We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal..”
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Visited the village as par of our Silver Wedding Anniversary trip to Cheshire.. Beautiful village and the choice was on the spur of the moment. Ordered the Swan Burger and when it arrived it looked stunning and it tasted stunning ..
Lots of other meals on the menu too and a comfortable environment to relax in too..

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ncrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

We only stayed for 1 night on Sat 28 May as we attended a wedding locally - the room was clean and facilities as expected - breakfast and service were fine - we really enjoyed our short stay and would definitely return

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Visited The Swan today with four family members.We have frequented here for many years as we live locally and the food has always been a reasonable standard however both in today and my previous visit three weeks ago I have been most disappointed. M sister daughter and I ordered Steak frites which couldn't be simpler however the fries were obviously crinkle cut frozen and the three steaks were all poor .The salad was next to nothing and my other daughters tagliatelle was totally without flavour. This has always been an establishment that I have recommended for a pub meal in the past but sadly no longer.Shame.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank ChesterPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Met colleagues for an evening meal, 8 of us. Very slow bar service but in fairness they looked quite busy. Food ordered, we waited and waited with no update - it took over 90 minutes for starters to arrive (which were ok, just average) Staff apologetic and looked genuinely embarrassed to be working here. After a few complaints the main courses arrived, except one that is - they forgot about and forgot to tell us they had run out of lamb. We had to order a new meal separately . A discount was offered but the point was lost. A couple of us had a room here - tired but fairly comfortable. The breakfast was poor! SLOW service 30 minutes for it to arrive and we were the only ones there.

Wow this place needs a serious management shift in attitude! I would never return here

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

I was pleasantly surprised to find this stylish hotel in an traditional coaching inn. A nightmare journey on the M6 led to an extremely late (after midnight) check in, where we were met with sympathy, helpfulness and the ability to make a restoring cup of tea. A weekend stay for a wedding meant I only needed a single room but despite this the room was beautifully finished whilst maintaining its traditional charm.
The restaurant was clearly popular with the locals and despite trying circumstances the staff were all friendly and helpful.
I would thoroughly recommend this for a weekend to explore the surrounding countryside or as an alternative to a soulless but reliable chain if doing something nearby.

Room Tip: Main hotel could be noisy as on High Street, worth it. Modern conversion on ground floor quieter (l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASBBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
1.0 km away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.0 km away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
359 reviews
6.4 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
908 reviews
12.5 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
13.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: RM324 - RM813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th century Swan has been welcoming guests through its doors for over 400 years, and was once a convenient resting place for those travelling the 200 miles from London to Chester. Today, our comfortable rooms and welcoming bar and dining areas mean that The Swan continues to be a haven for visitors from far and wide. A regular winner of the Best Kept Village award, Tarporley appears in the Domesday Book of 1086. Back then, Tarporley was home to just eight households, but today is one of the largest villages in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, with antique, curio, craft and fashion shops lining its streets. Some of The Swan’s most historic features are located in its Hunt Room, home to the Tarporley Hunt Club. Founded in 1762, it is the oldest in England. The club historically met twice annually at The Swan, with each meeting lasting seven days and the hunting taking place largely within the nearby Delamere Forest. In the founding set of rules, members were required to drink “three collar bumpers” after both dinner and supper, and, in the event of marriage, to present each club member with a pair of buckskin breeches. The Tarporley Hunt Club still meet once a year today, a quarter of a millennium after Obidiah Lane went hare coarsing with his chums and decided, after much merriment at the Swan, this should happen every year; “We shall meet for the purposes of general conviviality” he declared! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing