We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Smithy

Cosy up by the wood burning stove.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy up by the wood burning stove.
Books, board games and CDs for you to enjoy Sky+ HD TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Cosy up by the wood burning stove.
Books, board games and CDs for you to enjoy
Sky+ HD TV
Monthly Cheshire Life Magazine
Hand built kitchen with Leisure Range gas cooker
Well equipped kitchen
Kitchen with views onto the country lane and over the fields
Good size farmhouse kitchen
Comfortable beds with quality bedding and towels
1st double bedroom with settee and tv
2nd good size double bedroom with original beams
2nd good sized double bedroom
Selection of soaps etc
Enjoy a relaxing bath in the beamed bathroom
Well signed 'The Old Smithy'
Beautiful views of Cheshire countryside
Views from the courtyard....plenty of parking room
Enjoy morning coffee in the small garden...or an evening wine
Pretty garden
Entrance to the garden sitting area...with BBQ
'Welcome'....I have made the cottage so comfortable for you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Nantwich, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Donna H
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A lovely cottage in the countryside. It was well equipped and we enjoyed the log fire in the evenings. A good base to travel to the Potteries and surrounding areas. Good communication with host and easy check in and departure. We enjoyed our stay in the Old Smithy.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claranda
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very cosy and well-equipped”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at the cottage for three days in August and were quite comfortable.

The location was rural - about 6km to Nantwich - but with several good eating pubs within only 1 or 2 km. The weather was so awful that we needed the radiators on; the heating and hot water were excellent. The kitchen is well-equipped, although there was a bit of mould around the fridge door, so this may need replacing. The appliances all worked and there is a huge range cooker if you want to go all culinary... .

Upstairs the bedrooms are very nice, although they only have 4' 6" beds. The owner had said we could use one each, and we did, as in common with many people it is years since we squeezed into an English double. Bedding was of super quality, with good pillows, but the effect was let down a bit by cheap chests of drawers which either stuck or were in danger of falling apart. Plenty of hangars, though, a real plus. No hair-dryer is supplied but I was able to borrow one from the owner.

The bathroom was very nice, although at 5' 10" I found myself knocking into the eaves a bit! The over-bath shower worked very well, plenty of room to move around.

The living room was cosy and the two sofas very comfortable. The TV is large and had a great range of stations. Having the owners just across the driveway was useful when we had trouble sorting out the TV/DVD player and the internet, and they were unfailingly helpful and friendly, though not intrusive.

We would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central heating and hot water
Liked least: The small beds and cheap bedroom furniture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyMcL6...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We would highly recommend "The Smithy"”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in The Smithy for the weekend with two of our daughters. An ideal location and a truly wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feeling!
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnDanny
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed in. Wonderful setting.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Even though it is only day 2 of our mini break I just had to write to tell everyone just how fab this place is. The Old Smithy only looks small from the outside but opens up like a tardis. With its wood burner in the lounge and large kitchen/diner truly the attention to detail is amazing. The bedrooms are huge.....I wish my bedroom was as big as this. We only live an hour away but this really is a get away from it all relaxing spot.....with wifi. So close to idilic villages and lovely pubs and restaurants, it is the perfect place to hang up your hat and unwind. Eileen has been so helpful and easy to contact. She will make you feel welcome and special.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The Old Smithy is delightful! It is clean, superbly furnished and decorated, with a highly equipped kitchen. All the creature comforts you'd want and a cosy sitting room with an open fire (there is also central heating). I enjoyed a quiet couple of days here and definitely have it on my list of places I'd visit again. Thank you so much for wonderful hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the cottage and having the log fire.
Liked least: The proximity to the road. Traffic noise was sometimes an issue.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing