We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$513
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
Hotels.com
US$513
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
ZenHotels.com
US$644
US$384
View deal
SAVE US$260
Booking.comUS$519
PricelineUS$629
Lol.travelUS$644
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,136)
Filter reviews
8,136 results
Traveller rating
6,892
881
256
65
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,892
881
256
65
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews preferred club seaside grill market cafe el patio coco cafe beach concierge sea turtles building concierge tropical view preferred room entertainment team beautiful resort fish french restaurant master suite our waiter middle pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 8,136 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had visited Secrets Akumal twice before. This time we brought our young adult children with us as well. While some of the COVID imposed restrictions seemed unusual we were still totally happy with the facilities and service.

One thing I would say is I don't feel an Ocean Front room is worth the additional cost. Spend those funds on an excursion or spa day instead.

Room tip: If you're going to spend all day at the beach/pool then does it really matter if you have an ocean view room?
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thomm659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabiola Saucedo, Ventas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful comments of your recent stay with us.

As you mentioned, we are constantly improving, and thanks to the feedback from our esteemed guests like you, we make substantial changes in each of the areas that merit it.

Thank you for your kind recommendation to the travel community and we look forward to welcome you home in the near future!

Warm regards from Akumal,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They have water aerobics, water spin class, water volley ball, beach volley ball, goofy activities like running across floats to see who can go the furthest, throw a football through a hole, name that tune. Awesome nightly entertainment, employees were awesome, they actually remember your name, they are fun, they joke around, they will even participate in some of the sports activities when needed. They do not skimp on alcohol, they load it up lol. Restaurants all had awesome food, especially the Italian, French and Mexican restaurants. Our shower drain was backed up, it took 2 phone calls to get that fixes and our toilet was leaking from the base, they fixed the shower and toilet at the same time while we were out. Otherwise the resort was very tidy, they even cleaned the beach every morning.

Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabiola Saucedo, Ventas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya on your recent getaway to Riviera Maya. It was a pleasure to have you here and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure our guests have a memorable moment with us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs, who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.

We appreciate that you reported the details of your suite during your stay and gave them the opportunity to fix it at that time. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards from Akumal,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff was so friendly and there’s nothing negative we could say about our stay even if we tried. Karime and Claudio, our concierges throughout our stay, were top tier! We will definitely be back (hopefully sooner than later)!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank D8537ZCmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabiola Saucedo, Ventas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya as your host! We are overjoyed to know that your experience was an amazing one, we have shared your comments to the team as a motivation to keep up our lovely work.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back home again!

Warm Regards,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there for my wife's birthday. We did not find anything as we arrive to our room. Also the day we wanted to celebrate it; room service was late and wrong. Dissapointed. Food was good at the restaurant though.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank laurencebQ2381CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabiola Saucedo, Ventas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear laurencebQ2381CO,

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort, we thank you for choosing our resort for a special celebration and we would like to offer you an apology for not completely fulfilling your expectations.

We are glad to know you have enjoyed the restaurants during your stay, however we are sorry that there has been any problem with room service and this has left a bad impression on your holidays, nevertheless I have already shared your feedback with our head of department for information and further revision.

In addition, we would like to take the opportunity to mention that now the celebration amenities are delivered during the stay and not upon arrival as before, due to the disinfection of the suite before delivering. We regret that you have not been informed of this from your reservation process.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons.

Warm regards from Akumal,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Please be prepared to do for yourself. There is lack of Staff. There's severely lack of communication between the hotel supervisor reservations concierge and restaurant reservations. Nothing came out right for one entire week we were there. The pool was nice. And the two ladies at the pool or the only ones that deserved any gratitude the entire week. Entertainment was excellent at pool numbers 2.
We used the Spy once and was very disappointed however we thought will give them another shot absolutely no changes there. I would not recommend that as I'm very familiar and do frequent Secrets spas on every vacation. And we have visited 10 Secrets internationally at this point.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabiola Saucedo, Ventas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Heidi K,

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort, we would like to thank you for your preference to our company for your holidays and for choosing our resort this time around. However, we would like to offer you an apology for not completely fulfilling your expectations and we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences you encountered.

It does indeed sound that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

Despide our staff's service and kindness is one of our main strenghts, we are quite disappointed and surprised to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area at our the reception desk; nevertheless we will not fail to share your comments with our head of department for information and further revision.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Sincerely,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews