We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time”
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

First time to this hotel and found it extremely comfortable with an exceptionally helpful staff. A little limited in terms of its bar timings, which mirrored more of a pub rather than a hotel but having said that the staff were obliging enough to find a way to accommodate our late request.
Enjoyable time, finished with a most satisfying breakfast.
Will return if back in the area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

The Swan Hotel is in the busy Main Street of Tarporley. A busy long established Hotel, it is beginning to show its age. A period building with all the peculiarities of age, for many visitors it would be quaint and engaging. As a single traveller the rooms are cramped, the ensuite facilities just accommodate my expanded body shape and overall require redecoration. The hanging space for my clothes were a series of pegs behind the door.

The title for my review is not a fault of the Hotel, but for anyone who is a light or troubled sleeper beware of the bells. The church clock strikes every quarter hour and then chimes the hour. Believe me if you happen to wake you will count every quarter hour until you are due to rise.

Aside from the cramped rooms, the restaurant service is okay, the menu has changed over the years I have visited, but competition within the street mean that the menu is restricted, the service is adequate to poor,and the food is not always best presented.

The hotel,has a car park to the rear. Space is limited and the spaces small access is tight and the entrance is not immediately visible. The alternative close by is street parking so you can be parking some distance from the hotel. To add insult to injury when I visited some of the parking had been given over to tables, for outside drinkers.

I understand that with a period building there are limits to what can be achieved, but given the area I am sad to report this is the worse hotel I go to with my work.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ajayloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

On arrival we had a very friendly welcome followed by a wholesome and filling lunch. Our room was large and snuggly - a very comfortable bed for us and plenty of room for our 6 year old. Breakfast this morning was VERY enjoyable - and extremely filling!

We had thought we would stay in central Chester but we are really pleased we didn’t. Tarporley is very picturesque. Thank you - we will be back again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank stegs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here in this charming old hotel. The four poster bed in room 10 was unbelievably comfortable and we both slept very well. Rooms are very clean with polite, welcoming staff. Yes the floor boards creaked but this only adds to the experience of staying in an old building. We wouldn't hesitate in staying here again in the future.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank awaywegomarkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Popped in here for a drink whilst visiting Tarporley. Sat in reception and also in bar at back of the hotel. Lovely atmosphere and very busy (Saturday evening) lovely open fire in room at the back of the hotel. Def recommend for a drink.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
1 km away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
4 km away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
366 reviews
6.4 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
12.5 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
13.2 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: RM318 - RM652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th century Swan has been welcoming guests through its doors for over 400 years, and was once a convenient resting place for those travelling the 200 miles from London to Chester. Today, our comfortable rooms and welcoming bar and dining areas mean that The Swan continues to be a haven for visitors from far and wide. A regular winner of the Best Kept Village award, Tarporley appears in the Domesday Book of 1086. Back then, Tarporley was home to just eight households, but today is one of the largest villages in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, with antique, curio, craft and fashion shops lining its streets. Some of The Swan’s most historic features are located in its Hunt Room, home to the Tarporley Hunt Club. Founded in 1762, it is the oldest in England. The club historically met twice annually at The Swan, with each meeting lasting seven days and the hunting taking place largely within the nearby Delamere Forest. In the founding set of rules, members were required to drink “three collar bumpers” after both dinner and supper, and, in the event of marriage, to present each club member with a pair of buckskin breeches. The Tarporley Hunt Club still meet once a year today, a quarter of a millennium after Obidiah Lane went hare coarsing with his chums and decided, after much merriment at the Swan, this should happen every year; “We shall meet for the purposes of general conviviality” he declared! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing