We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, dated hotel in beautiful grounds...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Neots
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbotsley Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Neots
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Room basic but clean. hotel is quite shabby - fabric worn off the arms of the chair, awful faded plastic flowers decorating reception, etc.
Staff are pleasant, surrounding golf course is immaculate. Lots of parking, which is good.
Restaurant not good - very basic menu - lasagne served with chips?! hardly any vegetarian options. Menu needs updating, you'd think it was from 20 years ago. Cooked breakfast is better than the dinner! the 'gym' is a joke.
And... the worst bit for business customers is there is only wifi available in the reception lounge area. Come on it's 2017! Could be great if they put some effort in.

Room Tip: would recommend view over golf course, rather than facing car park..... or all you'll be hearing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hummingbird83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

The second course here is the Cromwell, a bit parkland but a not a bad course in quite good condition a long course with some challenges offered, food is good here and the service is always professional and friendly. Plenty of parking for cars you need to book this course in advance.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Getabout01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

I have been visiting Abbotsley annually, as part of a large group on a 4 day golf break for over 12 years. This is due principally toour appreciation of the challenges presented by the main Abbotsley course, on which we play all of our golf. In truth our repeat custom has been in spite of the comforts of the hotel ( rooms clean but very basic ), the standard of food ( inedible in years past ) and the all important bar ( prone to running out of draught real ale on at least 5 visits ). Despite being advised that 9 holes of the Abbotsley had been taken out of play due to the need to relay greens following vandalism to the course we were loathe to cancel our trip. Reflections following our latest trip are as follows -
1 - The 9 holes in play on the Abbotsley were shockingly presented. The fairways were uncut and the temporary green on the 5th hole was a disgrace ( virtually indistinguishable from the fairway ). The greens were also very poor. It was extremely disappointing that no effort had been made to present the holes in play in their best possible condition and especially so given the return of a loyal group who only play that course.
2 - The Cromwell course, which we hadn't played for 12 years, proved an unexpected treat. Well maintained ( bunkers excepted ) and now much matured, it may not present the stern challenge of The Abbotsley, but it's very enjoyable to play and probably tough enough for many of us in all honesty.
3 - The meals continue to be no more than average. I had chicken curry and pork belly mains, both of which were ok but the cheap bit of frozen cod on my other night really wasn't good enough.
4 - We were given complimentary sandwiches and chips each day by way of compensation for not being able to play the Abbotsley, which was a nice touch. The staff, and most particularly Sam, were also very helpful and friendly.
5 - A night with no draught beer yet again, although to be fair Sam did get some bottled real ale in.
6 - 1 member of our party was charged £160 for 2 rounds with a overnight B&B stay, which is frankly simply not worth the money.

The group was divided as to next year with some wanting to persevere but others of the opinion that there are many substantially better alternatives within a similar price bracket.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Lovely golf course.
Great area.
Plenty of parking.
Food average.
Rooms basic but ok for an overnight. Had tea and coffee facilities but deco is all very dated. Can hardly see the 15" tv hidden in the corner of the ceiling.
Staff are friendly.
Overall ok.
Would stay again if needed to be in the area again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Staff friendly and efficient. Food basic, room in need of modernisation. No wifi in the bedrooms, just the public areas (a separate building) - but fortunately faxes can be delivered and payment by Solo or Cheque Guarantee Card are welcome (both of which ceased to exist in 2011). Will not rush back.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Lakes_guy_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Neots
4.2 km away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
4.2 km away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
4 km away
Premier Inn St. Neots (Colmworth Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The Whitehouse Guesthouse
5.7 km away
The Eaton Oak
The Eaton Oak
#2 of 3 in St Neots
90 reviews
4 km away
Nags Head Hotel
Nags Head Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Neots
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsley Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsley Golf Hotel

Address: Potton Road, St Neots E19 6XN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Neots
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Neots
Price Range: RM 191 - RM 230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsley Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbotsley Golf Hotel is located within 250 acres of beautiful parkland. It offers en suite rooms, restaurant, 3 golf courses and excellent leisure facilities. The Abbotsley course is an 18-hole championship course where various national and regional tournaments have been held. It is regarded as one of the finest in the area. All of Abbotsley Golf’s rooms have a TV and tea and coffee making facilities; many have beautiful views over the golf courses and gardens and a bath. Abbotsley has 3 bars, 2 with Sky Sports TV, and guests can enjoy a fitness room, a comfortable lounge area, a pool table and free high-speed internet in the bar area. We speak your language! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing