We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, great views and pet friendly!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Spacious Garden
Stunning view of Black Combe near to Bank Springs
Garden Area.
Layriggs Beach, Kirksanton
Looking across The Duddon Estuary onto Black Combe
Ulpha  Bridge
Herdwick Sheep on the Local Duddon Valley Fells
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirksanton, Millom, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Yorkshire...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great views and pet friendly!”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Such a lovely place. When we arrived the cottage was spotless. Very spacious and absolutely stunning views. Plenty to visit around the area. Close beaches are spectacular. Owners were so nice and helpful. The cottage was well equipped and to be fair the photos do not do it justice. Much better in person.
Fabulous place, fabulous location, fabulous owners.
We will be back!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJS5000
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in the Lake District”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation has a lovely master bedroom which looks out onto Black Combe mountain. We never got board with the view when we woke up each day.
There are two further bedrooms down the hallway which house two single beds in one room and a double bed and two singles in another room. The two larger bedrooms have ensuite showers - both were excellent and provided instant powerful hot showers. There is also a bath / shower off the kitchen downstairs. We have three kids so there was no shortage of water.
The kitchen is large with a good sized table for meals. There is also a washing machine and cleaning bits and pieces in the kitchen cupboard so we could clean up each day after a day out in the ever changing weather!
There are two lounges - yes two - both with TV and freeview. Useful for offloading the kids for the evening for a bit of an unwind for the adults!
Although we stayed in the summer there was enough wood and utensils for a good fire if you choose to stay in the winter months.
Outside the kitchen is a large yard (with patio furniture) from the days of this being a working brewery) and while we did not use it, it does lead to an outdoor room which houses a table tennis table.
There is plenty of parking to the front and garden furniture and a BBQ area.
The cottage does not have any wi-fi. Now before you consider that this is a great place to leave social media and emails behind, the weather here does change quite quickly so we were constantly rescheduling our days out in accordance with the weather. Basic wi-fi would have helped with distances, planning, places to eat, prices etc as the mobile phone signal quite understandably was hit and miss.
The cottage as a whole is very spacious and while we don't have dogs is clearly dog friendly. Having said that, if you are not into dogs, the cottage was immaculate on our arrival so is clearly suitable to dog owners and non-owners alike.
The cottage is between the towns of Haverigg and Millom and while it offers a good location for exploring the Lake District as a whole, we did not encounter any other tourists so found it really nice to be away from the commercialism of other areas.
There is a Tesco in Millom. So we had no problem stocking up. There are also good pubs and takeaways in both towns.
There is almost no traffic in the area so we had no problem journeying anywhere and quite frankly found the driving an absolute pleasure, although negotiating sharp bends in the county lanes took some getting use to!
Lorraine is very helpful with suggestions for places to visit if you have not been before and popped around to check we were ok. She clearly cares about the place and is always on hand to help although there were enough leaflets in the hall for us to find our own way around.
In summary, this is a simply delightful place to stay in the Lake District for families of all sizes and one we as a family would thoroughly recommend to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bimmer380
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great location, stunning views and a large homely well equipped cottage. Two lovely beaches within a 5 minute drive, great for walking our dog. We all loved Rosie the donkey who came trotting over for carrots and apples when you called her name. Would definately book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verity8
Thorne Doncaster
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage with a view”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very large.Two sitting rooms which one was claimed by the 2 teenagers.They could do their own thing in the evening.The bedrooms were really large.Two wer with en-suite showers and the other had a sink and a bathroom downstairs.All very handy.The usual washer and a washing line in the courtyard at the back.All the washing up facilities were already there.Towels not provided.Hairdryer I did not find.We spent a few evenings outside which had a lawned garden table and 6 chairs..We had a really good time and did not want to leave this lovely place .The mountains in the background and the peace and quiet were great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked it all
Liked least: No drier as I don`t like hanging out clothes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillsHarr...
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My Wife and I have just returned from our first visit to Bank Springs, it was absolutely fantastic. We enjoyed it so much we have already booked for next year! Lorraine, the owner, was a pleasure to deal with from the moment we made the booking,until we departed.It was lovely to find fresh flowers, biscuits and wine upon our arrival, and during our stay Lorraine brought us some fresh eggs which were fabulous. The cottage was extremely spacious, having 2 lounges, both with TV, and a large kitchen/diner. The weather was mostly sunny, and it was lovely to sit in the front garden, with the sheep and Rosie the donkey in the adjoining fields, watching the world go by. Normally we stay in the Keswick area, but for a change we came to Bank Springs. It was the best thing we have done. There are numerous beaches available in the area such as Haverigg, Silecroft, Ravenglass, St Bees.There is also a walk from the cottage of 1.5 miles which leads to the nearest beach. This beach which extends from Haverigg to Silecroft and beyond is several miles long, and on the sunday afternoon we walked to the beach with Blue, our Bedlington. It was a nice sunny afternoon and including another couple with a dog about a mile away, we were the only people on the beach. This was not an isolated incident in that we found this area to be much less crowded than the main lakes area. As well as the beaches there are some very nice towns/villages such as Millom, Broughton, Ulverston. Along the coast road from Ulverston to Barrow, near Bardsea is a lovely beach with ample free parking and a cafe. We enjoyed this beach so much we went on several occasions. We also noticed that car parking in this area is much less restricted, parking in Millom is disc based, whereas parking at Silecroft beach is by donation, and parking in Broughton, which has a fantastic Butchers, is free. We had to pay to park at Ulverston, which has an outdoor market on a Thursday, and has a fabulous cheese stall in the indoor market. We can't wait for next year and our return to Bank Springs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing