We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
40 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$1,196
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$1,196
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$713
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$1,147
PricelineUS$1,147
travelup.comUS$939
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,638)
Filter reviews
8,638 results
Traveller rating
7,353
909
261
71
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
7,353
909
261
71
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews preferred club seaside grill market cafe el patio coco cafe beach concierge sea turtles building concierge tropical view preferred room entertainment team beautiful resort fish french restaurant master suite our waiter middle pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 8,638 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2021

We just returned from our week stay at Secrets Akumal and we were blown away by everything!!!!! We have stayed at MANY MANY resorts (I am a travel agent as well) and the service, grounds, staff, and absolutely everything about the resort was well above our expectations. From the minute we arrived we never had a complaint at all and would recommend this resort to anyone. The service from our Concierge, Javier was exceptional and when we needed anything he was on top of it immediately! The activities staff are so fun and personable and really get everyone involved without being pushy at all -The "Ferminator and Oscar were so fun, we had the best pool service from Beltran who made sure our drinks were full and always knew what we wanted. The drinks were never watered down and were great quality. Mario, Luis, Aryeal, so many people everyday we came in contact with gave top notch service and were so happy to have guests. The beach is beautiful. the pools are gorgeous, everyday they something new going on and everynight they have dinner and show as well. The rooms are beautiful-Did not like how the toilet is not very private however (only negative I have) and if you are not very comfortable with each other it could be an issue for some. Make sure men bring pants for most of the restaurants-we thought it was only needed for one but found out it was really for most of them. No big deal for us but for friends we met they did not want to spend $150 to purchase pants (cant say I blame them at all). There are plenty of options still if you dont have them, but best to bring a pair. I cant imagine anyone would ever be disappointed with a stay at this gorgeous resort! Truly 5 star with the most amazing service and staff. We will for sure be back!

Room tip: Rooms in buildings 1-5 have good location to pools, activities
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola Saucedo, Ventas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your wonderful review of your recent stay at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, to be considered as one of the best resort you stayed at is certainly high praise.

Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our resort and staff were able to meet all your expectations during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you home in the near future!

Warm regards from Akumal,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

Review Secrets Akumal

Stayed here in September for 6 days and 5 nights and had a marvelous time. It’s was our first time booking with Costco Travel, staying in a Secrets resort, and being in Mexico. Everything went off without a hitch! First of all, I want to give kudos to the staff here, which have the best service in the world. Everyone is so nice and hardworking and diligent about their business.

Arrived in Cancun Airport and it took 2 tries to find Best Day (our airport transfer) because it was so crowded outside the airport and we didn’t see it at first. Advise you download the Best Day app before arriving (if you’re using BD as the airport transfer). You need to get on the app before you can get into the car and that’s how you confirm your departure transportation too. Costco Travel should really have told us beforehand. My phone was on airplane mode with no cellular signal- thankfully, someone let me use their hotspot and it took literally 10 minutes to download one app. The drive to Akumal was about 90 minutes and we had no issue with our driver. The drive was safe and uneventful.

Both rooms were to our satisfaction with a partial view of the ocean. Balcony is large and comfy! Beds are comfortable but the pillows are very flat. Bathroom is huge and spacious. Separate toilet room, shower with two shower heads, and gigantic circular tub. Room has mini fridge completely stocked. The walls and ceiling/floors are a bit thin. I could hear the TV music coming from the room next door. AC is set at 65°F and despite the numbers, it is not adjustable. If you get cold easily, advise bringing a sweater or outerwear. The evening entertainment has loud music till 1030pm every night and all rooms can hear it. If you want to go to bed early and are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs! The gift shop doesn’t sell any.

Food is mostly very good at Market Cafe but hit or miss at the restaurants. The appetizers at Portofino were delicious, but the risotto was cooked poorly and very crunchy to eat. El Patio had the best food, in my opinion. The “Asian” restaurant, Hitmisu, was the worst, in my opinion. The wait time was also the longest. We waited 1+ hour for our food even though we went somewhat early. I am from East Asia and the food was not horrible, but the cooks clearly didn’t know how to prepare it properly. The sashimi wasn’t sliced properly and they didn’t take the tendons out like you’re supposed to. Due to fears of upset stomach, I didn’t touch any of the sushi, sashimi, or raw fish at the buffets. The food at Oceana was just okay. Service was top notch, though. Best meal of the day is breakfast as their french toast is out of this world! The homemade pizza by the second pool during lunch hour was wonderful!

You don’t need to exchange your money into pesos here if you’re coming from the US. The accept USD here and it’s preferred.

Everything is very clean and the staff go to extraordinary lengths to keep it that way. Housekeeping and turndown service are awesome. The waiters and waitresses at the pools and on the beach were diligent at giving us drinks. I did think the concierge were a little aggressive about trying to sell us their preferred guests/membership program. The Covid testing took less than 10 minutes and was very convenient!

The beach here is great! The waters are gorgeous and except for the seaweed, it is mostly very clean. We went snorkeling and saw tons of tropical fish. If you want to see sea turtles, you’ll have to pay to use the services of private vendors to get on a boat and go a little farther out. The current of the ocean is a bit strong and hard to swim out that far without taking a boat. We really enjoyed all the swimming pools and lounge chairs at the beach.

Property is gorgeous and wonderfully laid out. So much lush vegetation and beautifully kept gardens and ponds. We saw some local animals wandering in and out: a coati and an agouti and lots of iguanas. Didn’t utilize the spa because the prices were sky high. The nightly entertainment was ok. Some nights were better than others. If you like peace and quiet, this place may not be for you. From 4-1030pm daily, there is loud music blaring from the pool areas and all the resort rooms can hear it.

Overall, we had an amazing fun time and would definitely recommend it, and we would love to stay at other Secrets resorts in the future. Some tips: bring electrolyte/hydration powder because it is soooo hot and humid here and I felt slightly dehydrated on a few occasions. bring some Imodium AD just in case! The snorkels you get for free at the resort aren’t great. The mask fogs up easily and water seeps in. Recommend buying and bringing your own full face snorkel mask and breathing tube. You can rent the goggles for free here but you must pay $4 usd to the breathing tube.

Room tip: Bring ear plugs if light sleeper
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Muppetsarecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola Saucedo, Ventas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya and are delighted to read that we were able to make an unforgettable experience.

We thank you for your kind words towards our lovely team, we are glad to hear that they all contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us, from the housekeeping team, doing their utmost to guarantee spotless accommodations and installations at all times, our entertainment team with their enthusiasm and energy, and our food & drinks team, with their kindness and professionalism to bring back home good memories of their holidays among us. Definitely, they are an asset to our resort and we will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them, they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2021

Secrets Akumal met all expectations. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Poolside bar is a fun place to be with excellent cocktails. Food was delicious and the various restaurants. Couldn’t be happier with this choice of a resort in Mexico. My ONLY complaint would be they need better signage. It’s easy to get lost. I can’t wait to visit again.

Room tip: Would choose a room with an ocean view next time.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J1860JWrebeccap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola Saucedo, Ventas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your holidays and it is a pleasure to hear that your stay was very pleasant. We also appreciate your suggestion as it allows us to continuously improve the experience we create for all our guests.

We certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future.

Warm regards from Akumal,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2021

What a great resort can't say enough good about the service food and over all experience, highly recommend to anyone. David at the French restaurant went above and beyond making our last meal at the resort a very good dining experience.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sharky4702021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola Saucedo, Ventas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya and the delighted to read that we were able to exceeded your expectations.

We are flattered to know the excellent impressions that you had from us. Knowing that from our facilities, culinary options up to the level of service you experienced were to your liking, represents our most important recognition and achievement.

We hope to have soon the pleasure of being your hosts again in your next vacation in the Riviera Maya.

Warm regards from Akumal,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

This resort was beyond amazing! Clean, beautiful ambiance and exceptional staff!!
The restaurants were all amazing as well. The heart and soul that the staff puts into the resort to accommodate us, is so wonderful.
We cannot wait to return! We were so impressed. Thank you to each of you!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank spMartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola Saucedo, Ventas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

We congratulate you for your romantic celebration and we thank you for choosing our Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya for such a special occasion.

We are happy to hear that our resort and staff were able to meet all your expectations during your stay and that you were satisfied with every detail of your experience.

We look forward to having you back on your next romantic vacation in the Riviera Maya!

Warm regards from Akumal,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews