We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super week with Ben and Ester. April 17”
Review of Casa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xcalak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Paraiso
Ranked #2 of 4 Xcalak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017

this pqraiso is perfect place to enjoy beach, fishing and the company of a cool family.

Breakfasts in the palapa were superb. Just a great place to be in Xcalak

Wills be going back the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: upper level rooms overlook everything and get great wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

Location could not be any better, and the new management make sure it stays that way. Beach is pristine and groomed to stay that way. Views, access to the reef, sports equipment, organization of fishing guides - it's all first class.
Plus you get owners Ben, Esther and children, not to mention daily check-ins from the world's friendliest dog, all of them tuned into you and what you wish to do. So you get a family atmosphere along with your room. During our stay which included 6 days of hard fishing (guides organized by the hotel), nothing broke or failed. Not quite the rooms you will find for $450/night at Cancun, but these are completely comfortable, and what you really want if you have decided Xcalak is the place you want to be.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JockAkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Ben and Esther changed the name from Casa Carolina to Casa Paraiso. Right on the beach. This was a fishing trip and the fly fishing was stupendous. If you don't have guided plans I recommend Phillipe. Great guide. They are now occasionally preparing meals at their palapa and Eduardo, Ben's son is a great cook. This is a special place.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms. Upstairs is a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egabele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

I arranged a two-night visit via email with Ben at Casa Paraiso.

Xcalak is about 10km from Ambergris Caye in Belize (although it takes hours to get there by road). It's a sleepy fishing village with a remarkable coastline. Casa Paraiso is a B&B run by Ben, an American guy, and his Mexican wife Ester. But it's so much more than a B&B. It's more of a homestay in many ways.

Most visitors seem to be Americans who go there for water based activities - fishing, snorkelling, diving, kayaking, swimming - and relaxation. But mostly fishing.

They offered me a room in the house next door to the main house. It didn't have a kitchen, and it was certainly more basic than the other rooms, but it was less expensive ($80/nt incl breakfast) and was absolutely fine for me as a single traveller.

Wifi was spotty, but when it worked, it worked well. And always better in the main palapa/hub of the B&B.

For two days, I did very little. The hosts' son m, Eduardo, cooked us a meal of shrimps the first night. On the second night, I went to eat at Silvia's, a local place which caters mostly for colectivo drivers. I read, went for a couple of runs, and took walks along the beach. Sunrise was pretty cool.

On my second morning, and on Ben's recommendation, I took a kayak out to go snorkelling off shore. A great experience.

All in all, it was a wonderful couple of days. Too bad there were so many mosquitoes. And the biting horse flies were relentless on the sand during the day. Apparently it's a seasonal thing - they appear just before the start of the rainy season. Same thing with the evil smelling seaweed along the shore. They've got two guys working full time to clear it at the moment.

Hmmm.....I hope I've not just made it sound awful by mentioning that. It was amazing!!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank pdmancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben S, Owner at Casa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Hello Peter,
Thanks for your great review....and yes...because of the recent rain the mosquitoes finally came out after 4 months of no rain. The horse flies do come out between now and July and have a nasty bite. Glad you had a great time.
All the best from Casa Parasio...
Warm Caribbean Regards,
Ben and Esther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Spent 10 days at the Casa and I'd be tempted to say that they are probably the best I've had down South over the last 15 years. This is the perfect place to spend time by the sea. You get all the advantages of an all-included package if that is what you're seeking as well as all the conveniences and freedom of a trip in a do-it-on-your own mode. The owners, Ester and Ben, are extremely pleasant, congenial and reserved. They keep the grounds in immaculate condition and are always available to ensure your stay is most pleasurable. Very hearty breakfasts are included in the daily fee, which are taken in the lovely casita next to the rooms. One can take dinners there too if desired, taking advantage of the tasty menu offered. The garlic shrimps are succulent. The rooms have a very functional cuisinette and a large fridge to store food for maing one's meals and a truck of local vendors passes by at least twice a week offering fruits and vegetables and meats, with the occasional offering of shrimps. This is simply a marvelous place for a good bout of farniente, water activities, and (fly)fishing. A roomy and comfortable panga and an exceptional young guide are available for fishing the flats, in the pursuit of bonefish, permit, tarpon, etc. Espero que podamos volver a visitar ese sitio de ensueño en año próximo. Gracias a Ester y Ben por todo.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
1.1 km away
Costa de Cocos
Costa de Cocos
#1 of 2 in Xcalak
124 reviews
30.2 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 55 in San Pedro
157 reviews
27.8 km away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#41 of 55 in San Pedro
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 km away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices

Been to Casa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Paraiso

Address: Beach road Calle Costero | 2 kms north of Xcalak pueblo, Xcalak 77940, Mexico (Formerly Casa Carolina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Xcalak
Price Range: RM256 - RM434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Yucatan's Caribbean coast in the village of Xcalak, Casa Carolina is a beachfront B&B catering to travelers who desire something different. With only four guestrooms, Casa Paraiso offers privacy, intimacy, and individual attention in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. All rooms are oceantfront. Breakfast is included, and all rooms have kitchenettes, giving you the option of eating in or dining out for the rest of your meals. Kayaks and bicycles are included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Carolina Hotel Xcalak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing