We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15,043)
Filter reviews
15,043 results
Traveller rating
8,213
4,258
1,588
560
424
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,213
4,258
1,588
560
424
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premier lobby le gourmet a la carte restaurants cozumel buffet fish golden lobby snack bar playa del carmen quiet pool cancun airport kids water park akumal beach michael jackson show main buffet show table other resorts great resort
Filter
Updating list...
8,375 - 8,380 of 15,043 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I love the Gran Bahia Principe-Coba with all my heart! Best vacations ever. I have been there twice in the last year! I am going back in April. Coba is so welcoming, you will never want to leave. Shout out to my friends I made- that work there. Eric, Christian, Candelario, Juan, RIGOBERTO the Bell Boys at Coba. So funny and always put a smile on your face while entering the lobby. Manuel the Night Shift tram driver. He is so funny :) Also Manger Luis!!!!!! Luis is so helpful with everything you need. JUAN CARLOS premier chofer is awesome is you stay in the premier club.Animation team is a riot and will keep you entertained for hours. Manger of the Hacienda is awesome and goodlooking- shout out to David Reyes!! Thanks for the air conditioning in the discotecca, nightlife is way better now that it is cold in there.Thanks David.I miss you guys. The Meditteraian restaurant is delicious, request Anibar, great server.Coba is by far the best place to stay on the resort. So relaxing! That is why I come to Coba every 6months. The beach is beautiful. BahiaSpa is awesome and such a relaxation as well. You can get new towels for the pool and beach anytime you want, very convient. Shout out to Felipe, I never met you yet! You will be seeing my friend Jenn and I in April though. No worries we call the resort weekly to talk to friends. Love you Bahia Staff/Resort/Mexico.

Room tip: contact resort 3weeks prior to coming and they will help you get EVERYTHING you want. Ask for manager luis of coba :)
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Our very first trip to Mexico. Our children took us on THEIR 25th Wedding Anniversaty and it was absolutely wonderful.FELIX NEEDS TO BE CLONED and placed in every resort this company owns. He is superb at his job. The staff at the COBA is excellent and so very eager to attend to your every need OMAR at the morning and noon buffet is such a treasure. Our room was always immaculare Thank you Martha and the towel art was lovely. We took a photo of every animal every day that she made. This was a once in a lifetime vacation as we are pensioners and we will remember it always. THANK YOU FELIX AND ALL STAFF FOR THE R OYAL TREATMENT !!! S.Osborne,Havelock ,Ontario Canada.xxxx

Room tip: If you are older and do not party hardy DO ask for a room AWAY from the PARTY POOL as it is quite active and noisy day and night.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicePr, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear 'Sharon O',

Herwith, on behalf of our entire Gran Bahia Principe Clubs & Resorts Coba team, I would like to express you our appreciation for providing us with such a nice feedback. Thank you for the recognition of my staff and my team!

I am delighted to notice that you fully enjoyed your stay and I hope to seeing you here soon again.

My kindest regards,

Felix Schlokat
Guest Service Manager
Gran Bahia Clubs & Resorts Coba
Email: guestservicepremierbpcob@bahia-principe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Just returned home from a short stay at the Gran Bahia Coba from November 8 to November 12th. This is not our typical vacation to this area. Usually we rent a house or condo in the Akumal area and in fact, did that this time for 7 days before arriving at the GBP Coba.

We travelled with my brother and sister in-law and we can't find any fault with this resort at all. I had emailed Felix and asked for ground floor rooms close to the quiet pool and lobby and that is exactly what we got.

We went to the Akumal portion of the beach and the Coba portion of the beach and preferred the Coba area, although we were unable to find anywhere to sit. Prettier water and sandy entry were our reasons.

Every person we interacted with was extremely pleasant and helpful, starting with Christain at the lobby who took and watched our bags, both at checkout and check-in, to Gustavo, Nydia and (another man who certainly was just as helpful, just can't remember his name) at the Coba buffet, to our OUTSTANDING bartenders Rene, Pedro & Manuel at the Coba quiet pool and Maria our maid. Every single one of them were just above and beyond in my opinion. It was just incredible the way they treated everyone so professionally and friendly at the same time. Felix also stopped by to talk to us at the quiet pool and make sure everything was ok. We felt very special that he did this as he is so busy.

My brother & sister in-law went to the Mexican Fiesta night and were extremely impressed and glad they went.

I gave this a 5 star because for this type of vacation, I don't think you can probably beat it. Although we prefer our own house or condo right on the beach, it was perfect tacking on this type of vacation at the end of the other type where I typically have to cook.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicePr, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear 'tanda50',

First of all I would like to thank you for providing us with your comment in regard to your recent vacation at our hotel facility.

Please note that I am delighted to read that we could fully exceed your expectations and will be able to welcoming you here soon again!

I would also like to express my appreciation for your kind words for our staff. Be ensured that your words get distributed to Maria from Housekeeping and Gustavo, Nydia, Rene, Manuel and Pedro from our Food & Beverage Department. Thank you also for your kind words to my person.

For now I wish you all the best,

Yours Sincerely,

Felix Schlokat
Guest Service Manager
Gran Bahia Principe Clubs & Resorts Coba
Email: guestservicepremierbpcob@bahia-principe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Just returned from the BPC. I have to say, it was the best all-inclusive resort I've been to so far. The property, ammenities, service - all exceeded expectations.

I went as part of a group of 14 travellers and so, I admit, we made our own fun where ever we went. The three properties together (Coba, Akumal, Tulum) offered a great selection of activities, pools, and service. Second to none!

ROOMS:
The rooms are big and well equipped. Jet tubs, lots of closet space, comfortable beds (but firm). Only complaint about the room was that the pillows were a bit on the small side. I had to use three of them. Otherwise, exceptional and comfortable. Air Conditioning was perfect. Not too cold - not too warm. I appreciated having a great ceiling fan also!

HOUSEKEEPING:
Only one day where housekeeping was behind and we did not have our room cleaned before late afternoon. Hey...it happens. We tipped every day and really felt like we were treated well.

GETTING AROUND:
Well...its a BIG resort. It took some time to figure stuff out but we eventually did. Lobby to Room (check)...Room to Snack Bar (check)...Room to Pools..(check). If you travel with a group I would suggest you take the first day to decide what places the group will stick to...which pool, where on the beach, what bars etc. That way, you can just catch up with friends pretty much any time without having to coordinate too much. It is a huge property so nail that down right away or you might spend too much time searching people out! The drivers of the trams were really friendly and helpful. One of our "team" got lost after enjoying too much tequila and, well, had a great time riding around the resort meeting people. Very funny. Signage is not that great so get your bearings. And, it you can....Villa 28 is really central and we appreciated being right in the middle of things.

BEACHES:
Tulum beach was best for body surfing. Coba was busy but had awesome snorkeling (inside the wimming area). Akumal was a bit rocky (also good snorkeling). Each have their advantages. We stuck to Akumal....always had loungers for our group of 14! It was close to towel exchange, Akumal buffet, swim up bar, beach bar...a good balance! Found Tulum a bit too quiet. It was a bit of a walk to the beach from Coba but, then again, there is a reason this resort is a little less in therms of cost. Not a huge deal for us - we all needed the walks! It distance is an issue, I would recommend considering Akumal over Tulum (Tulum just seemed to have less 'energy' even though it is right on the beach).

FOOD:
The buffet(s) were all well done with a huge selection of foods. Some might say food was cold or blah..blah..blah...but, really, you need to just go with the flow. At all times, there was great food and lots of selection. I might say the only thing that was a bit of a let-down was that I was hoping for MORE mexican dishes. Their mexican section in the buffests was small. Otherwise...great! The servers were awesome.

A LA CARTES:
Japanese...Japanese...Japanese...Micado was really good. I was completely impressed. Others were normal in terms of food - not amazing but good. Service was second to none! I really enjoyed them all. The Seafood restaurant did a great Sea Bass. And the seven pepper soup was awesome! No complaints all around. A few friends felt that some seafood was over-cooked. Still, a great time. I did not eat shellfish myself so I can't say how that was. The mexican restaurant was my least favorite - probably because I was expecting much more mexican foods. More likely a problem with my expectations than the restaurant.

BARS:
Lobby service was pretty good. And, the bar staff were prompt. We never had to wait more than a few minutes when we went up for a drink. Table service was ok...but the servers are fairly busy for sure. One suggestion...tip them. Really...it was clear they were working hard for it. Drinks were good, maybe a little bit light on the alcohol but, really, did I need to drink THAT much...thanks Coba..for keeping me from having a terrible hangover! (that is not to say others in my group weren't hurting at times!). The swim up bar near Akumal beach was fast and a lot of fun. We met lots of people hanging out there. The beach bar was really busy so we tended to stay away. There was no shortage of refills in our own travellers that's for sure!!!

EXCURSIONS:
We did a 1/2 day excursion to Coba ruins - excellent value! full day might have been better but we liked that we got back to the resort at 1pm - still tons of time for the beach! We also did EXPLOR. We enjoyed it but it was definitely more of an amusement park. The cave swimming was exceptional!

TRANSFERS & CHECK-IN/OUT:
Staff were helpful all around. We did not have to lug our own luggage anywhere - thanks, thanks, thanks! Check-in was fast and that was really appreciated. Keep in mind you have to pay $5USD per day for a lock for the safe. No biggie. Staff at the front desk were completely fluent in english and I really appreciated that (I don't speak spanish...probably should learn). The buses to and from the resort were comfortable (although the drive to/from the airport is a little long - don't let that stop you from choosing this resort).

LAUNDRY:
Well, this is the only area where I was a bit let down. If I HAD to complain about anything it would be that I needed same-day laundry service and it was hard to communicate with the folks you are supposed to call to arrange it. I was totally confused about what to do and their english was not so great. This little issue was not really worth noting but, again, if I HAD to say something, it would be that I would rather have had a place to go drop off my stuff instead of waiting around for someone to come to the room to pick it up for same day service. It did not really cause me too much grief.

OVERALL:
This is the best all-inclusive experience I have had to date. It was worth every penny. I would recommend Coba as the place to go. Great value, great service, great vacation!

Room tip: Villa 28 and the surrounding area is central to everything.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicePr, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear 'Jambit7',

On behalf of the entire Gran Bahia Principe Coba team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time and making the effort to provide us with your feedback here on tripadvisor.

Please note that I will present your comment in our Management meeting in order to evaluate your concerns. I do apologize for the service received reagrding the laundry service and will improve this immediately. Regarding the pillows please note that our Housekeeping staff is always happy to send more pillows to the room anytime.

Thank you once again and please do not hesitate to contacting me again three to four weeks prior your next arrival.

My kindest regards,

Felix Schlokat
Guest Service Manager
Gran Bahia Principe Clubs & Resorts Coba
Email: guestservicepremierbpcob@bahia-principe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had a great time at this beautiful resort. The service was great, the food was amazing and the scenery was absolutely stunning. The only things I can really complain about is the massive size of the place, it's really easy to get turned around in but there's usually someone who will happily point you in the right direction. And also the water at the beach is pretty disappointing, it's all rock and coral, we ended up taking a taxi to a public beach near Tulum that was sandy as far as you could see. Overall very happy with our experience in Coba.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicePr, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear 'Andrew K',

Thank you very much for the fact that you are providing us with helpful information regarding your recent stay at our hotel facility.

Please do not hesitate to contacting us again three to four weeks prior your next arrival in order to support you with any questions or concerns.

Have a great day,

Yours Sincerely,

Felix Schlokat
Guest Service Manager
Gran Bahia Principe Cubs & Resorts Coba
Email: guestservicepremierbpcob@bahia-principe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews