We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint and Quiet”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Vetulonia, Province of Grosseto, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Draebrenn...
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and Quiet”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is quiet and lovely.Located in Vetulonia a very lovely hilltop village with nerby Etruscan ruins it is very rustic and not quite that easy to get to for people that may have problems with walking, but it is very cute and lovely. This is a work in progress and for having just started out the previous year it has much to offer. Clecia and her husband (Antoine, I think) were very apologetic for the hike to get down to the cottage and refused to let us carry our luggage down. This place offers beautiful vista views of Castiglione della Pescaia and the Tyrrhenian Sea. We were given a map of the surrounding area and attractions that were not to be missed and books on the area as well. The only thing that I think would be improved upon is the hike to get down to the cottage and the provisions for the kitchen and the bathroom, but all in all it had the basics and sometimes that is more than enough. There are two donkeys that will come to greet you of a morning and evening they are Stella and Gina and they were a very lovely treat for me. I and my husband very much enjoyed our stay here and expect nothing but improvements in the future as Clecia and her husband were working on the property while we were there to make yet another cottage for renting. This was just what we needed to start off our trip to Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet
Liked least: the hike down
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie02...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at Clelia and Andrea's cottage in the Tuscan hills. This really was a wonderful trip, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This really is the place to go for a relaxing and peaceful break.
The location is great, 2 hours or so from Pisa airport, and close enough to both Florence and Siena to go on day trips if you wish.
The cottage is small but perfectly formed, and had everything we needed, with wonderful views of the countryside too! Clelia and Andrea are really lovely couple, very welcoming and so willing to help. We ate at their home one evening when Andrea cooked an absolutely delicious meal.
We would love to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2013
Hello Natalie and Quentin. Thank you so much for your review, for us is very important and so gratefull to know that our guest have had a nice holiday at our cottage.
Thanks again a hugs
Clelia e Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bouwke
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What is written is true, It really is paradise...the whole package!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It was a cold, wet windy afternoon when we arrived. Clelia ushers us inside with a coffee, with Mama and Andrea followed by wine and conversation, the evening was a taste sensation extraordinaire. Nothing was too much, in fact you say it and the taste sensations followed.
Add to that sitting up at the cottage basking in the sun, enjoying the views....though even paradise had a day of fog and rain. That,s when you hop in the car to go exploring.
Beautiful and interesting surroundings, learning about the Etruscans. You are way from the tourist hoards and have to sit, and take in atmosphere.
If it wasn't booked out on our return south, we would stay again.
Highly recommended, ask Andrea to prepare a meal for you if he is not to busy.....it is not included in the rental but a feast for all your senses, but then what would you expect from an fisherman.

No need to prepare breakfast, just walk up the path into Vetulonia for a coffee and croissant

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gratious hospitality... we arrived as tourists and left as friends.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2013
Hi Bouwke and Han,
thanks so much for your review, but first of all thanks so much for your company. It has been so nice beeing with you , people that give importance to what is really important: friendship simple things and why not, good food and wine .
Really hope to see you again; as Bas said: you arrived as tourist and gone as friend. Ciao and take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polkadoth...
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed 5 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We were coming from busy Rome and to come here was a slice of heaven. The picture with the view is great but still doesn't do it justice. It's even more beautiful and breath taking. I also loved how it is part of an actual neighbourhood and not so touristy. It's a very private spot, and you are surrounded by nature with a great little cottage. Clelia is great, warm and friendly, makes you feel right at home. I felt so lucky to have chosen this space and it will be something I'll always remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fresh air beauty and privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_765
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique location”
Reviewed 5 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a 5 day stay here in September. The location is fantastic, the cottage itself is very secluded and the village of Vetulonia is not 'touristy' at all.
Amazing views from the windows and the terrace back over the rolling hills to the coast. The sunsets there ar spectacular.

The room and bathroom are very nicely converted from an old farm building, simple but finished to a high standard. The outdoor cooking area is basic, but more than enough to cater for yourself and was ready stocked with useful items.
The location is very good, approx 20 min drive to the coast and pretty town of Castiglione, lots of places around within easy reach for day trips.

The owners Clelia and Andrea were very welcoming and really did everything they could to make sure we enjoyed our stay. They have a lot of knowledge and enthusiasm for the local area (Cala Violina beach and the town of Massa Marittima were great tips).
We also enjoyed Andrea's hand caught fish (mainly raw) and home made pasta dinner one evening (finished with some home made Limoncello too) which was also very good and highly recommended!

5 days was not enough to make the most of the area, hopefully we'll be back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Access, could be tricky for less mobile people
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing