We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food, service and beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best food, service and beach”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here in January 2010. Food and service were excellent!
They have many restaurants to choose from and we were impressed how good they were. No reservations were necessary and you can order off menu at all times. Our favorite was the restaurant at the beach. The lunch buffet had really delicious dishes with high quality ingredients.
The beach has a smoothie hut where you can get fresh fruit smoothies that were delicious. The beach had lots of comfortable chairs to lounge on and a great beach for walking. The pool on the other hand, was beautiful but they didn't have the heat on and it was freezing cold! It was January and I thought they should have heated it!
My co worker also stayed here in February of the same year and liked it so much went back again the next year!

We have also stayed at the Grand Pladium when it first opened and we thought that was unbelievable too! The price was higher though so we tried this hotel and loved it!

Room Tip: We had the second floor looking out at the Jungle area with the walking path to the pool and always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gamblers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,140
    1,868
    495
    153
    74
See reviews for
513
5,102
75
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almada, Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

First the nice things: the rooms are pretty good and the garden between buildings is amazing! Food falls below expectations and the facilities are not enough for the amount of people the hotel can hold.
On the food: nice and even sofisticated for lunch time, reallyweak for dinner time: in the italian restaurant, the caneloni where not fully cooked, like they were frozen and the microwave did not have enoiugh tme to even melt the cheese... On the grill restaurant the prime rib is like a forth of the thickness of a regular american prime rib... I mention american because in the menu it is all abour USDA certificated meet. Wine is overly poored and the restaurant manager besides almost topping the glass with wine was able to spill wine all over me. Very poor experience three times in the grill and one in he italian.
On the beach: the beach front is to small for the amount of people the hotel takes (around 600), with the result that is becomes easily crowded to the point you have to reserve your chairs with the towels before 7:00AM... The pool is also small for the amount of people the hotel carries. As a sugestion, try to rent some more 50 metters of beach to the left and right of the hotel frontline and it migh help improve things.
Italians are also a nuisance, due to the noise they are able to develop... An I am southern european (portuguese) so I can cope with the noise of oter people. You can nonetheless notice when a bunch moves out and the place gets a lot nicer - quieter.
Employees very nice.

Room Tip: Top floors a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arkansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is one of those times I wish trip advisor would let you rate different things about the hotel separately because there were things about this resort that were really five star and a few things that were two star. We will start with the worst and work up to the best. So we travel about four to five time a year and we frequently stay in all inclusives. I have been to many along the Riviera Maya. When we checked in our desk woman tried to get us to go see a time share presentation to get a free room upgrade. After I have paid to stay at a resort I don't want to be hard sold a time share or lose a whole day of vacation. I was told if we didnt go to this we would have to have a room close the the lobby without a king bed. Our reservation was for a king. Then we got to the room. We are a married couple. Two double beds arent exactly romantic. So we slept in a wee bed together no big deal. Good thing we are still all about each other because it made for close sleeping. I went to the bathroom to relieve myself and the toilet seat slid right off the toilet almost dumping me into the bowl. Humorous definitely: inconvenient yes. The phone in our room didn't work all ten days we were there. The fridge didn't work all week either even though we submitted a maintenance request for all of these things on the first day. So we had no cold beverages all week unless we got them from the bar. Alright on this one...........really Catalonia? work with me here. The room looked like a holiday inn decorated in the 1980's. The t.v was literally about 13 inches and was one of those fun fat square little box t.v's that I don't think have been around in thirty years. We don't come to watch t.v so whatever. Not a big deal but not very upscale or nice. There was no room service menu or any hotel information in the room. No big deal we got it at the front desk. None of these things are the end of the world but I have stayed at much nicer places for the price. Taking care of the maintenance issues would have prompted me to give this place four stars instead of three.

Alright now the good things. The staff here is really incredibly friendly and they do great work with very few exceptions. The bartenders at the lobby bar and the waitresses there are really top notch and make really nice drinks. The food at the resort is pretty decent as all inclusives go. It's not fine dining but its about like eating at an olive garden or something like that. Very edible. The best thing about this place by far are the grounds and the beach. There are a lot of trees on the beach which allow for nice shade, and great jungle lined walk ways that really add to the ambiance. We really enjoyed seeing the lounging iguanas and all the birds. That was really lovely. One more word about this place that has nothing to do with the hotel. Usually when I travel I am embarrassed by the rude Americans. This resort was covered up with rude Italians who have apparently been taking notes from their rude American counter parts. I love meeting people from all over the world and speak a little of several languages . Some of the behavior I saw from this group toward the staff and other guests was pretty outrageous. Manners go a long way no matter where you are from.

Room Tip: apparently the nicer rooms are near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SterlingSmithJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angel j, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Catalonia Royal Tulum, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Client,

First of all we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay at the Catalonia Royal Tulum.

Referring to your issue with the front desk clerk, we are stremely surprised, since it is not part of the policy of our hotel chain to offer any kind of time sharing, so far. Our compromise is to investigate the case, and arrive to the very end, in order that situation is not suffered for any other of our clients. Here, we would like to ask you or any oder client under the same circunstances to reported inmediately to the hotel management. We want to manifest that this is a non allowed practice.

Then an referring to the maintenace issues, we as a hotel, recognize that something may no work properly in a given moment, for that cases, we got a maintenance department working 24h a day. Also, we recognize that some devices may no be repeared depending on a piece. For that cases we got our concierge department, reporting directly to the management, that under this circunstances gives you always an acceptable solution.

Finally, we want to thank for your time taken to write this review, because even the negative points are the best gift in our goal of providing a better service everyday. And we are glad to read that the staff is one of our best assets, since we believe that is the key in providing as our slogan says "The best treatment of the Riviera Maya".

Hopefully, you give us the opportunity of counting on you as one of our guest one more time, to proof you that we addressed all the issues you reported, and provide you the kind of service that Catalonia Hotels provides.

We rest at your disposal if you want to add any other valious comments or details,

Thank you again,

Angel Juana
Resident Manager
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We just returned from a week at CRT. We love this resort as it is our second time there. It is quiet and peaceful with a beautiful beach, pool and surroundings. The rooms are comfortable but not lavish. It is a great place for couples but I would not recommend it for for those who want to meet a lot of people or have a busy nightlife.
I took advantage of the daily activities that were offered by the hotel, including yoga, stretching, water aerobics,
Spanish class, and how to make guacamole. Zsuzsa ("Suzie") is an absolutely charming,, engaging, multilingual entertainment staff member. I wanted to take her home. Be sure to take a class with her. Martin too, is enthusiastic, fun and talented. He even make a CD for me of Latin music. All of the other employees of the hotel were genuinely friendly and patient with my pathetic Spanish. We tipped waiters at every meal, bartenders for every drink, and cleaning staff each day. You don't have to but they work really hard. Do bring a lot of one dollar bills. We took a one day trip to snorkle with turtles and swim in a Cenote. It was fun but a little pricey. The cenote was disappointing as we thought we would be snorkeling through a cave but it turned out to be a freshwater open air cavern. Lunch was to provided but it turned out to be just a warm sandwich. All in all, this resort is perfect for us and we will probably return again next year.

Room Tip: We had a Jr. suite last year in bldg. 5. This year we were in bldg. 3. There was absolutely no diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

let me start by saying there are alot of Italians at this resort and the veraclub is there for them, so either get over it or go somewhere else. We stayed here from Feb 24 to Mar 2. the weather was great, it rained our second day but did not ruin our day.We were in building 6 closest to the beach, it is a bit of a walk to the lobby and most of the restaurants , about 3 minutes, but we loved the walk, the beach was beautiful, the pool area is very nice but you want to get down there early and put a towel over your lounge chairs as they are taken very quick and its hard to get one in the afternoon.The food was good but not great. The staff was great . We did do 2 trips, 1 to xplor and 1 to xelha, both places were awsome and highly recommend both, We did xcaret and xichen/valladolid last year and would recommend them as well, last year we stayed at the hyatt in cancun. This was our first trip to CRT. I wont be returning to this resort but it has nothing to do with the resort, the staff or the Italians, it is because we like to try something different on every trip. We also went into Playa del carmen on 2 different days, it cost 20 u.s dollars one way but worth it to get out and about some, there is nothing with in walking distance from CRT, my wife and i like to walk and explore alot but if you just want to relax on the beach or by the pool, you will love this place. We did upgrade to the honeymoon suite, not that we are newlywedders , we have been married 32 yrs, but you do get a free 30 min massage for both and we got a candle lit dinner on the beach with a four course meal and a bottle of wine.The room was nice but we found the bed a little hard.It was nice seeing all the animals around the resort and take a banana out in the ocean with you and the Angel fish will swarm around you to eat it.

Room Tip: If you dont mind walking building 6 is nice because its closest to the beach, and even though tips a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CeliaW6780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
14.9 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.5 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,367 reviews
14.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
28.4 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,822 reviews
29.6 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Property: Catalonia Royal Tulum
Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price range (per night): RM945 - RM3,055
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing