We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Boot & Slipper

Boot & Slipper
Ranked #25 of 73 Restaurants in Amersham
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Just been to the Boot and Slipper for dinner with the family. Fantastic dinner, service great, staff happy and friendly and excellent food. Tasty hot and well cooked, if only it was this good every time it would be the only place I went to. Many thanks the staff of the Boot and Slipper.

Thank enginemanbhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BootandSlipper, Manager at Boot & Slipper, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review of The Boot and Slipper.

I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your evening with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

The Boot and Slipper Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Had the most disappointing experience today. The service was very slow, with broken promises of timescales. Having arrived at 1pm (3 joining the table 10 mins later).We had to ask several times for our drinks. Then ended up getting one for ourself from the bar. We were then told there was no jacket potato. Also there would be a further 20 min delay for food. After several complaints the food eventually arrived at 3.30!! The steak for 3 of the group lived up to the name of ‘boot-‘-it was as tough as boots.
The manager apologised. We should hear by Tuesday an outcome of his enquiry but he said we had been badly let down. The waitress did her best delivering messages politely,however all promises of food being plated up turned out to be untrue the wait continued.
We won’t return.

1  Thank julesorme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Visited on Saturday 20th Jan, told no room in restaurant but we could eat in the function room, fine. However, we were given our menus at the desk weren’t shown to our table!! Another staff member had to intervene and take us. Food has gone terribly downhill, I had rump steak (very chewy), the smallest jacket potato ever, salad was 4 bits of lambs lettuce with a sliced, fried mushroom on top, 2 minuscule onion rings & half a tomato. Our other meals were 2 x mixed grills (not great), gammon (ok), and a child’s chicken wrap but we had to ask for the cheese that was meant to accompany it. Had to ask for cutlery as none provided and nobody came to ask if our meals were ok. We didn’t bother with dessert! Our bills was £78.00 which included 1 round of drinks (1 beer, 1 pint coke, 1 appletiser and a tea) In my opinion it is really overpriced and completely disappointing - we won’t be going back, which is a shame as it always used to be lovely.

1  Thank bundits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BootandSlipper, Manager at Boot & Slipper, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Hello,
Let me start by saying how sorry I am to hear of your experience.
There must have been some sort of communication error. We do not to table service in any area of the pub except the restaurant. You would have been given the menus, expected to find your own table and order through the bar. I'm terribly sorry this wasn't communicated to you.
We were unexpectedly busy on Saturday, this of course is no excuse for you to be unhappy with your meals. It should have been sorted in-house while you were still dinning with us, which would of course happened had someone come to check your meals were okay.
We are currently recruiting for new staff as we desperately need a larger team.
Please come back and try us again soon. I'm sure we can alter your opinion of us.

Thank you for your review
The Boot and Slipper Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

This pub/restaurant is a typical chef and brewer "pub grub" type of place. Beer not that great and food all a bit big standard. Not very expensive.

If you've got lots of time and no expectations you may be able to spend a couple of enjoyable hours here.

The service at bar and table was all a bit chaotic but we eventually got what we ordered. When we visited there were lots of families with young kids in the restaurant which was fine - it's that type of place.

2  Thank trumpeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BootandSlipper, Manager at Boot & Slipper, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

I'm sorry to hear you found the atmosphere chaotic.
We change our selection of beers often and clean the beer lines with strict regularity, so I apologise we had nothing to your liking.
We are a family and dog friendly pub.

Thank you for your review.
The Boot and Slipper team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Food was tasty but the service was very slow. Initial feedback from staff was poor but a discount was later applied.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BootandSlipper, Manager at Boot & Slipper, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Thank you for your review,
Sorry to hear the service was slow on the day of your visit.
I'm glad we could rectify the problem and that the food was tasty.

The boot and Slipper Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boot & Slipper also viewed

 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Boot & Slipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing