time was knowledgeable, friendly and very attentive.
Lastly the Spa, what an experience, the facilities are set in a walled tropical garden, and is truly worth a visit.

Room Tip: from P.V. a standard taxi will cost 550 pesos or about $45. rather than the $125. transfer. for the return, we took a transfer to town about $7. and then a taxi from there back to P.V. about $75.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socaldreamhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cemberson, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from the St. Regis Punta Mita Resort. We would like to thank you for staying with us during your Thanksgiving holiday and for taking the time to write the review with invaluable feedback regarding your insights into our property, food and service. Rest assured I have taken note of your comments about your first night at Sea Breeze and will address them with the same passion we have for delivery bespoken service to our clients. I promise each and every one of the staff members is committed to delivering an exceptional service to all our guests.

I thank you sincerely,

Carl Emberson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

After traveling to both Cabo San Lucas (One & Only Palmilla) and Mayakoba (Banyan Tree), we truly feel that the area of Punta Mita and the St. Regis is the best there is and has so much to offer. The gate community of Punta Mita is beautiful and has so much to offer between the two hotels (St. Regis & Four Seasons), golf courses, pathways, tennis clubs, etc. You feel very safe and secure within a beautifully maintained environment. The small town of Punta Mita outside the gates is a mini foodie village with authentic restaurants and fresh food. All restaurants we tried were great...especially Rosa Mexicana. The fresh fish caught that morning can't be beat.....especially the parrot fish. We did not have enough time to try all the restaurants so we are planning to do so when we return which we plan on doing very soon.
As mentioned in previous posts, the hotel is such a fantastic setting and the decor has a very chic beachy vibe. There are signs of wear and tear which I know the hotel is currently working on to maintain and fix, but it did not deter from our time and truly the maintenance issues were minimal. The hotel was supposed to be fully booked on our stay but we did not once feel that it was crowded during our time there (Thanksgiving week) The setup of the pools helps to not feel on top of each other. We went to the 4 Seasons for lunch and thought that this property was tired and did not have the layout of the St. Regis. I would imagine feeling cramped there at full capacity. The lunch at the 4 Seasons was very good (Bahia) but I was very happy to know I was staying at the St. Regis after touring the property.
There were some snafus during our trip that are not worth mentioning as they were not a big deal and were promptly taken care of personally by Carl Emberson, the General Manager. He and his staff did everything in their power to make sure that the rest of our stay was enjoyable and that we were taken care of. They could not do enough and kept calling to check on us. They obviously care about their guests and are trying very hard to make sure the service stays up to snuff.
Some of the staff worth mentioning was one of our butlers, Cassidy. Ricardo at the pool was also very accommodating. We ate dinner on our last night at Carolina in the restaurant which was a real treat and pleasure. Our waitress Gabby was fantastic and made the meal one to remember.

Book a trip there....you will not be disappointed. We had also earlier visited the St. Regis property in Puerto Rico and although beautiful it does not compare to Punta Mita.

Can't wait to get back!!

Room Tip: Try to get a 2nd floor room. We had a first floor room which was fine, but I think for next time I would try to get a 2nd floor room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chi_LonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews