We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
348
13
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
13
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews margo ritas happy hour other guests granola wonderful hosts fish shared kitchen leaky palapa ocean room get away get together coral heads eagle ray every evening new friends barrier reef off the beaten path
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

My husband and I stayed at Sin Duda Villas in January 2018. We like to travel beyond the crowded tourist scene to quieter destinations. Sin Duda Villas was perfect for us. Located just five miles from the small fishing village of Xcalak, near the Belize border, Sin Duda Villas is right on the beach. You can snorkel in the turquoise water from the beach and the coral and fish are plentiful and colorful. Amazing snorkeling. The villas are surrounded by a biological reserve, and just across the road behind them is a huge lagoon surrounded by mangroves. Sin Duda had ocean kayaks available for us to go on an enjoyable paddle in the lagoon to watch the birdlife during our stay.
We had a beautiful second story room with a view of the ocean, and a shared kitchen, which was perfect for our needs. We were impressed with their attention to detail…not only were the room decorations tastefully appointed, but everything including the rooms, breakfast food, snorkel gear, beach seating, books… everything…was clean, organized and well maintained. But the thing that really sets Sin Duda Villas apart is the owners, Lesley and Dave. They went out of their way to create a feeling of community at Sin Duda. Each evening Lesley would make elaborate hors d'oeuvres and margaritas and all the guests would get together for happy hour. So, we got to know everyone staying there. Also, almost every day a local food truck would come by and Lesley or Dave would be sure to let us know so we could get anything we needed. They made a beautiful, relaxing stay even better! We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoadFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We spent 4 days at Sin Duda Villas in early January, at the end of a family trip to the Yucatan and Quintana Roo. I am hesitant to write a review because what we loved most was the quiet, peaceful, off-the-beaten path aspect of this special place. However, Lesley and Dave are two of the best hosts you will ever encounter on your travels and I wanted to give them a shout and a huge thank you for making the finale of our vacation truly memorable.
We have traveled all over the world, always searching for that special place at the end of the road where we can get away from it all. This is one of those places. Go now before it gets discovered. The town is small, the roads are surprisingly good (except that last 5 miles!), the snorkeling is amazing right outside your door, there's a good dive shop in town and a fantastic gourmet restaurant. Food trucks drive by periodically so you can get supplies, but it is best to bring your own and then cook your own meals so you don't have to leave. There are kayaks to use both in the ocean and in the lagoon across the street, snorkeling gear you can use, hammocks--all at no extra cost, which is unique in this day of charging for everything.
Lesley and Dave go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. They host a happy hour every day that is designed to allow guests to gather and share stories about their day's adventure, all while enjoying delicious homemade local snacks and drinks. A very nice touch and we looked forward to those sunset gatherings every day we were there.
We were traveling with four teenagers ages 14-18, one of whom likened our family vacation to "kidnapping" before we left, but at the end when leaving Sin Duda, asked if there might be an internship opportunity here so he could stay longer. That sums up this place--you will not want to leave. If you are hesitating because of the long drive, because you are worried about driving in Mexico, because there are seemingly cool places closer to an airport, and all the other reasons not to go--I'm telling you to go. If you have read this far into this review, you won't be disappointed. Your only disappointment will be when you have to leave and realize that you should definitely have stayed longer.
--Jill and Michael, Anchorage, Alaska

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view and a kitchen.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbean65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Sin Duda is a lovely, small hotel with super comfortable rooms right on the beach, 4-5 hours south of Cancun. The proprietors are lovely, helpful, and warm. Rooms on the second floor have a shared kitchen, which was a real plus for us. Fabulous for swimming, snorkeling and peaceful walks along the beach. Mayan ruins an hour and a half away by car. The town, surprisingly, boasts a top notch restaurant (The Leaky Palapa). If you want to get away from the tourist scene in Playa, Cancun, and elsewhere, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Let me say that this is one of the most amazing little corner of paradise that I had the chance to visit. Lovely place, lovely nature, lovely people. You will be surrounded by a very familiar atmosphere ... Margaritas, lobsters, palapas, seaside, snorkeling and all the beautiful feelings coming from a golden silence . If you are lucky enough to be there when the full moon is up and it shines, I can promise that standing in front of her majesty by drinking a couple of glasses of good champagne with your lady, it's definitely worth the entire price of the ticket !
Anyway forget the shine and glitter of Tulum beaches and enjoy the natural rhythm of this unique and regenerating place.
Lesley and Dave are super-nice hosts !!!
Ciao.

Room Tip: Room with a view , is a must !
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franzscazfranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Our family, 2 moms and teen daughter, spent four days here with our friends in mid December, 2017. Dave and Leslie are wonderful hosts. We snorkeled and strolled on the beach; cooked simple meals in the well appointed kitchenette. We felt like we arrived in paradise! This is a great spot to watch birds and sea life and completely relax. Read under the palipa and stop for a margarita during happy hour!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews