We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic base to explore some of The Lakes most...”
other travellers have booked this property
The stunning gardens at The Chalets.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning gardens at The Chalets.
spacious open plan living area. Pristine bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
The stunning gardens at The Chalets.
spacious open plan living area.
Pristine bathroom
Modern clean and well equipped Kitchen.
Complimentary toiletries.
Boot room with bike wash and storage.
Drying rack for those occasional rainy days.
Herdwick sheep on the move in Eskdale valley.
A short drive to Seascale beach at sunset.
A red squirrel feeds on a Chalet deck.
The beatiful river Esk runs along the bottom of the garden.
Whitehaven maritime festival
Looking along the Esk from the garden on a snowy morning.
Muncaster Castle a great day out.
Eskdale show.
The view down Wasdale.
The Chalets are awarded 4 Stars by English tourism.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
Boot, Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mr Daniel...
1 review
“Fantastic base to explore some of The Lakes most incredible sights.”
Reviewed 21 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The Chalets themselves were delightful. Clean, cosy and a fantastic space to come back to after a day of adventuring (especially in the middle of winter!) The large and beautiful garden that the Chalets terrace overlooks is wonderful. Our stay was filled with mist, rain and cold, so although we couldn't sit out on the terrace or in the garden it is very easy to imagine what a summers morning could offer with such a view.

The Chalets are situated in the small village of Boot in the Eskdale valley, with the nearest main towns being Gosforth and Seascale past that. If you're interested in walking, climbing and exploring The Lakes then it really doesn't get much better than this. Utterly stunning mountains, lakes and waterfalls are all easily accessible from The Chalets. Just across the valley (10-15 minute walk) you can find a trail to Stanley Ghyll Force, the most impressive waterfall in the region. A 15 minute drive will find you at Wastwater lake looking across to Wasdale Head and Scafell Pike. This is truly a sight to behold.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamGB555
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful family break away”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome by the kind lady running The Chalets. The accommodation was wonderful, particularly as we've been used to camping in the area in recent years, but now with a 7-month old baby we needed a warmer, more homely place to rest – the Maple chalet was spot on. Even with 4 adults and a baby, the chalet was very comfortable. The gardens were extremely well kept and looked after and allowed relaxing on the grass, down by a running stream at the end, or eating by the BBQ spot dedicated to each chalet. The location itself is within a short walk to four very nice pubs and has many longer walks starting on the doorstep. Although we didn't have enough time during this visit, The Chalets are again a short walk away from the Dalegarth train station. We will do our very very best to visit again and would like to thank the family for their hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol F
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Wonderful walking holiday”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were not entirely blessed by the weather during our stay but it didn't matter. The accommodation is superb. Very clean and very well equipped. Each chalet has its own bbq area and bird feeding table. The gardens in front, leading down to the river are attractive with a variety of bird life (and the occasional sheep). We were able to travel from London by train, completing the journey on the narrow gauge steam train, 'Laal Ratty' so a car is usefu but not essential. We had ordered a Tesco delivery in advance and there are pubs within easy walking distance which serve meals. More than enough walking from the doorstep to suit any ability. Would recommend Blea Tarn and Stanley Falls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The awesome scenery
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful - cant wait to return”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in February 2014

I have holidayed in Eskdale from childhood staying on campsites, in pubs, guest houses and in self catering accommodation. We have visited the Chalets twice now and are returning in July for our summer holiday. Both stays have been in the winter months. The first time we stayed for a full week luckily the weather was great clear skies and frosty underfoot. We spent the daylight hours out walking then after dark snuggled down in our wonderful accommodation. The Chalets are spotlessly clear, extremely cosy and wonderfully equipped. We had taken a selection of DVDs with us and a number of books. We could not complain about a single thing Phil and Lisa are great, the chalets are warm and inviting, Eskdale itself is a little gem with great walks, views and pubs. The chalets are very warm and comfortable.
Our second visit was just for a weekend - the only negative thing I could think to say was we wished we'd stayed the full week as 3 nights is not long enough!!
We will keep returning to this wonderful place year after year. Now that we've found the Chalets we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was wonderful
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carole034
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“not really a place to stay in winter”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

the chalets are well equipped and the extra touches of a cake on the table on arrival are good. The area is very nice and quiet in January but the chalet has wood flooring in the living space and stone flooring in the kitchen and bathroom making it very cold and hard to keep warm, only the bedrooms have carpet. The quilt was rather thin for winter use and the bed seemed to be rather short as both of us managed to have our feet hanging over the end of the bed when lying flat which never usually happens. The boiler was also in a cupboard in the bedroom and when it came on in the morning managed to wake us up so it probably would be better placed somewhere else.
There is plenty of walking available from the door step and no need to use the car at all. Good pub just a few minutes walk down the road.
Probably a good base for summer but then would probably not be so quiet and peaceful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: walking from the doorstep
Liked least: cold floors and boiler in bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
We are very sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your accommodation. We have many visitors in Larch Chalet all year round and have never had any complaints of lack of heat before. Guests have full control of the heating and all radiators are thermostatic. The building itself is heavily insulated to exceed current building regulations. I can only imagine that perhaps you did not understand the heating controls, which could have been easily rectified had you discussed it with us. Had you mentioned the noise from the boiler I could have rectified that also, the next guest did mention it and I fixed the problem very easily for them. The bed is a standard double and as such I am not sure what we could have done about that. We have lots of extra bedding available should our guests need it you only have to ask. We have hard floors in the living areas for durability and cleanliness and again we have never had a complaint of cold floors before, I accept that tiled floors can be cold under foot but carpet would not be suitable in the kitchen or bathroom in my opinion.
The Chalets guests are very lucky that the owners are on site and able to deal with most problems very quickly and I feel that we could have dealt with your issues had you expressed them to us. It is unfortunate that our 1st review on Trip Advisor for Larch Chalet is titled "not really a place to stay in winter" as we feel it does not give an accurate view of the majority of guests. We have 3 other Chalets all adjoined and using the same style of heating, flooring and furnishings and there reviews do not match up with this one.

Philip Hayden and Lisa Borrowdale (owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$106
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing