We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
26
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
6
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This is one of the least known (it is not part of a hotel chain) but one of the best Haciendas in the Yucatan. It is situated about an hour from Merida close to the Gulf Coast and is the perfect place to stay if you are travelling around this part of Yucatan. It is a family-owned, large property that has been lovingly and tastefully restored. The bungalows are lovely and the grounds are beautiful and peaceful. In addition the Hacienda has a young chef, who is creating innovative and wonderful food using local ingredients and Mexican flavours in new and exciting ways. This is not a slick and sophisticated operation like some of the better known Haciendas but is well worth checking out.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alanmtate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The hotel is surrounded by gardens and nature; it is located in a central part of the north of Yucatan coast, near to the beach, natural protected areas and Xcambó (archaeological site); by car it takes less than an hour to arrive from Mérida. The owners are excellent hosts, they take care of every detail; and the complete hotel is decorated with excellent sense of elegance.

The rooms are lovely: one called "ripios" and the other are "villas", all of them are well equipped, clean and with option to hang a hammock.

There are different amenities for spend the time like free bikes, an area for play games (pool table, ping - pong, tv, etc), also a tennis court, basketball court and a fresh water pool. By night the hotel has a cultural activity for the gest, in our case was a show of Jarana, a traditional dance in Yucatán and for the New Year Eve it take place a show of Mexican music and an excellent presentation of a young mexican tenor.

The restaurant offers good and delicious meals prepared by a chef but also the villas count whit kitchen.

One detail to consider is that ripios are located a little far from the lobby and both the pool towels and remote air controls are requested there, so I suggest asking them since your registration. You can also ask for help to bring the suitcase to the room, if it´s required.

This hotel is comfortable for all, you can visit with your kids, there are a lot of space for run, play and explore; but also for couples and friends. We spend 3 days in absolutely peace and joy.

I definitely hope to come back soon!

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Flor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

It is a wonderful place and we had a pleasant stay, but some hints:
If you stay in one of the bungalows, be warned that even though ocupancy may be up to three persons, one is supposed to sleep in a hamock.
Also, use the bicycles to go to the bungalows since it is a long way walking.
Ask about all the amenities, or look around since there are plenty of hidden spaces to enjoy.

Room Tip: Doubles or suites
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Our family had an amazing stay at the Hacienda, which has been restored/renovated with obvious love and great taste. We loved being able to ride around the orchards on the free bikes provided. We also rented horses and the young man who guided us went out of his way to make it a special experience. He took us to see a newborn horse, and brought some of the cattle on the property into a corral for us to see close up. We loved the common area (pool tables, ping pong, comfortable wicker furniture) and had the place to ourselves the night we were there. We only had breakfast at the restaurant (a really attractive space) and it was good - fruit, yogurt, bread, coffee, juice, and a selection of egg dishes. What we really loved was that all over the property there were interesting things to discover, such as a beautiful building which housed peacocks. We rented two of the cabañas, which were very private. Our only issue was that staff forgot to turn on the water pump, so we had no water in the morning, but they quickly resolved the issue. As other reviewers have noted, there are many insects, which is to be expected considering it is a tropical area, so be sure to come prepared with repellant. We had such a marvelous time that at the hacienda that before we even left we were planning our next visit!

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Juleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

If, like we do, you find that traveling through the Yucatan is a magical experience then this is another great, renovated Hacienda to put on your list of places to stay. It may not have the total luxury of some of the other Haciendas that fly under a certain hospitality flag, but it makes up for it in genuine charm and character as well as value for money.
Located just on the western side of Dzidzantun, a typically sleepy little Yucatan town on rural road 176. Coming from Merida you can drive via Motul, but if approaching from 180 then you might want to think about Izamal which in itself is well worth a visit.
Grecia, at reception could not have been nicer, providing us with a welcome drink as she gave us an orientation and tips of how to enjoy the Hacienda. We had three rooms, all of which were slightly different but all situated between the main reception area and the restaurant and these seemed to be the best rooms on offer. Very spacious with a seating area as well as kitchenette, very nice bathroom and romantic bed complete with mosquito netting. During our visit it was hot so we used the a/c, but in winter I am guessing that you could easily sleep with the windows open, hence the mosquito nets. We also had a dramatic thunderstorm and were happy to be in such solidly built rooms as dramatic bolts of lightening lit up the evening sky. With rain there are always a few bugs, but nothing too bad especially if you use repellant and are aware that the hour either side of dawn and dusk seem to be the moment of peak flying activity for those pesky mosquitos. The rooms also had little private outside areas complete with little cooling plunge pools.
The smiling Eduardo helped us with our bags and was always on hand to get us a bicycle which are free for guests and can be used to explore some of the 190 hectares of grounds, consisting of vast fruit orchards and jungle pathways leading to a wooden observation tower from where we enjoyed a nice breeze as well as watching birds and thousands of multi-coloured butterflies.
After a walk the large swimming pool makes a welcome retreat. This used to be the major water cistern for the working Hacienda and is therefore deeper than some pools, we loved it and if you hang around during restaurant hours the helpful girls will come and offer refreshments. You might want to try a delicious “chelada”, a cold beer served over ice with lime juice and a salted rim to put back what the morning exertions have taken out…
The restaurant is located along a tree lined cobbled pathway, this is not a place for heels ladies, bring sensible footwear, next to what used to be the main machine house of the working Hacienda and it is a splendid setting with tables et up both inside as well as on covered and uncovered terraces. We found the food to be fresh and tasty.
For those looking for additional relaxation there is also a small spa onsite, as well as a games room with a couple of pool tables as well as table tennis.
A couple of parts of the Hacienda are lived in full time and this just adds to the feeling of staying in someone’s rather magnificent, country home. Be sure to take a walk into the gardens where you will be encouraged to help yourself to whatever fruit happens to be in season and a chat with the staff will be enlightening and heart-warming.
We had no idea that the Hacienda’s rooms had little kitchens, so mainly relied on the restaurant, but one night when we were the only guests and the restaurant was not open Grecia volunteered to go get us pizza from town, really going above and beyond… and always with a smile.
As mentioned the grounds are extensive, planted with a great variety of trees and flowering plants that attract birds and other fauna as well as providing welcome shade.
If you seek white-gloved service, gourmet food and Egyptian cotton sheets, this is probably not the place for you. But if you are of the more laid back variety of traveler and want to experience some genuine Yucatan charm then this is definitely a great place to visit, unwind and relax.

Room Tip: The best quality rooms that have a/c are located between reception and the restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cavedodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews