We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,899)
Filter reviews
14,899 results
Traveller rating
8,136
4,229
1,571
546
417
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,136
4,229
1,571
546
417
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premier lobby cozumel buffet le gourmet a la cartes fish golden lobby playa del carmen snack bar quiet pool kids water park akumal beach main buffet michael jackson show show table other resorts great resort activity pool
Filter
Updating list...
9,468 - 9,473 of 14,899 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2009

This place is amazing. Our first trip to this resort was in April of 2008. We loved it so much that we decided to get married here a year after, in April 2009.

We were a large group of 40. Everybody had a great time. If you thinking about getting married to this resort, DO IT. We were treated like royalty. Our Wedding planner Karla and her crew are wonderfull. They pay attention to every little details. Prior to departure, I had everything booked and reserved for the wedding. When we got there we met with the wedding coordinator and picked our flowers, told her what room we were going to get prepered that day and that was it. On the day of our wedding everything went very very well. Like promised the flowers arrived at our room at 10h, it was perfect. We got the chance to take some group pictures before the wedding.

The wedding took place at the Gazebo in the Tulum section. It is the perfect place, very private. We tied the knot at 2h, wich was a good time as we got the time to take some pictures afterwords and we had rented the mariachi band. They were great, a perfect romantic caribbean atmosphere. The diner was at 6pm the Portofino (Italian) restaurant. After we had a private reception by the jacuzzi. We rented a DJ. Everything went perfect. You should of seen our room after the wedding. Rose petals everywhere, very romantic.

Resort: There are 3 resort in this complexe. Wich you have acces to all 3, Coba, Akumal and Tulum. The grounds are amazing, very well kept. There are always staffs working in the gardens. Pools are huge, and trust me there are lots of them and jacuzzies as well. The resort is huge. Coba section is the farthest from the beach, but there are little trains that passes every 10 minutes so you just hop on.

Restaurants: the food here is very very good. The buffets are amazing there are so many things to chose from. Our favorite restaurant, was Mikado (the japanese one) the chef cooks in front of you and you are siting with 10 people. It was fun.

Beach: the water is a perfect blue colour. There is a lots of rocks in the water but no biggie. On the beach, palapas are everywhere to get you out of the sun. You will not ran out of booze on the beach since there is 2 bars right there, one with some swings.

I would recommend this resort to anyone, from people traveling with children to a romantic gettaway. This resort is amazing. Go on and book it. We love the Bahia's so much that we just booked The Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana in the Dominican Republique.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mathieulisaleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

At Coba, my friends and I had a great time. Our animations were absolutely awesome and very entertaining. We had a blast with them playing water polo, having beer drinking contests and learning how to salsa. Also, the coconuts were a knockout! Wahooooooooo

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boot-scootn-boogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We stayed from Nov 22 to Dec 6 at the Coba - flew with WestJet - so were checking in/out at the Premier Lobby. The rooms were fantastic. We had requested, and got, villa 27, which overlooks the 'quiet' pool, and is step from the little jacuzzi pool. the bed was a king, and was very very comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was nice, but very loud and we only used it once. The shower was a hand held, with great water pressure. Best to be sure its pointing down, to prevent getting water all over. the height is adjustable, once you realize its just a pressure fitting you can slide it up or down on its holder.

We were told the mini bar would be filled every 2nd day, but it was filled more often than this. We tipped Ernesto, the mini bar fellow, and he gave us extras most days.

There is a coffee pot in the room, and strangely, all the coffee fixings (sugar, coffeemate) are INSIDE the sealed package with the coffee. if you ever needed more, simply jot over to any lobby or to the snack bar, as the condiments are sitting out on the counter for you to help yourself.

The snack bar by our pool was open 24 x 7 - we had coffee and rolls and fruit most mornings at 6am. Coffee is served in all lobbies all day long, and they put out "help yourself" bottles of flavoured tequilas - coconut, lime, coffee, cherry etc. as well as decanters of Brandy, Ameretto, etc that you can use as you wish - straight up, or in your coffee.

Every day at the breakfast buffet, they put out champagne, and a jug of orange juice, so you can make your own mimosas, and they have fixings for Bloody Mary's too. Andrees, our favorite waiter, brought us orange juice and coffee and made sure we were always seated at a nice table. The staff do their best to keep pace - clearing tables etc., but with over 1000 guests, they can't always keep pace, so some times you have to simply sit at a dirty table, and they will instantly be there to change the table cloth, and reset it for you in seconds.

The buffet was the same every day, more or less, so best bet is to pick a section each day, and move to another the next day, so you don't find it boring. There is sooo much to choose from - Mexican corner, Seafood corner, Pasta corner, Oriental corner, etc. Always hot, always fresh. Sushi at lunch and dinner every day, as well as shrimp, smoked salmon, etc.

There is a gym - large space, but with very minimal equipment.

They will rent you a laptop for $10 for up to an hour of use (can use part and then take it again another time, until you use up your hour. and free wireless in all the lobbies if you bring your own. Cell phones worked, however you are roaming so its likley very expensive.

There were some challenges with" la cooceracha".. they were spraying several of the units. These are not our typical North American cockroach insect, these are about 3 inches long and about 1.5 inches wide with long legs. They do not harm you in any way, but it is a bit disturbing all the same if you get one in your room. The main floor units had doorsweeps on the bottoms of the entry door, but the 2nd and 3rd levels didn't. after the first one came in (and we killed it), a towel on the floor at the door at night seemed to do the trick, as we never had a second one.

Some people had issues with mosquitoes, and while i had brought the deep woods off, never had to use it myself.
We saw some very interesting animals, look like a racoon, but are not..and others that look like giant squirrels, that have no tail and run on four legs like a dog, then sit like a squirrel to eat. We also saw one tarantula, at night, near the pool - it didnt' seem to want anything to do with people - was just out for a stroll.

We ate at El Pescado (great sea bass, fantastic buffet of appetizers); Tequila (Mexican - fantastic buffet of appetizers, soup was wonderful, as was the meal)l; Mikado (Japanese), great shrimp and steak stirfry; Le Gourmet (Duck l'orange was quite nice,howver everyrthing was quite salty); and Mediteraneo - our waiter Jorge was great, and the bufffet appetizers were good, but our main course was not as good as at other restaruants, my tuna was fine, but the lamb chops not so much.

The pools were never over crowded. it's a shame that the swim up bar in the smaller pool is in the shade, however the one at the big pool is in the sun most of the day. They served Paella at the pool at lunch several times, with nice cold Sangria..didn't even have to get off the chaise lounge to have a fantastic lunch.

if you walk south past Akumal, there is a very nice little beach with great snorkelling. huge schools of ballyhoos, sea urchins, and amazing fan corals. Snorkeling right in front of Akumal pool is also fine, lots of fish that come right up to your mask.

Bottom line, it was a great vacation, with the best food we've ever had at an all inclusive. ENJOY.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank sweezeyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

They was 15 of us including kids went for 2 weeks we had a fantastic time. the animation team are fantastic Aaron,francisco,abiel,gabriel,chico, they never stop kids loved them and have keeped in touch with them threw face book. The room was massive and was always clean and tidy by the maids the food was great , no complaints
some of us went to coco bongo,s night club we paid about £32 per person in our money that included taxi all our drinks and entrance in it was amazing well worth the money would recomend going we left hotel at 10.30pm and got back about 5am we went with the hotel staff as it was a lot cheaper than booking with the rep. would recomend this hotel to anyone the shows was great evey night the complex is massive to get around they is 3 hotels what you can use with your all inclusive a lot of the drinks was our brands which is good for all inclusive. they was so much food to choose from for every one the staff could not do enough for us we can not wait to go again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kaydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We stayed at GBP Coba(1week)&GBP Akumal(1week) Nov1/2009, Hurricane Ida passed by on the 3rd so it RAINED!!!!!!!!! for 4 or 5 days, No fault but not a ton to do when it is POURING on a beach holiday.I
This was our 1st All-inclusive experience and after reading all the reviews I had higher expectations. Coba is in the jungle and I was RAVAGED by mosquitoes or whatever was biting, If you are bothered by bug bites(you know if you are) take a strong bug repellent and bite relief, It is not very nice to be in a swimsuit with giant itchy red bumps all over.
The buffets and the drinks are Inconsistent, Sometimes good sometimes not so much, We went to the buffets when they were doing a survey and it was amazing! Of course the next day it was a completely different experience. One of the reasons I went to Mexico is I like Margaritas and Mexican food I found neither at GPB, The drinks are made with the cheapest tequila and triple sec and always very different depending on the bartender, I tried to get a Margarita with premium tequila(I was happy to pay extra) but even then it was an ordeal to get the waitress to order it(took about 15 min) and after that I do not think it had any liquor in it! The beer was fine also you can get a generous Baileys on ice which I thought was good.
The Ala Carte restaurants are all about the same, same decor(except the japanese), similar food(some better than others, Don Pablo was best) and all seem to trying to be pretentious, Too much show and not so much substance.

The room at Coba being newer was in good repair and the housekeeping staff was great as was the room service keeping our minibar stocked, We did look at a clump of jungle though so not to impressed with the view, When we went to Akumal we had a view of the Ocean which was much better! but the room was a bit run down, The bed had big sags in it with the many previous guests and needed replacing, The bathroom mirror was marred from behind and hard to see, There is no fans in the bathrooms so it gets really hot especially with the halogen lights over the vanity so try to keep the light off when possible.
I realize this is a negative rant but I felt lied to after reading all the reviews before I went.
Cleanliness??? They cleaned the windows at The Italian and Seafood restaurant at Akumal and scraped all the100s of BUGS off were they sat on the ground for 4 days along the walkway above the pool where many people walk by , A pill packet sat at the main swimming pool on the stairs into the pool in plain sight for 3 days until I picked it up, The ant hill on the stairs to our suite sat for about 4 days and so on..., Some areas were kept very well and others cleary it was not anyones job to attend to.
Not the resorts fault but we went up the beach to the right of the resort and were apalled by the amount of Plastic and Garbagewashed up on the shoreline it is really heart breaking, nets and bottles and plastic junk everywhere.
The beaches in front of the resort are nice lovely sand and surf, Some rocky but take your water shoes and you will be fine, Some areas for everyone, The party area, Family area or just quiet sunbathing. Same for the pools.
We thought if we are bored of the food or.... we will just go elsewhere, Our mistake as you are not within walking distance of anything, You can take the collectivo to Playa del Carmen but it is 45 minutes or so to get there.
We went to Xel Ha and it was wonderful also Akumal Beach(this is close by either by cab or collectivo) to snorkel(we saw turtles and stingrays) do not miss this!

I think this is a good place to go if you are going with a family or you are a shy traveller and are afraid of venturing out to much but I felt it was Mexico without the food and flavours of the country.
ps; why do so many people smoke in Mexico?

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tallgirlBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews