We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill House Farm(Tarporley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Tarporley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rock Farm(Tarporley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
312
171
46
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
312
171
46
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunt roomcoaching innhigh streetbath saltslovely villagestable blockroast dinnercoach housefish and chipsbeer gardenoulton parkone night staya lovely place to stayfour postercar parkstaff were attentivefull english
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

We only stayed for 1 night on Sat 28 May as we attended a wedding locally - the room was clean and facilities as expected - breakfast and service were fine - we really enjoyed our short stay and would definitely return

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Visited The Swan today with four family members.We have frequented here for many years as we live locally and the food has always been a reasonable standard however both in today and my previous visit three weeks ago I have been most disappointed. M sister daughter and I ordered Steak frites which couldn't be simpler however the fries were obviously crinkle cut frozen and the three steaks were all poor .The salad was next to nothing and my other daughters tagliatelle was totally without flavour. This has always been an establishment that I have recommended for a pub meal in the past but sadly no longer.Shame.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank ChesterPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Met colleagues for an evening meal, 8 of us. Very slow bar service but in fairness they looked quite busy. Food ordered, we waited and waited with no update - it took over 90 minutes for starters to arrive (which were ok, just average) Staff apologetic and looked genuinely embarrassed to be working here. After a few complaints the main courses arrived, except one that is - they forgot about and forgot to tell us they had run out of lamb. We had to order a new meal separately . A discount was offered but the point was lost. A couple of us had a room here - tired but fairly comfortable. The breakfast was poor! SLOW service 30 minutes for it to arrive and we were the only ones there.

Wow this place needs a serious management shift in attitude! I would never return here

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

I was pleasantly surprised to find this stylish hotel in an traditional coaching inn. A nightmare journey on the M6 led to an extremely late (after midnight) check in, where we were met with sympathy, helpfulness and the ability to make a restoring cup of tea. A weekend stay for a wedding meant I only needed a single room but despite this the room was beautifully finished whilst maintaining its traditional charm.
The restaurant was clearly popular with the locals and despite trying circumstances the staff were all friendly and helpful.
I would thoroughly recommend this for a weekend to explore the surrounding countryside or as an alternative to a soulless but reliable chain if doing something nearby.

Room Tip: Main hotel could be noisy as on High Street, worth it. Modern conversion on ground floor quieter (less character) rooms at the back
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASBBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Staying here is always a pleasure, excellent food and pleasant staff. Avoiding the single bed rooms is always wise. Meal was excellent and the young girl with the red hair served out table of 12 very efficiently.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank Travelgo_visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews